We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Went in February weather was better than we expected but quiet not everywhere around was open nice hotel cleaners and towels regular enjoyed our stay would go back to sol timor again ate out at o'malleys across the road breakfast lovely

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loracyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,699 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Sol timor for 9 nights from the 13th of April and we really loved this place. We were a family of 4 and we booked a 2 bed apartment self catering. You could book 1 bed but we didn't want to have to sleep on a pull out. It was well worth it, so reasonable and the apartment was very spacious with 2 balconies. The view was absolutely amazing overlooking the promenade and the sea. Benalmadena harbour on the right and carruelha on the left. The apartment was fairly basic but not as basic as other reviewers are saying and it was absolutely spotless! The balcony was huge and we loved sitting out looking at the harbour at night. Staff are friendly, evening entertainment was great for the kids on the couple of evenings we visited and out little man who is 5 loved the kids club. My mother was also with us in her own studio which was refurbished and overlooked both the pool and marina and it was fab also so studio with sea view is ideal if u are not travelling with kids. Pool area is great, we weren't asked at any stage for sun bed chafer but that may have been because we stayed off peak. Mcguinness bar across the road is nice and plays live music most nights. Hotel transfer to and from airport was also great and very efficient. All in all we had a ball here and will definitely be booking again :) thanks sol timor for such a great holiday

Stayed: April 2014
5  Thank Ali_Olivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for one night based upon this hotels location and price (€60 per night). The hotel is one of the many on this stretch of the coast that saw its heyday in the 70s and 80s but is now very worn and in a dire need of a refurbishment or knocking down and rebuilding.

It consists of lots of apartments in a concrete monstrosity. We had an apartment on the side but could see the sea from a very small balcony. There are however some more upgraded rooms on the front and also the rear block that have bigger balconies so may be worth looking into these.

Parking is available at €10/day and you have to pay the same for a deposit for an electronic key for the barrier.

Check in was very quick and we were able get into our room at 12 pm when official check in was 4pm. Our room was on the 7 th floor and you approach via an outside corridor. The apartment was very spacious with a long lounge/diner with a good fridge and some basic cooking facilities. There was not a kettle but a saucepan that can be used for hot drinks and plenty of plates and cutlery etc (no corkscrew).

We had booked an apartment for 5 people and so there is a.double room and a twin room and the 5th bed is a mattress that slides out of the sofa bed on the floor. This is fine but you have to make the bed up yourself and whilst it's ok on the floor during the day it's not so good at night when the cockroaches made an appearance. We weren't too impressed having to chase out a very large one as it approached our 4year old who was fast asleep!

There is a large grassed area by a good sized pool outside which is gated for the hotel use only. We went not he beach but you can pay for loungers in this area. There are plenty of things for the children to do including pool and table tennis and a climbing wall.

The real attraction of this hotel is the fantastic location. It is only 5 mins walk to the marina and all it's bars and restaurants and the beach just in front of the hotel is clean with lots of chiringuitos nearby. There is also a nice little supermarket nearby for basics and an Irish bar just outside the hotel.

Overall this is a great hotel for location and out of season prices but on balance I think out can get much better hotels in the near vicinity. I guess we were also put off a little by the worn down nature of the hotel and the roaches (stayed in lots of similar hotels in the past and haven't seen roaches for years).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon_Hobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed 7 - 18 April. Great location -beach fronted, near Benalmadena harbour, mins walk bus/train stops. Plenty to do and see.
Hotel spotlessly clean and very peaceful. Staff professional & friendly.
Stayed in top floor studio (Rm 51110) overlooking pool, sea & harbour - peaceful & private with all day sunny balcony. Facilities basic but functional.
Negatives: uncomfortable mattress -springs gone need replacement

Eat dinner in restaurant twice - reasonable choice and tasty food.

Night entertainment - as usual in spanish hotels - flamenco show and 3 tenors of very good standard.

Recommend this hotel & this area - good value, lots to see & do: Marina, Beaches, good eateries/shops in Carihuela and San Miguel area, easy & cheap bus rides to Mija, Benelamdena Pueblo, Malaga, Ronda. Do visit the Battery Park and Paloma Park and Bil-Bil Castle (all free). In Malaga all sightseeing is free on a Sunday. Most bus rides cost E1.65 single. Efficient and comfortable.
Finally - our trip overlapped Holy Week - WOW and APPLAUSE - the processions in Malaga and 'El Paso' play in natural hill setting in Benelmadena Pueblo. I am non-religious but I love and admire the passion and cultural pride of the Spanish people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
4  Thank Sudesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

we stayed here 10/04/14 and had a brilliant time. yes,as previous people have mentioned,the rooms are a bit dated but were clean which is the main thing. the staff are friendly, pool area lovely -nice grassed area for the sunbeds which there was no charge for which they used to charge so dont know if this was because it was early in the season! happy hour 5.30 - 6.30 (usual price for a cocktail 5 euro + beer 3 euro in happy hour buy one get one free). before we went there were not many reviews about the food so this is my main reason for leaving this review! it was excellent - first night salmon,lamb chops,turkey breast,pork steaks,paella. i couldnt think what they could cook different the next night ! chicken breast, beef steaks, beef gouhlash,plaice and each night there was pizza,pasta,salad bar, soup,ham,cheese (even blue cheese and brie so had a mini cheese boards for dessert with the lovely crusty bread )
the usual desserts available - ice cream,cake,caramel thing! ,jelly, fresh fruit. breakfast was just as nice hot dog but also proper sausage (one day chorizo ,another day pork),scramble egg,fried egg,potatoe fritters,beans and yes the usual bacon-streaky!! cereal,crusty bread,ham,cheese,cakes,croisants etc .we could not fault this hotel & will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debbrown4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very good value for the money very clean, friendly staff we had a problem with our shower head reported it to reception within 20 mins was changed over, apartment itself very basic and dated but only paid £250 for the holiday so what else do you expect, was really central the hotel is right on the beach front the shops were also good would recommend the Crown and rose for food but I would definitely go back x

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgrbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just back from a boys holiday at the timor sol.If your looking for value for money this is the hotel for you ,it has so many positives like the hotel is in an excellent location ,being right on the promenade,friendly staff,clean, and good food. As stated in other reviews the hotel is dated but all the postives outweigh that for me .I would have no problem going back to this hotel for a family holiday .Just like to say to management and staff ,Well Done!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanmeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
2.4 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,527 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,419 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,431 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#36 of 71 in Torremolinos
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Timor Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Timor Apartamentos

Address: Salvador Allende 51, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £32 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Timor Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Timor, located right next to the promenade, with direct access to the fabulous Carihuela Beach, close to the leisure area of Puerto Marina and numerous “Chiringuitos” (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in “pescaíto frito” (fried fish). The bright, spacious and welcoming apartments are fully equipped with kitchen (two electric hobs, fridge, microwave and toaster) and furnished terrace (table / chairs); outdoor pool overlooking the sea and surrounded by gardens; different dining spaces (Restaurant, Beach Bar, Pool Bar and Lounge Bar); free WiFi internet connection in all the hotel; Internet Corner (*); supermarket, two tennis courts (*). The wide and varied activities programme with workshops and leisure activities for adults and children (Parties, musicals, evening shows and live music). 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and approximately 1:30 hrs. and 2 hrs. from Granada, Cordoba and Seville. (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Melia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Timor Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Timor Sol Apartments
Timor Sol Torremolinos
Sol Timor Hotel
Sol Timor Torremolinos
Sol Timor Apartamentos Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing