We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Stockport,Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try it yourself”
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Didn't spend alot of time in the hotel but staff seemed friendly enough. Rooms basic but very clean, sheets, towels changed enough. Breakfasts a little strange, have read nowere about the habbit of clearing your own table and replaceing the table cloth. O.K. if you know of this before you book. It's not compulsary but could have gone self catering if this is required. Problem with juice & coffee vending machines. Juice is very watery, coffee mainly luke warm as is bacon,eggs etc. Could this be the reason breakfasts are to stop. Money needs spending on equipment. Vending machines can be very good these days but cost money. The actual food is O.K. if a little limited in choice but then how often do you change your breakfast menu at home.
All in all you get what you pay for and a little more, both BBC and ITV channels ( if this is what you want ) how many more expensive hotels only have Spanish, German & CNN channels.
We stayed for 1 week and the beds were O.K. for this amount of time. Mattresses a little hard and lumpy for any longer. Didn't use the pool in November but sun bathing O.K. until about 4:00 when surrounding building get in the way.

  • Liked — Near airport, beach & restaurants
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    101
    51
    17
    15
See reviews for
24
182
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We have just returned from El Tiburon and although we paid just £14 each per night B & B the hotel is of a great standard. We had a four bedded room with balcony and there were only two of us. I don't know where the previous reviewee stayed but it could not have been 'the same El Tiburon', The place was as spotless and and as friendly as we remembered.

The reason it is a room only basis as from next year is due to the booking agencies asking them to drop the price. If you look ahead to next year there is no difference in the prices for a room only so what is the problem with buying a cheap breakfast outside the hotel. They may offer breakfast when you arrive as they have the facilities and drinks and snacks are a reasonable price anyway.

I found it very disloyal of customers who had been going for years saying they would stay elsewhere. They will find it difficult to find such caring staff and as the average age is well over 60 they should bear that in mind.

Just in case you wondered what the weather was like it was absolutely brilliant. A thunderstorm early one morning but a week in the very high 20s. No jacket required in the evening.

So just as soon as we can we will be returning to El Tib breakfast or not.

  • Liked — Their ability to make everyone feel at home
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Went to the Tiburon again 1st week in October. This is a basic ,spotlessly clean hotel. Bar staff great, don't ask the receptionists for anything ,[ you may as well just ask someone in a bar] they don't want to know , it's too much trouble.The same people return time and again so that speaks for itself, the only thing is that from next year there'll be no breakfasts so some people will probably look elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank billie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2008

just returned sept 25th going on recommendations from trip advisor.think we must have stayed at a different tiburon.not much of a welcome from reception.we expected it to be basic but only a few bulbs worked sliding wardrobe doors were swinging doors,delapidated draws with nails sticking out,filthy mirror and dirty looking pool.noisy plumbing woke us up most mornings.breakfast cold and coffee undrinkable.needless to say wont be returning.how people rave about this hotel is beyond belief.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the hotel itself
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

After spending 10 enjoyable days here we found out that from October, the hotel will be room only and not bed and breakfast. Dont know the reason butr there was definitely something going on whilst we were there. Such a shame as some people we met there have been going for the last nine years. On top of this the prices are going up.

  • Liked — position and price
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

I have just returned from a short break at the Tiburon hotel, its a great little hotel in a good location. Nice comfy lounge area, bar is well stocked, staff in general pleasant. Rooms basic but clean.

Pool area lovely, some sunbeds, quite a sun trap, a terrace with a few beds. A couple of tables, chairs and umbrellas to sit in the shade and enjoy a drink from the bar.

Breakfast very good and topped up frequently, but I believe next year there will either be no breakfast or board will be on a room only basis and breakfast as extra.

Snacks during the day, and a happy hour in the evening, although that seems to be at the barmans descetion!

Downside, for me...
Ceiling fan noisy and inadequate, walls paper thin, can hear conversations and snores from all sides. Area around hotel very noisy at night due to traffic, refuge collection, street washing. Reception needs course on customer service, no welcome no smiles.
Maids very cheerful but like all Spanish, very vocal even in the early morning, so a lie in is nigh on impossible.

Great place if you like the buzz and are a deep sleeper, definitely not for peace quiet and relaxtion.

  • Liked — It was small and well situated for bars, beach and restaurants
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillyjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We have recently returned from a 10 day stay in the El Tiburon and agree with the majority of all the reviewers. We enjoyed it so much we were going to book for a week early next year. However the websites came up with a ROOM ONLY option. On asking at reception we were informed that this is correct and that they are going to be room only next year. As they do not appear to be installing kitchenettes in the rooms, this makes for a more expensive overall holiday as you will have to find alternative arrangements for breakfast. This has taken the El Tiburon out of the value for money bracket it was in and will now just be an also ran as the price has not reduced to reflect the fact of no breakfast.
Please do not misunderstand, the hotel and staff were fantastic, it's just our luck to find a little gem and then it goes and changes.

  • Liked — Great location, helpful staff, buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PatAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Residencia Miami Hotel
Residencia Miami Hotel
#37 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 71 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Amaragua
SENTIDO Amaragua
#22 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
#18 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Plazamar
Apartamentos Plazamar
#31 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Pozo
Hotel El Pozo
#33 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique El Tiburon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique El Tiburon

Property: Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Address: Calle Nidos 7 | La carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Boutique El Tiburon 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 100m away from one of the most charming beaches of the Costa del Sol, La Carihuela, 3-star Boutique Hotel El Tiburon is recommended for adults who wish to enjoy the most comfortable, pleasant and luxurious stay in Torremolinos. Opened in 1963 is one of the first hotels built in the Costa del Sol, staying since both renowned artists and personalities of high prestige at national and international level. In 2012 the hotel has undergone a complete reform with the greatest care to give it a stylish and cosmopolitan air that makes it the most exclusive hotel in Torremolinos. Be seduced by El Tiburon: the hotel that changes Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boutique El Tiburon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tiburon Torremolinos
Hotel El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing