We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where do I start!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Al-Andalus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Al-Andalus
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Where do I start!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

As 4 girlfriends booking a cheap week away we decided to go for all inc, and chose this hotel for its '4 star rating', all inc price & location.
The room was so dated, old decor & carpets. The bathroom I will say was clean and well decorated.
We headed for the restaurant to be faced with what we called 'mystery dishes' as we spent 5 minutes staring & smelling to guess what was being served. I have been many places all over the world and have never seen food with no labels! There was poor choice most meal times although I found lunch to be the best as there was salad-well for 1 day. We walked past the restaurant one evening at about 6 to see the salad already out uncovered sitting on the lighted counters- dinner was not until 7.30! This was when we decided to obstain from the restaurant altogether.
Most staff were unwelcoming, even rude at times. The snack bar only served food between 5-7pm! And only cheap rum, vodka (watered down) etc. Malibu & Smirnoff were not included in the all inc. so by now all we were getting for the all inc price after day 1 was shandys and a room. We ate out which was easy as there is a good selection of bars and restaurants about a 10 minute walk away. Thank goodness!
The pool area was ok just lacking sun loungers, the hotel had 5 floors but only about 25 loungers round the pool. On the positive side the grounds were lovely & well kept, the view from our balcony was lovely & shower (& bathroom) were good. I must also add that when we had a problem with our phone & electric and they sent someone straight up which was something. We certainly will not be returning & wouldn't recommend it. It has even put us off all inc for the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Emnrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Royal Al Andalus to enjoy a few relaxing days in Torremolinos. We will take your feedback to keep improving every day. Royal Al Andalus Hotel offers great value for money. Sorry for the inconvenience as many people comment on their reviews. We hope to have you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    170
    167
    108
    70
See reviews for
161
262
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is dated! Carpets in rooms!
3 friends & I stayed here for one week AI is poor very poor!! For instance none of the food in the restaurant is labelled so your not sure what your choosing and potentially this is very dangerous for allergy sufferers the snacks don't exist, the alcohol selection is very limited and of extremely poor quality (eg Malibu not on AI) not even a local branded one . The staff are a mixed bunch most of them RUDE.we ate out every night after day 1 which made this an expensive holiday The pool area is ok the weather was great so we could sit Out! This hotel is POOR on all levels don't waste your money book somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 45bestest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Royal Al Andalus for your holiday in Torremolinos. We deeply regret not meeting your expectations during your stay. We do not share your opinion about our accommodation, our staff works very hard to get everything comfortable for our guests. As for the all inclusive drinks only local drinks included, in which there is a wide range to choose from. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Orihuela
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

A decent stopover for our group on the way back home from Morocco. It is a short but steep climb up to the hotel from the main road especially with luggage! The hotel itself was fine though. Good self-service buffet-type dinner and excellent breakfast in restaurant. 10 euros for a bottle of wine.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a trek from the reception and restaurant areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Sheila,

Thanks for recommending the Hotel Royal Andalus users. We hope to have you back with us very soon. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page for all our latest news.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Had read reviews before booking ,usual some good ,some bad ,went ahead and booked believing 4 star it must be reasonable. Public areas are nice ,beautiful gardens nice lounge/ entertainment area but there it stopped.. Room was large ,decor was horrendous first thing to see was the horrible mould down the length of the wall under air con unit. Do not know why this eyesore could not have been covered with some paint as it wasn't a recent occurrence ( room 153) .
Was on all inclusive basis and while we rcognised local drinks were included we did not realise the level of penny pinching on the quality of the drinks . Food best described as okay. Staff were nice ,but there was a distinct lack of them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herebethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It's a shame that we have not reached your expectations during your stay in Torremolinos. We will take note of your feedback to continue to offer the best service to our guests. We look forward to have you with us very soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

If you want a clean hotel to rest your head this is the place. The grounds and the pool area are well kept and a pleasure to be in.
Not wanting to be too negative about the place, but wanting to say what I experienced - I can only report on my stay. My husband and I have just returned on 11th October from a 4 night all-inclusive for which we paid £690.00 and whilst we were pleased that the place was nipping clean and the grounds and pool area very well kept we were both disappointed in other aspects of our stay. I wouldn't say we are a particularly fussy eaters, but the menu was definitely aimed at a mid-European palette, with a very limited choice for those with an English palette. Don't get me wrong - I don't go away on holiday to eat only 'English' food - I enjoy trying local foods. However to me, other than the salads, we thought the food was not particularly well cooked and to make it worse there was no indicators as to what was being served up. Most restaurants put a little card up to show what is being served. As a consequence we ate out a few times, despite being 'All-inclusive'. The 'All Inclusive' drinks list is limited as is the time that some of the pool-side snacks are available.The staff have very limited English - or so it appeared. They were all hard-working but did not share any light-hearted conversation with their guests - which to me is unusual in a hotel. We didn't see the entertainment, but those we spoke to weren't over-enthralled. Outside the hotel the place is run-down, but I'm not reviewing the area just the hotel and that should not and does not reflect on the hotel. The hotel is on a short incline, but not too much that it should effect anyone other than those with a moderate to severe disability. In summarising - if you want a relaxing holiday in a clean environment - then this is the place - the food I would give a miss to and eat in the numerous eateries not too far away from the hotel. Would we go back - I don't think so - but never say never!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor over-looking the pool - beautiful for watching the sunrise and no dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Martie,

Thanks for sharing your experience with tripadvisor users. We regret not meeting your expectations. We will take note of your suggestions to continue to offer a service to match our guests. The all-inclusive, as shown on our website only offers local drinks. We would love to have you with us despite the inconveniences you mention. We apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for choosing us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

As you can guess by the title of my review I have mixed feelings about this hotel.the hotel was very clean ,the rooms spacious and the vast majority of the staff where excellent.I went to carehulia at the end of September beginning of October and there seemed to be a shortage of staff. You had to clear you plates away between courses in the restaurant,never more than one bar person day or night,and they often went absent for short periods . The pool was a nice size and there where ample beds and umbrellas ,the hotel grounds are kept nice and there is a little pond with fish in.
Hardly saw the entertainment team except for the evening when there was usual some live music of varying quality.

The food at this hotel is very much the same everyday except for the hot dishes and they do not change much .i always found something to eat in the main restaurant but most people stuck to the salads,there are hot snacks at the pool bar in the late afternoon consisting of hot dogs ,burgers ,baguettes ,pizza and fries ,but the bar person has to cook those so they are rushed as drinks need to be served and the bar kept clean.


The area immediately around the hotel does have some closed down bars and businesses but you see that everywhere now including English high streets.5 minutes down hill and your are at the main streets of carehulia with some nice restaurants and bars the lovely promenade and beach.

I will not be returning to the royal al Andalusia which is a shame because with a few minor improvements it could be a really nice hotel.
But I got 8 nights at this hotel for two persons all inclusive for a measly £550 so if your after a cheap break this could well be the place for you.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hanfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks for sharing your opinion with the Tripadvisor community. As your comets Hotel Royal Al Andalus has complete facilities and our staff works very hard so that everything is at ease for our guests during their stay. We will take note about your comments on Buffet to continue implementing our service. We regret that your stay has not met your expectations. We will continue working to improve every day.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We started and ended our tour of Andalucia at this hotel. An ok Hotel, clean, abit dated. Staff were friendly. The pool was good with plenty of seating/beds around, also nice green lawns if you don't want to be by the pool which has a outside bar. Around the hotel is abit sad as so many places shut but 10 min walk in to town or less to the beach and prom with bars and shops. Breakfast was good, also the evening salad bar etc only the hot food slightly letting it down but tends to be usual for big Hotels catering for a lot of people. Yes you do have to clear your plates on to a trolley but is that really so hard!
Liked all the colourful cows about!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool and then 1st floor overlooking the lawn, both had vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your communication. We will take note of all your comments and suggestions. As comets Hotel Royal Al Andalus is located very close to the beach. We hope to have you with us on your next stay in Torremolinos.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Royal Costa Hotel
Royal Costa Hotel
#59 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#27 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Princesa Solar
Hotel Princesa Solar
#29 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Puente Real
Hotel Puente Real
#16 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#54 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Al-Andalus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Al-Andalus

Property: Royal Al-Andalus
Address: Calle Al Andalus 3, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Al-Andalus 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Al-Andalus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Al-Andalus Hotel Torremolinos
Royal Al-Andalus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing