We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low price, good value, charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residencia Miami Hotel
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The good:
* very cheap
* small hotel with charm
* parking on-site

The bad:
* small beds (very annoying)
* small time-frame for breakfast
* bath towels which don't dry very well

I would definitely recommend this hotel for those people who can cope with a small bed. It offers very good value. The hotel's location is also very good, although it's about 20 minutes walk from the Old Town. There is a great cafe, La Tahona, serving a very good breakfast just down the road, so we never bothered eating the hotel's breakfast anyway. Sometimes the hotel's car park gets a bit full, but most of the time it was OK.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2009

Anyone looking for a small hotel with authentic spanish architecture and charm should check out the Hotel Residencia Miami in Torremolinos. While this is a 2 star hotel (I suspect due to a lack of elevator), I found it better than most 3 star hotels I have visited in Europe. Surprisingly spacious room for a single, newly remodeled bathroom with great water pressure and at a great price. Nice garden and pool (hotel grounds are the size of a small city block and walled in). Less than 5 minute walk to the Carihuela and the beach, located somewhat in between Torremolinos proper and Benalmedena. Staff was friendly and accomodating. If you watch TV make sure you get your remote from the reception desk, ditto for the air conditioning, it's operated via a remote control and somewhat hard to figure out. I would steer clear of the master suite for now, when they remodeled it they 'forgot ' to install air conditioning so it might get a little stuffy in warm weather. Also they don't accept American Express, couldn't get a Mastercard to go through, so might be limited to Visa or cash as form of payment.

All in all a wonderful little hotel with a few quirks.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and was so pleased that it has lost none of its charm. The building, garden and pool are just superb...Hotel Residencia Miami is such a refreshing change from the 'luxury' tower block hotels. I feel that Spain, especially the costas need more 'interesting' hotels such as this one. The photos don’t really do it justice. The architecture of the building is wonderful.

My room was very clean with a balcony overlooking the garden. I noticed that the room now had a TV and air conditioning and heating. The bathroom was clean and functional. Yes, the towels were rather thin...but hey that's the only fault I could really find. I noticed that other visitors have mentioned they feel that the inclusive breakfast is rather basic, but when you consider the room rate, I feel its ok. If you need a 'full' breakfast there are so many fine cafes less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

The location of the hotel is very good as you are far enough away from the beach to avoid the noise but possibly still only about a 3 minute walk to the beach. Parking is free at the hotel and very convenient. The reception staff are efficient and friendly.

I hope the Miami continues just as it is for many years to come and doesn't succumb to the 'portion control' franchise market. Its fine just the way it

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Started our 3-weeks Spain tour i Torremolinos and find this inexpensive hotel on the internet. It is very basic, but has a nice andalucian touch and a beautiful courtyard with pool. We found the staff very friendly and easygoing and had a pleasant stay.
Its just a short walk down from the hotel to La Carihuela beach and loads of restaurants with typicall spanish beach food.
The walk to Torremolinos city centre takes around 25 minutes and is uphill if you take the main road. Its nicer to take the promenade at the beach. Taxi cost 6 euro but the bus runs every 15 minutes and are cheaper.
If you are going to stay here try to book early to get a room with balcony fronting the pool to get the nicest view.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2007

If you're looking for a bed and a pillow this place is fine for the price. Nothing fancy here. Outdated but clean. There is a major construction site next door as of this visit (Oct. 207) so try to get a room facing the courtyard/pool. The construction work begins by 0800 and it's noisey. Breakfast is a joke...don't bother adding it on to your room price. We got it added at no extra charge. If you can get it added with no extra charge the coffee is good but get some pastries at a nearby market and bring your own. Staff is friendly but be careful if you have any itinerary outside of the normal in one day and out another. We had 5 rooms booked for several days. Checked out of all but one room for 2 days and kept bags in the room we kept. Returned for several more days and even though the email booking communication was very clear about replacing the 4 rooms, somehow they had booked us for 5 new rooms (plus the one we had maintained). Apparently, the customer is not always right here as we had to pay one night for a room we weren't using. They ended up under-charging us on the return though so Karma was in action. I would stay here again though as I'm not big on spending a lot of money for a room that I'm never in except to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_allan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

My daughter, 2-year old grand daughter and I stayed at the Miama for a week in July 2003. Had a nice, but basic room on the ground floor overlooking the pool which we had to pay extra for but was worth it. Continental breakfast is typical but served in a lovely setting by the pool. What makes this hotel stand out in spite of it's shortcomings, is the charm of the interior, the pool and the mostly helpful staff especially Paco, the caretaker. Although it does look like it has been updated since we have visited, it is still a great deal. One block to the beach and shopping but enough off the beaten path to be quiet and restful. With all the highrises, it is nice to know that this kind of hotel still exists and exudes the charm of the Torremolinos of the 60's and 70's. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephanie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

A small little local hotel that accepts cash only. This place is a two star, but was comfortable, clean, and had a good AC (needed in August in Spain). While the place is a big aged and the bed a bit hard for my liking, this place seems like a reliable choice if you just need a place to shower and sleep.

A five minute walk to the beach with plenty of places to eat and drink within minutes. For €60 during peak season in Spain I had no real complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank scalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
#26 of 71 in Torremolinos
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Natursun
Hotel Natursun
#31 of 71 in Torremolinos
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 71 in Torremolinos
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Pozo
Hotel El Pozo
#41 of 71 in Torremolinos
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Beach Club
Palm Beach Club
#43 of 71 in Torremolinos
228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#18 of 71 in Torremolinos
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Miami Hotel

Address: Calle Aladino 14, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £36 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel, design par Picasso's cousin in the 50's in the real andalou style for a Gypsy Queen. Situated at 50 meter from the best beach in the area, 10km from Malaga's airport. It is a beautiful and quiet oasis among the buildings around. It has been renovated for 6 years. New Bathrooms, air conditioning unit, TV. Swimming pool with salt to avoid the chlorine. You can also eat a delicious paella made on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residencia Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residencia Miami
Residencia Miami Torremolinos
Residencia Miami Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing