We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spain needs more charming hotels like these”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residencia Miami Hotel
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Spain needs more charming hotels like these”
Reviewed 20 March 2009

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and was so pleased that it has lost none of its charm. The building, garden and pool are just superb...Hotel Residencia Miami is such a refreshing change from the 'luxury' tower block hotels. I feel that Spain, especially the costas need more 'interesting' hotels such as this one. The photos don’t really do it justice. The architecture of the building is wonderful.

My room was very clean with a balcony overlooking the garden. I noticed that the room now had a TV and air conditioning and heating. The bathroom was clean and functional. Yes, the towels were rather thin...but hey that's the only fault I could really find. I noticed that other visitors have mentioned they feel that the inclusive breakfast is rather basic, but when you consider the room rate, I feel its ok. If you need a 'full' breakfast there are so many fine cafes less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

The location of the hotel is very good as you are far enough away from the beach to avoid the noise but possibly still only about a 3 minute walk to the beach. Parking is free at the hotel and very convenient. The reception staff are efficient and friendly.

I hope the Miami continues just as it is for many years to come and doesn't succumb to the 'portion control' franchise market. Its fine just the way it

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    81
    51
    19
    5
See reviews for
57
81
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Started our 3-weeks Spain tour i Torremolinos and find this inexpensive hotel on the internet. It is very basic, but has a nice andalucian touch and a beautiful courtyard with pool. We found the staff very friendly and easygoing and had a pleasant stay.
Its just a short walk down from the hotel to La Carihuela beach and loads of restaurants with typicall spanish beach food.
The walk to Torremolinos city centre takes around 25 minutes and is uphill if you take the main road. Its nicer to take the promenade at the beach. Taxi cost 6 euro but the bus runs every 15 minutes and are cheaper.
If you are going to stay here try to book early to get a room with balcony fronting the pool to get the nicest view.

  • Liked — The spacious courtyard and the spanish hacienda feeling
  • Disliked — Distance into city centre
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

If you're looking for a bed and a pillow this place is fine for the price. Nothing fancy here. Outdated but clean. There is a major construction site next door as of this visit (Oct. 207) so try to get a room facing the courtyard/pool. The construction work begins by 0800 and it's noisey. Breakfast is a joke...don't bother adding it on to your room price. We got it added at no extra charge. If you can get it added with no extra charge the coffee is good but get some pastries at a nearby market and bring your own. Staff is friendly but be careful if you have any itinerary outside of the normal in one day and out another. We had 5 rooms booked for several days. Checked out of all but one room for 2 days and kept bags in the room we kept. Returned for several more days and even though the email booking communication was very clear about replacing the 4 rooms, somehow they had booked us for 5 new rooms (plus the one we had maintained). Apparently, the customer is not always right here as we had to pay one night for a room we weren't using. They ended up under-charging us on the return though so Karma was in action. I would stay here again though as I'm not big on spending a lot of money for a room that I'm never in except to sleep.

  • Liked — Price/location
  • Disliked — Dated. Needs some upkeep.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_allan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

My daughter, 2-year old grand daughter and I stayed at the Miama for a week in July 2003. Had a nice, but basic room on the ground floor overlooking the pool which we had to pay extra for but was worth it. Continental breakfast is typical but served in a lovely setting by the pool. What makes this hotel stand out in spite of it's shortcomings, is the charm of the interior, the pool and the mostly helpful staff especially Paco, the caretaker. Although it does look like it has been updated since we have visited, it is still a great deal. One block to the beach and shopping but enough off the beaten path to be quiet and restful. With all the highrises, it is nice to know that this kind of hotel still exists and exudes the charm of the Torremolinos of the 60's and 70's. Definitely would stay again.

  • Liked — The charm of the hotel
  • Disliked — Bathrooms needed to be updated
  • Stayed July 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2007

A small little local hotel that accepts cash only. This place is a two star, but was comfortable, clean, and had a good AC (needed in August in Spain). While the place is a big aged and the bed a bit hard for my liking, this place seems like a reliable choice if you just need a place to shower and sleep.

A five minute walk to the beach with plenty of places to eat and drink within minutes. For €60 during peak season in Spain I had no real complaints.

  • Liked — Good location with freindly service.
  • Disliked — Bed was a bit hard.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank scalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

This hotel was amazing! It was gorgeous, clean, had a great location, and a very friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again. It was a very short walk to the shops, restaurants, and beach. The beach was gorgeous and you can rent umbrella and chairs cheaply. I much preferred this beach to Marbella. The hotel and La Carihuela beach look just like the pictures :)

Make sure to have cash upon arrival as you will have to pay for your entire stay when you check in -- there is an ATM very close by. My only complaint would be that it was a little noisy in the morning. We were in room #31 which is directly across from the kitchen on the ground floor. Also, be aware that the shower is narrow and it is easy to get water on the floor.

Overall, this hotel was great and had everything I was looking for - clean rooms, great location, and a friendly staff. I only wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Liked — Absolutely gorgeous - true Andalusian style.
  • Disliked — I didn't like being so close to the kitchen.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2007

I have just returned again from the Costa Del Sol where i stayed in the Hotel Residencia Miami advertised as being in Torremolinos but is actually in the La Carihuela beach area between Torremolinos and Benalmadena Marina. If you are looking for inexpensive and clean then this is the place. Built for Lola Medina the queen of the gypsies this is an old fashioned spanish building full of character, the rooms are clean but basic, breakfast is continental, in a beautiful courtyard,the staff are very friendly and helpful, the only problem i found was it can be a bit noisy at night, but apart from that was fine, the beach is a short stroll away where you will find loads of restaurants cafes and shops to suit everyone,s pocket. I found an IRISH bar called the Blarney Inn, on the way to Benalmadina Marina run by Eithna and Donal from Dublin, a wonderful couple who make everyone welcome like you were family, just look for their board on the walkway, you won,t regret your visit to them. If you go to the marina in Benalmadena take some bread to feed the fish they are unbelievable.

Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernIrelandBiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Palm Beach Club
Palm Beach Club
#37 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carmen Teresa
Hotel Carmen Teresa
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arcos de Montemar
Arcos de Montemar
#24 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Pozo
Hotel El Pozo
#33 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
#27 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Princesa Solar
Hotel Princesa Solar
#29 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Miami Hotel

Property: Residencia Miami Hotel
Address: Calle Aladino 14, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel, design par Picasso's cousin in the 50's in the real andalou style for a Gypsy Queen. Situated at 50 meter from the best beach in the area, 10km from Malaga's airport. It is a beautiful and quiet oasis among the buildings around. It has been renovated for 6 years. New Bathrooms, air conditioning unit, TV. Swimming pool with salt to avoid the chlorine. You can also eat a delicious paella made on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residencia Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residencia Miami
Residencia Miami Torremolinos
Residencia Miami Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing