We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 24 August 2011

we dont pay for luxury and dont expect it tiburon clean basic no frills we have stayed here at least 6 times we find it freindly...we were there in july going back sept .... it suits us and many others if you read reveiws if you want luxury pay the price or stay in your own home location of tib brill mins from town and beach resturants ect.... when we get back from beach we allways enjoy a drink in tib bar the prices are very good for drinks snacks food cant understand bad reveiws about not clean old tatty in places but def clean

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

Anyone who has rated this hotel "excellent", "above average", or even "average" must live in squalor or paid no more than £10 a night for this GROTTY hotel!

I'm 20 and am quite used to staying in sub-standard hotels where the location of the nearest bar is more important than the accommodation - but this hotel was something else! I booked this hotel as a joint present for Mum and Dad (aged 40 & 42) and both my sister and I went too (aged 17 & 20). I paid over £500 per person for this holiday for 6 nights, self-catering, two rooms both with balcony, which after reading the "good" reviews and considering I was booking for mid-August, I thought the price was reasonable.

On arrival at the hotel we were met by a member of the miserable team of staff, little conversation was made throughout check-in, we were given our room key cards and left to get on with it and find our rooms on the third floor. We discovered our rooms were at opposite ends and corners of the floor, which was a little disappointing and slightly inconvenient but not the end of the world. We had paid for both rooms with balcony but only got one room with balcony.... the other room had one window, with an opening no wider than 30cm. We complained to the hotel reception but (to my surprise!) were unable to help as they were fully booked (I fail to understand why!) and we would have to take it up with the travel agent. Both rooms were "equipped" with a ceiling fan that rotated no faster than a Ferris wheel (honestly, not an exaggeration!).

So... we found ourselves with no aircon, half a fan and a tiny window on the top floor in mid-August. You could not dry yourself after a shower, it was impossible to sleep and found it difficult to even breathe some nights in the cupboards they call hotel rooms!

The "cleaners" did come in once a day, not too sure what they cleaned... the bed sheets WERE NOT CHANGED AT ALL throughout our stay, combined with the amount of perspiration going on throughout the night... the rest can be left to imagination! Towels which were clearly dirty (yes, we left them on the floor for a reason!) were hung back up for our re-use... NICE! We made yet another visit to reception with the towels and eventually got some clean ones. So yes, the hotel may look clean on first glance, but don't be fooled. Walls in the bathroom had urine stains/splashes, dressing table and other surfaces were sticky and dirt from the floor was evidently swept under the bed.

The shower doesn't know if it's coming or going, either too hot or too cold and walls are paper thin.

I'm a true believer that it's not the hotel that makes the holiday and it's just a place where you sleep and believe, this was JUST a place to sleep... or at least attempt to! But the fact that I paid over £2,000 for this hell hole makes me sick to my stomach! The majority of the staff (including owners and management) are rude, miserable and lifeless - good characteristics for business people right?!

Torremolinos itself is very classy and the ONLY thing this hotel has going for it is its 30 second walk to the beach.

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE DO NOT spend your hard earned cash here... I feel completely robbed of best part of £2,500.... you have been warned!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Arrived late evening to granite faces around the bar (Christina being one of them!). The room was clean with small balcony, no air con and a ceiling fan which was inadequate as the temperature was very high. The hotel did make decent snacks. Having stayed at the Carmen Theresa before, which is also 2 star, I can say I will not be staying at El Tiburon again as it comes a very poor second to the theresa in welcomes and comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojo5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have just returned from a week at the el tiburon all the reviews we read before we went were very accurate.And we would cerainly recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet holiday in a lovely clean family run hotel which is in a great location for everything you need.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I previously said that I thought the sparkle had gone, but I take it back. I have stayed in the Tiburon twice this year. Once for 3 nights in June with my girlfriends and again in July for 4 nights with my other and his two grown up kids. The place is a lot cleaner than it was last year. Nothing has changed of course, the staff and decor are still the same but it just felt happier this time.

I don’t think I did a review after I stayed there last year but if you do happened to get put on the top floor please ask to me moved straight away, there is a water pump on the roof that will keep you awake all night.

I will say that it is a shame the owners don’t give the Tiburon a little TLC. As you enter reception there are some photos on the right hand side. One of them is of all the employee’s, smiling, wearing uniforms and looking very happy. At least 3 of the staff in the picture are still there but it is certainly a picture of happier times.
Feel free to ask me any questions.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank zedtwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

(this is the best 2** hotel on the C-D-S ) After staying in a nearby hotel for the last 3 years ,my wife and I decided on a change of hotel, best move we have made, 14 nights for a real bargain price ,room only of course, that way you can either, eat in the el tiburon, choice of various english breakfast meals, and late afternoon - evening meals, all reasonably priced and well cooked. Or, you can opt for an almost endless choice, of cafe"s, bars , and restraunts, all within 10 to 15 mins walk. As for the hotel itself, (cheap) (CLEAN) friendly staff, 70% speak english, nice pool area , adequate sunbeds,if you can stand the heat.you can travel miles, on local transport, for less than 2 euros.(que mas quieres) ( by the way" DENNIS "i hope your back is better) ps,already booked for next year. viva espana.( sorry no tilda) B & G brixham devon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkiebless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Hotel is perfectly suited for young smokers, 24 hr reception for the late ones, ashtrays provided, maid was v friendly, (tho we didn't share the same language) she didn't seem to mind too much about the joint ends she fished from under "mi amigos" bed. Every time we came back to the hotel, we had a litre of beer each (1.80) and often hadn't slept yet, Christine all ways had a welcoming smile waiting for us!

If your a young traveller looking for cheap, smoker friendly accommodation, el tiburon is the place for you, a short walk from the beach you can score some of the best hachis and herb in the world!

Room Tip: Try your best to speak spanish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MALAGA-SOULJAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carmen Teresa
Hotel Carmen Teresa
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito
0.1 mi away
Residencia Miami Hotel
Residencia Miami Hotel
#38 of 71 in Torremolinos
240 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa del Sol Hotel
Costa del Sol Hotel
#21 of 71 in Torremolinos
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique El Tiburon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique El Tiburon

Address: Calle Nidos 7 | La carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £51 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique El Tiburon 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 100m away from one of the most charming beaches of the Costa del Sol, La Carihuela, 3-star Boutique Hotel El Tiburon is recommended for adults who wish to enjoy the most comfortable, pleasant and luxurious stay in Torremolinos. Opened in 1963 is one of the first hotels built in the Costa del Sol, staying since both renowned artists and personalities of high prestige at national and international level. In 2014 the hotel has undergone a complete reform with the greatest care to give it a stylish and cosmopolitan air that makes it the most exclusive hotel in Torremolinos. Be seduced by El Tiburon: the hotel that changes Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Boutique El Tiburon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tiburon Torremolinos
Hotel El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing