We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel surprise me”
Review of Royal Al-Andalus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Al-Andalus
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 24 August 2014

After reading many negative reviews here on TripAdvisor, I was very skeptical about this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. Large rooms. A few bartenders at the pool bar was clearly tired of he job, and for sure not happy because its "all inclusive" guests in the hotel. This took away one star for my stars.

Room Tip: Room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Norwegian38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel. We will inform human sources responsible about your comments of the staff. Hope to see you here again soon. You can follow our news on Facebook.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

After reading reviews I was a bit worried about what we were going to get. But I have to admit we were pleasantly surprised.
We arrived early as had an early morning flight. We couldn't check in as the room wasn't ready.
The receptionist was lovely, gave us some info, we put our bags in storage and went to the pool bar. It didn't take long for the room to be prepared and we were allowed to check-in. I met about 3 or 4 of the reception staff who were all very helpful and friendly, an asset to the hotel.

Hotel - Spacious reception / lobby area with good wifi. Just a shame it's only available in this area. Our room was farely close to reception, so managed to just pick up a signal hanging off the balcony on occasions!

Room - Spacious rooms, plenty of cupboard space (Double cupboard), surprisingly comfortable beds compared to other hotels I've stayed in of a similar rating. The rooms are a weird orange colour, which with a freshen up could be much better. Lovely bathroom with double basin. Nice balcony. Cleaned and new sheets every day. Good sized fridge. Air con in our room wasn't great, but friends in another part of the hotel said it was very good in their room.

Pool/Bar - Nice pool, quite warm throughout the day. Sunbeds get taken quite early (8am open), so we joined everyone else in claiming ours. The pool area was never too busy, and mid afternoon seemed to go very quiet! The pool and bar area isn't huge, but there's plenty of grassed areas to get a good spot.
We were All Inclusive and made full use of that! The pool bar food was nice, tried a few different things. Some of the bar staff could do with some customer service training though! Some times very nice and smiley, but usually more abrupt and ignorant.

Evenings - Various activities or shows on each night. Quizes, magician (who was very good!), singers etc. Good for kids or adults

Location - In a quiet area. Only 10 min walk to centre or 10 min down to the beach. We tried some bars on the beach front which were perfect, chill out cock tails bars.

Food - Biggest downfall. Food in the restaurant was average. Some odd tastes, even of the simplest dishes. There was a good selection but it's something that needs a bit of work. The pool bar food was simple and good quality though.

There was a mixture of Spanish, French and British here. It was mainly Spanish though.

I'm not sure how recent the hotel has been refurbished, but it's generally very clean and some areas are very nice. The rooms could do with a freshen up but are good sized with decent furniture and facilities.
Despite the food, for the price we paid I'd certainly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stevo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear customer,

Royal Al Andalus Hotel's team want to thank you for choosing us for your vacation. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel. Hope to see you again. Remember you can book directly on our website with the best price.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Visited Royal Al Andalus for 1 week 02-Aug-2014 as a couple (late 20's). We stayed room only and from previous reviews I am delighted we did. The grounds & pool were fantastic and very relaxing, also the hotel staff were always friendly and obliging. The room itself definitely wasnt 4 star but had a really good view, balcony, air conditioning and an enomous bathroom. But in saying that we were on holiday so were rarely in the room. The area immediately outside the hotel is very quiet with nothing around but it is only a 5 minute walk to the lovely la Cariheula & another 10 mins to torremolinos & Benelmadena is only a 30 minute walk for the fitter holidayer. In saying that the main road with taxis, buses is a 1 minute walk. All in all had a brilliant holiday & would definitely return

Room Tip: All seemed to be facing teh same direction we had sea & pool roon #524 everthing perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked this hotel as one of the 'secret hotels' on Low Cost Holidays. We stayed for 7 nights half board and only got back this week. When the secret was revealed and we were told the name of it we searched for the reviews and we were really worried about it because of what people were saying, but it was actually really nice. The rooms are gigantic and nicely decorated and the bathrooms are beautiful with his and hers sinks and marble tiling. The grounds are also really good with a fairly decent sized pool, lots of loungers and some lovely gardens. You have to get up early to reserve your loungers though but if you're dedicated like we were you get them without trouble!

The only down side to the hotel - as most people have said - is the food. The food was edible and we didn't go hungry but the way I'd describe it is that it's not very well executed. They were obviously trying to be different and offer a really nice selection but everything just tasted a bit weird. Even the paella didn't taste like traditional Spanish Paella and they had scrimped on the seafood. The vegetables were always cooked in a weird sauce or in oil. They'd be better off just steaming them in water instead of ruining the taste. The desserts were just downright terrible. Trays of citrus jelly or lumpy chocolate custard. The desserts certainly need looking at and improving.

However unlike most people who have reviewed this hotel we didn't let the poor food ruin the holiday, we still had a really nice stay at the hotel and if we were going to come to Torremolinos again we probably would stay here but we'd go room-only without the food.

Positives about the hotel:
- Amazing location, very close to the beach, a supermarket and a taxi rank
- Good day and evening activities (including Ping Pong, Pool, Aquagym, Flamenco Dancers)
- Always clean in the common areas
- Staff (especially the ladies who did the Aquagym) were really nice and welcoming
- The rooms had air con
- The rooms had a fridge so you could keep your own water/drinks in there
- The gardens were really nice

Negatives about the hotel:
- Food was below average, came away craving fresh, light food.
- The air con had an occasional bad smell and when you look into the air con vent it's easy to see why!!
- Not all of the staff speak good english and a lot of the people also staying at the hotel were Spanish themselves so there was a bit of a language barrier.
- The free wi-fi in the lobby rarely worked and I can't understand why in this day in age the hotel didn't offer wifi in the rooms at an extra cost. It's something we would have definitely considered paying.
- We tried a few cocktails on site in the evenings but they were pre-made ones that they just poured into a shaker and shaked. It would have been nice to have the option of a proper cocktail.
- The music by the pool was very repetitive. Must have heard One Direction about 8 times one day! They just need the staff to change the CD every now and again.
- There seemed to be a bit of an ant infestation in the restaurant one night!

All in all if you're not fussy eaters or you're going to go room only in this hotel you have nothing to worry about. Minus the food it's a great hotel and deserves it's 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Danielleandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

just recently back from a lil break in torremolinos , this was never a 4 star hotel the food was something i have never encountered it was absolutely vile ! we went half board should of been room only , breakfast was just the same the only thing that was ok was the toast we eat out all week never again hotel ok apart from the food yuk nasty .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jacqueline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Jacquelin,

We regret the food was not to your liking. In our hotel we try to serve different dishes that are the taste of our customers. Always offer variety of cold and hot dishes. We hope you give us another chance and come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have stayed in the Royal Al-Andalus numerous times but won't be booking again. It has now been changed to an all inclusive hotel. The dinning room was terrible. All the tables were square in rows - looked like a school classroom and very close together. The hot (warm) food was really bad. The cook/chef could not keep up with the demand for food. The waiting staff hadn't got a clue what they were doing and didn't know where to get anything. We went for dinner the 1st night we stayed and ate out the 2nd night. Breakfast was nearly as bad as dinner. the cook could not keep up with the demand for eggs. The restaurant really disappointing and ruined our stay.
The good points were the hotel bedrooms were very big and roomy. Very quiet at night.
Location was great as so close to the beach.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Amanda,

Thanks for your feedback. Regarding the food, buffet restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes to suit the taste of most of our customers. We hope you give us another opportunity to show the good service of our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We went to this hotel in April expecting four star standard and we were bitterly disappointed. This hotel would only rate at two star if that. The food was appalling and there was nothing labelled to say what was on offer. The crockery was chipped and cutlery was not clean. We were meant to have small bottle of water and small bottle of wine with our meal which I had to go and ask for and even then the waiter shrugged his shoulders like he didn't know what I was talking about. The restaurant was not opened to us and we had to use what looked more like a canteen. We did get moved to another hotel but were only given bed and breakfast when we had paid for half board in the royal al andulas which I didn't think was right as both were supposed to be 4 star hotels and the difference in the two hotels was incomparable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback. We note each of your comments in order to improve. We will work to try to satisfy your expectations in your next visit to our Hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Natursun
Hotel Natursun
#31 of 71 in Torremolinos
493 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Costa Hotel
Royal Costa Hotel
#62 of 71 in Torremolinos
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Princesa Solar
Hotel Princesa Solar
#30 of 71 in Torremolinos
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Al-Andalus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Al-Andalus

Address: Calle Al Andalus 3, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £45 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Al-Andalus 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Al-Andalus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Al-Andalus Hotel Torremolinos
Royal Al-Andalus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing