We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location fantastic...rooms not so!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 19 June 2014

the service, staff and outside area is fantastic, pool is great though this i think is the only hotel that you have to pay for the sunbeds!!...we had a studio very very basic and badly needs updating!! though it was clean, but the bathroom was very smelly ...after having a shower the smell is worse,you could just about fit 2 people on the very small balcony,so many places to go and visit and easy to get to by walking or a short bus ride, oh and we stayed half board but wish we had just got self catering the food is ok....but the restaraunt itself had no air conditioning on and it was so hot and stuffy in there most people ate outside this hotel gets a 5* for location and we will definately be going back to this area but in a different hotel, hope this helps !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glenys32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Sol Tmor sits in a fantastic location. The pool area backs right on the promenade where the is a security gate, with the beach the other side. In one direction the port is a 5 minute walk and the other is a nice stroll along the promeande with restaurants and shops on either side. We walked to Torremolinos in about 20 minutes which is a lovely walk. There is a Lidl 2 minutes away where you cna get your essentials.
The hotel itself was mostly suited to families, the pool area was often taken up by the kids club so it was difficult to use the pool. The hotel was a little dated and could use a refurbishment but had all the aminities we needed, the only complaint if I had to have one was that the bed was very hard and seemed like it had been there a long time. Ensure asking for a sea facing room as some on the secinid block seemed to be overlooking a back street. We were on the 12th floor and had a fantastic view from our balcony. I would recommend this hotel mostly on location although there are a number of other hotels along the seafront in similarly good locations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for few nights with friends, rooms very basic, small, smelly, very small balcony, no hairdryer or toiletries, had to pay 2 euro for the sunbeds each day. Staff friendly and happy hour good, a lot of Irish as there are a few Irish bars close by. Great location, close to bus for airport.

Room Tip: Higher up have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemariec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was the second year that we have chosen to stay at sol timor. My partner and I think the hotel is great because the service and facilities are fantastic. It suits all ages, young couples, families and the entertainment reflects this. The location is ideal and it's close to great restaurants and the beach. It gives you the opportunity to explore both benalmedena and torremolinos. The rooms do need updating, but for the price we paid they were sufficient. Paying for sunbeds didn't bother us, especially as there is so much going on at the pool area, and happy hour is great

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amy_P1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Family of 2+2 travelled in late April for 1 week, weather was mostly good but cold in the evenings which is great for sleeping in but you should take a light jacket or cardigan if you're out in the evening.

Pro's
- Really fantastic location right on the beachfront on one side, 5 minute walk to the marina, lots of restaurants & pubs out the main entrance, taxi rank right outside. A great area.
- Wide range of onsite facilities : 24-hour reception, supermarket, amusement centre (pool tables, games), souvenir shop, hairdresser/beauty salon, laundrette, computer area, lots of lounge space, playground, tennis/football/basketball court, green space for kids to stretch their legs.
- Clean good sized rooms with a few different language channels
- Lots of wardrobe space
- Well appointed bathroom with hairdryer, full bath and shower, lots of clean towels.
- Very well kept outside areas and the most generously spaced of all the hotels in the area.
- Beach lounge area for the hotel is wonderful and really well kept, it was e7 each for a bed as far as I can remember.
- Check in and out was easy and quick

Con's
- Large groups booking together taking over the pools and drinking too much. One group drinking for a full day at the pool bar, they became very loud and troublesome disturbing everyone else, jumping into the pool fully clothed etc which meant everyone else had to move away. The hotel continued to serve them alcohol and the lifeguard was left to deal with it by himself.
- Staff could be quite standoffish but possibly it's due to dealing with these situations regularly?
- Wifi wasn't free in the hotel but was free for hotel guests if they paid for a sun longer on the beach.
- The sofa beds in the sitting room were very uncomfortable, we borrowed a spare bed from the housekeeping station as it has a proper mattress.
- No electric kettle in the rooms, not a big deal but unusual?
- Bathroom soap and shower gel weren't refilled during the stay.

Most guests were lovely and the place could be really great, but because of the first con I'm not sure that I would return.

Room Tip: We had a pool side room facing the sea, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NODL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great place for familes with kids. Excellent childrens facilities, entertainment and pool area. The entertainment and children's activity staff are wonderful.
The rooms and corridors to the apartments are outdated, they need refurbishment and updating. some of the furnishings need replacing/modernizing. tho they are clean and well serviced.
The main toilets downstairs were particularly modern, clean and well serviced daily.
The food was good there, we went half board, and the staff are very helpful and friendly.
Be prepared to pay €2 per day per sunlounger, this was something we hadn't budgeted for as we feel this should be included in the hotel rate. the pool and garden area is lovely and has a private secure access out on to the promendade and beach which is very handy as the hotel is facing the beach, i recommend paying a bit extra for a sea view apt.
Overall we enjoyed our holiday and if you aren't fussy about interior design then this is the place for your family holiday in Torremolinos.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank TracyH027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was my second stay at the sol Timor, this time was not so good,as there was a lot of stag and hen parties who were dominating the pool area with a lot of drinking and profanity other than that I had an enjoyable time,up until I got food poisoning which I did not get from the hotel but from a restaurant along the promenade the rooms were kept clean and tidy the down side is you have to hire a kettle for 15 euros for two weeks plus 10 euros deposit there is also a charge for using the sunbeds by the pool of 2ueros per day

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank 725alanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
2.4 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,562 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,115 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Timor Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Timor Apartamentos

Address: Salvador Allende 51, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £31 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Timor Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Timor, located right next to the promenade, with direct access to the fabulous Carihuela Beach, close to the leisure area of Puerto Marina and numerous “Chiringuitos” (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in “pescaíto frito” (fried fish). The bright, spacious and welcoming apartments are fully equipped with kitchen (two electric hobs, fridge, microwave and toaster) and furnished terrace (table / chairs); outdoor pool overlooking the sea and surrounded by gardens; different dining spaces (Restaurant, Beach Bar, Pool Bar and Lounge Bar); free WiFi internet connection in all the hotel; Internet Corner (*); supermarket, two tennis courts (*). The wide and varied activities programme with workshops and leisure activities for adults and children (Parties, musicals, evening shows and live music). 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and approximately 1:30 hrs. and 2 hrs. from Granada, Cordoba and Seville. (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Timor Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Timor Sol Apartments
Timor Sol Torremolinos
Sol Timor Hotel
Sol Timor Torremolinos
Sol Timor Apartamentos Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing