We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing to much trouble”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had an early morning flight, I emailed Sol Timor, asking if we could book in early. Sure enough on arrival both our rooms were ready. The location of this hotel is brilliant. Go out the back and you are on the prom, where no traffic allowed. Go out the front and within a minutes walk there are 10 bars and 10 restaurants, and top of the road a Lidl. Which if you are self catering is brilliant. Okay the rooms are only 3 star, but so are the prices. The entertainment was more like 4/5 star. The pool area with the surrounding grounds all grass, was great for the kids, who could run and play very safely. Had a couple of noisy boy parties, but quickly dealt with by security. Overall brilliant week

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    587
    329
    119
    110
See reviews for
615
522
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Booked in for one night as reviews seemed reasonable. On the plus the hotel has an excellent location, good staff and the entertainment staff were brilliant. The rooms were clean but overall the hotel needs a really good makeover. Whilst it was clean it clearly hasnt had any money spent on it since the 70`s. All in all a good, basic, clean hotel but needs updating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquio-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent 6 days at the Timor Sol at the end of March, our first holiday away without the children in 20yrs! The first room we were shown was in Block 1 on the 5th floor, as there are 2 blocks, this was a studio which was really dated and we were given the option of upgrading to a 1 bed, next door. This was basically the same room but had a separate bedroom. I went back to reception to ask if they had another room in the other block nearer the pool, block 2 I think it is. I was given 2 keys to a studio and 1 bed on the 1st floor and these were much nicer. More modern decorated and a lot brighter than the other rooms, so we took the studio, had we had been staying longer than 6 days I would have gone for the 1 bed for a bit more space. It was a lovely room, overlooking the pool and the beach. The food in the hotel was really good, great choice at breakfast time, different cereals and you could even have full fat or semi skimmed milk, as there was a healthy section with low sugar jams, muesli and there were these biscuits which were like the breakfast biscuits we get here and fresh fruit too. Good hot choices too, with the usual sausage, bacon, fried eggs - which were made fresh every few minutes, scrambled, boiled, you can make your own toast with white and wholemeal bread or cut your own fresh rolls or ciabatta. At evening meal time there was lots of choice too. a lovely soup each night, lots of salad, pasta with sauces. My husband doesn't eat meat but there were always a choice of 2 or 3 fish each night and always lots of different meats. Last of all, if you can manage it, dessert, there was usually a gateau, with other little cakes and fresh fruit, ice cream tubs and even jelly.

The staff were lovely and very helpful, my only problem was there was no corkscrew in the studio but I took a few bottles of wine down to the bar and they opened them with no problem at all, all in all we had a great time :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank dianneb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you want a central location, beachfront and no frills, this is the place for you.
Its not 5 star so don't expact it and you wont be disappointed.
Great for bars and restaurants all around. Just take a small electric kettle with you or you will wait for hours to boil water on the hot plate!

The sun beds are much more comfortable on the beach as well.

Get the train from Malaga Airport e1.75 each. get off at torremolinos and get a taxi to the hotel for e6/7
14 nights and we really enjoyed it

Room Tip: just ask for block 2 with a marina/pool view. go for a 1 bedroom its worth it High floors are goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Recitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had a great time and thought the food and the service first class. Nice to see the manager every day asking all guests if everything ok. Whilst rooms are a little dated they are comfortable and great value, especially if you book through the company website and join (for free) their rewards club.We are going back in 5 weeks with the family and are looking forward to another great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Mikel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My daughter treated me to a 10day holiday in Torremolinos in June of last year and it was one of the best holidays I have ever had....We had a studio apartment overlooking the beach, the nearby Marina and it was truly an unforgettable holiday

Room Tip: These apartments are ideally located right on the promenade and very near shopping centres, beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theowlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

When it comes to hotels we are not fussy. Its just somewere to sleep and shower. So we don't go for alk the fancy stuff just somewer comfortable. And in that case we din't pay a large amount. Some people seem to wamt to pay nothing and expect everything! The room we had altho a twin rather than double was comfortable enough to sleep n shower n have breakfast, it certainly isn't anything fancy.
Started out well when we arrived early and room was ready, checked in promptly room had hanging space and drawers, big enough bathroom, balcony.
First issue cams at night time tho, it was windy, and the hotel doesnt have windows but metal bars, well the noise was howling thru the rooms so loud! Me n my partner laughed it off but I could imagine it being very annoyim for other guest. Infact the room next to us had put a towel infromt of door maybe to reduce the draft?
Then breakfast time and we realised we don't have a kettle. Not to worry we just boiled water in the pan.
We went out the back gate to the beach the location is great however we kept having to walk round to front of hotel to get back in as we didn't know the code to get back in haha.
Alberto on the reception desk was very helpful, answered all our questions and gave us lots of advice.
The entertainment at night was ok actually and often the management are walking round the hotel and always say hi.
If your just wanting somewere to comfy to sleep this place is ideal its in a goodlocation with friendly staff. If you want luxury u need to lookmelsewere, and pay the difference!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xleaxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,212 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,646 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Barracuda Hotel
La Barracuda Hotel
#39 of 71 in Torremolinos
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Timor Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Timor Apartamentos

Property: Sol Timor Apartamentos
Address: Salvador Allende 51, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Timor Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Timor, located right next to the promenade, with direct access to the fabulous Carihuela Beach, close to the leisure area of Puerto Marina and numerous “Chiringuitos” (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in “pescaíto frito” (fried fish). The bright, spacious and welcoming apartments are fully equipped with kitchen (two electric hobs, fridge, microwave and toaster) and furnished terrace (table / chairs); outdoor pool overlooking the sea and surrounded by gardens; different dining spaces (Restaurant, Beach Bar, Pool Bar and Lounge Bar); free WiFi internet connection in all the hotel; Internet Corner (*); supermarket, two tennis courts (*). The wide and varied activities programme with workshops and leisure activities for adults and children (Parties, musicals, evening shows and live music). 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and approximately 1:30 hrs. and 2 hrs. from Granada, Cordoba and Seville. (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Melia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Timor Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Timor Sol Apartments
Timor Sol Torremolinos
Sol Timor Hotel
Sol Timor Torremolinos
Sol Timor Apartamentos Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing