We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just back from a 7 night stay both my wife and I. Honestly I was very aprehensive after reading some of the previouis reviews. The location of the complex is unqustionable, literally on the beach you can hear the waves break from your room, could not ask for a better location. Check in was quick and efficient and prior to departing I emailed and requested a front sea view. I was allocated studio room and on the way to the room I felt I was in a time machine. The complex is old, dated and in need of refurbishment but spotlessy clean. On entering the room it was nothing like the photograph as shown above. The room was brigh lovely furnshings and spotlessly clean and a view to die for, pleasently surprised. Granted when checking out we were provided with a room to shower in and this was the complete opposite to our room. If I had been allocated such a room maybe my review would be different. There seems to be different standard rooms. The complex had a mixture of couples, families and singles and is no way was our sleep disturbed any night. The entertainment around the pool looked first class for kids. Honestly we spent very little time in the complex. Full of Spanish. For what I paid I was very satisfied, all I wanted was a clean room in a central locations with no further expectations and this I received in abundance. Forget cooking in the studio just big enough for two people. For sure there are nicer looking establishments but compare the prices. You get what you pay for and in fairness all of the above reviews give a good reflection of what to expect. Staff were extremely friendly. Yes I would return for the same room.

Room Tip: Block 2 studio rooms ending in 8 or 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shannonside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have just come back from a week holiday at Sol Timor (01/08 to 08/08) with my husband.

The hotel is a 1970s concrete building; the appartments are basic and dated, especially the bathroom, but clean. The location is great - on the beach, near the Marina - and the views from the balcony are amazing. The pool was clean and there were activities every day several times a day which are great especially for kids (water polo, volleyball, inflatable water slides, aqua gym etc) and there is also a pro active lifeguard.
We also had free transfer from the airport which is a bonus.

Cons: having to pay for the sunbeds at the pool: €2 per bed, if you go there for a week as a family of 4 that's an extra €56 you need to budget in.
Having to pay for the safe: €20 for the safe for a week in a 3* hotel is unheard of.
The lifts: if you go there in the summer, expect to spend time waiting for them ! 3 tiny lifts for a building that size clearly isn't enough.
The noise: because of its proximity to the promenade, expect to hear the drunken tourists shouting and singing loudly at night!

In summary: for the price I thought it was good value for money. It's not the Ritz, there are nicer hotels nearby but they are double the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just back from our holidays at the timor sol. Ok hotel in a great area beach just a minutes walk away alot to do around the hotel too. Rooms were just ok got a seaview room with a great view. Staff very friendly and great help alot of work done here to prepare the staff the evening shows were also very good. 2EURO a sunbed a day now thats a joke.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen290881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our 5th time to Sol Timor apartments. It is on the beach, the rooms are clean, the facilities are what we want, which is why we have returned so many times. The staff are always charming and helpful and we would seriously recommend anyone who wants to stay on a self catering holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Apartments are basic but very clean. They could do with a bit of TLC and updating. Staff are all very friendly. Pool area very clean and lovely atmosphere around it. The views from the balcony are the best seller of these apartments. Only complaint would be that on 2 separate occasions both myself and my husband got locked into the bathroom. When my husband went to reception to ask for someone to come up and look at it he was given a paper clip and told it happens all the time. Well if they know it happens all the time they should fix them. Thankfully it wasn't one of our children that it happened to.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just back from Timor Sol .Was last here 10 years ago.The main attraction here is the location Close to the marina ,the beach any many nice restaurants.The restaurants on the marina are dearer but not necessarily better.The apartments are ok .A bit dated but nothing to complain about.( Just to say you do not pay for air conditioning and for the women there is a hair dryer in the rooms) some websites state you have to pay for these.The beach is just outside the back of the apartments.This part of the beach is very rocky and in some parts it like a reef ! and you can hurt yourself quite easily..Try the beach beside where burger king is About 50 yards up a lot better but busier.The Timor Sol is a nice place (Pool and facilities for the children are top notch) they put a lot of work into the night entertainment.Any who is interested in tv forget it no english channels except world news and CNN. Wi-Fi only in lobby area and must be paid for.Overall well worth 4 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our third time at the Sol Timor and each time has fulfilled our expectations.
The surrounding area is ideal for strolling and the nearby shopping and restaurants are a delight. In short, Everything you require for a good holiday starts with the Sol Timor!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Malcolm Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
2.4 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,442 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia

Address: Salvador Allende 51, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £33 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia 3*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Timor, located right next to the promenade, with direct access to the fabulous Carihuela Beach, close to the leisure area of Puerto Marina and numerous “Chiringuitos” (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in “pescaíto frito” (fried fish). The bright, spacious and welcoming apartments are fully equipped with kitchen (two electric hobs, fridge, microwave and toaster) and furnished terrace (table / chairs); outdoor pool overlooking the sea and surrounded by gardens; different dining spaces (Restaurant, Beach Bar, Pool Bar and Lounge Bar); free WiFi internet connection in all the hotel; Internet Corner (*); supermarket, two tennis courts (*). The wide and varied activities programme with workshops and leisure activities for adults and children (Parties, musicals, evening shows and live music). 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and approximately 1:30 hrs. and 2 hrs. from Granada, Cordoba and Seville. (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Timor Sol Apartments
Timor Sol Torremolinos
Sol Timor Hotel
Sol Timor Torremolinos
Sol Timor Apartamentos By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing