We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We booked this trip as a cheap week in the sun so didn't expect too much and in terms of the hotel it was pretty much what we expected.

The main problem is that a lot of parents seem to think that the second the all inclusive wristband goes on their children's wrist, they don't need to supervise them anymore. So you have a ten deep crowd of children constantly at the bar, and children serving themselves in the restaurant - hands all over food that other people are going to eat, fingers in deserts and in once instance eating straight from the serving spoon before putting it back into the food.

There was a hand sanitizer outside the restaurant but people weren't forced to use it (children and adults!)

We felt that if the hotel tightened up its policy parents would have to take more responsibility for their children.



I was ill (sickness and diarrhoea), and yes, it could be down to a number of things but I suspect it was food related (certainly wasn't drink or sunstroke). I lost an entire day of the holiday due to this. Whilst waiting to leave in the hotel lounge we saw a woman throw up all over the floor in reception - so the hotel was definitely aware that something wasn't quite right.

Incidentally - after this there was someone on the restaurant door enforcing the sanitizing of hands, as we left shortly after I can't say how long this lasted.

All in all it was a good bargain break but just a few tweaks this hotel could be so much better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonnaBPR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Gerente at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Donna, thank you for great review on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate your comments regarding our establishment and we regret that during your stay you were unwell.
We strive daily to customers to use the spray antibacterial at the entrance to the restaurant and other areas of the hotel.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,385 - 2,391 of 3,288 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

Having stayed at the sister hotel El Greco in Ibiza, which is a very good three star hotel, I was expecting more as the Beach Club is now four stars. Tried to check in and was told there was no trace of our booking from onthebeach.com. Were given our wristbands so we could get lunch and told to call back at reception in one hour. We entered the restaurant ready to try out our all inclusive package and struggled to find something edible!
The pizza's were so thin you struggled to get them off the bent serving plates, the pasta was watery and slimy and the obviously frozen fish was uncooked in the centre. In fact we did not find anything which tasted fresh during our thankfully short two night stay. Sausages appeared at every meal time, including snack time, and the chef prepared 'fresh' fruit smoothies were just an excuse to use up fruit which was past it's best. Recycling of food was apparent at all times and whilst all good restaurants do this to some extent, it shouldn't be an excuse to put anything and everything in the minestrone soup.
The all inclusive drinks were alcoholic but not like anything we have tasted before and there were regular queues for service at the pool bar as there was only one person serving. One night's entertainment for us was watching how many people attempted to self serve a cup of coffee from the bar only to find the milk had gone off. The bar snacks included nuts which I'm convinced were left over from the previous nights parrot show, need I say more?
The hotel does have good points, clean rooms, impressive reception areas and a good location right next to the beach but that wouldn't warrant another visit to this disappointing hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank penrithman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Gerente at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Penrith, thank you for taking your time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your holiday with us at the Marconfort Beach Hotel.

We regret that you don `t liked the food from the hotel, however I would like to say that the majority of our customers are satisfied with the food, we try to have variety and quality for all tastes.
We will try to improve.Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

i have just come back today after being here on holiday and i am really happy.
Before i arrived there i saw all this comments about a sick bug etc, we were 4 in my family and none of us had any signs of this!!! i can say we stuffed ourselfs morning, lunch & dinner the food was great i was really really surprised at how good the food is, and it really is as good as you see them in the photos, the hotel was clean and there were anti bacterial spray before entering the restaurant the only thing i did not like was the people holding there places as early as 7am to have a sunbed even though there is a sign saying you are not allowed, and also the actual rooms could do with a "facelift" the bathrooms were not very good as the baths had bumps on it when you stand in it and also the bed matresses should be changed, all in all we had a great time great family hotel really friendly people and staff and i really enjoyed it, if those two or three things were changed i think it would be the perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayraF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Gerente at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear KayraF :
Thank you very much for your very complete review of the Marconfort Beach Club Hotel. I gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visit to the Hotel .
Definilly all clients used in the restaurant the anti bacterial spray since a long time .
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We recently stayed at this Hotel, with our extended family. We were pleasantly surprised, because we had stayed at other "beach clubs" and expected the same. The food was lovely, the hotel very clean and well run, and the entertainment first class, the staff working very hard to make our stay pleasurable. I work in health and hygiene, and i am very fussy, but again i was surprised by the cleanliness and the hand cleansing facilities. If there was any problem it was some of the other guests, who never washed their hands and then touched food on the buffet. 1 evening i remonstrated with a fellow guest who was turning over bread rolls, he wasnt amused, but a staff member came and removed the rolls and brought fresh warm ones and TONGS. Where would you find that? not in most hotels. Even the weather obliged by being hot and sunny. When we did venture out, the proximity to the beach was brilliant. We would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the most wonderful views.....and the little bit of noise from the nightly enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spookyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Gerente at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Spookyjan :
Thank you for your sharing your holiday experience of the Marconfort Beach Hotel with other Trip Advisor users. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and I am very pleased at we were able to meet all your holiday expectations.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have just came back after a week's stay at the beach club,stayed here 4 times before but not been for 2 year's,can't beleive there still having problem's with this "BUG" I have never been ill on previous occasion's but was in bed for a day an night with this with the bug,i don't drink alcohol or fizzy drink's only drink bottled water an bring my own juice to go with it,but did eat all different variety of food's,i'm in the food business myself and think i know what the problem is in this hotel,1 there is a major fly problem cause there are not enough fly extractor's about,2 the food is nowhere near hot enough and 1 day the manager removed it all an took it back to the kitchen,BUT THE BIGGEST PROBLEM OF ALL IS THE GUEST'S NOT WASHING THERE HAND'S WHEN COMING FROM THE TOILET!!!!!!!!!!!! i myself personally witnessed a lady coming out of the toilet into the dining room picking the knife up and cutting a piece of bread to toast withot using the cloth to hold the bread she therefore spread all her germ;s to other guest the waiter on the door was chatting to other guest so she failed to use the spray on how many other occasion's does this happen,also parent's let the children help themselves one little boy picked up all different pancakes before he chose the one he wanted who's to say he washed his hand's!!!!!! as for the entertainment it's awful !!!! I personally took my family there for the fantastic entertainment there was an hypomitist the four top's fantastic solo artist's but this year where have they all gone,yes the mangement do walk round and speak to guest they are very polite but myself personally think they need to be watching this hand washing a bit more closely this is definatly the bug problem,could also do with a few more english channel's on the tv, itv1 iitv2 some night's just feel like chilling so at least you would have something to watch on tv,and really need better aircon we had to sleep every night with the door open but this is not something you could do when the mossie's are around,but in saying all this the staff on reception are so helpful they even book trip's for you without you even having to move out the door,ALSO BEWARE a little bit further along where the shop is there is a travel agent/money exchange" DON'T GIVE HIM YOU'RE CUSTOM HE IS THE RUDEST MAN I HAVE EVER CAME ACROSS" my cousin who is 73 an myself went to change £200 2 day's before my cousin gave a 50 euro note in the shop and they wouldn't change it,so when he gave me my euro's they were 50's so i asked him if he could change them to smaller before i had the chance to explain why we needed them he snatched all the money back and threw us out of the shop he was screaming at us saying he was not a bank it was awful my poor cousin who is not very well was in an awful state,AND FINALLY if you want luxury room's and luxury sunlounger's this is not the hotel for you!!!!!!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyholsmerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Gerente at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear customer, thank you for your complete revision of our hotel Marconfort Beach Club.
We tried all the clients make use of the desinfectant at the entrance of the restaurant and it is always the maitre at the door to ensure compliance with this.
Food temperatures are taken daily and are always correct.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have just got back from a week at this hotel with my husband and two teenage boys. The hotel is in a great location, right on the beach and about 30 mins stroll into the centre of Torremolinos but a bus into town stops right outside the hotel and taxis are easy to get if you dont want to walk. The hotel was clean and we found the staff very nice, The food was good with plenty of choice, sometimes too much !!
As for the 'bug', both myself and my son had one day where we were unwell but I put that down to the very hot sun, and over indulgence, my husband and other son were fine.
The pool was nice but a bit too cold. Most evenings we went out of the hotel to watch the Euro 2012 football in the bars so I cant comment on the entertainment.
The holiday was great value for money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Gerente at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Jane :
Thank you very much for your very complete review of the Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
We have a wide selection of food in our Restaurant and our Chef does indeed do an excellent job catering for all tastes and nationalities. Thank you once again and hope to see you on a future occasion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on the 6th June. When we arrived around 2.00pm we were immediately given our all inclusive armbands so we could have lunch which was a great selection of cold and hot dishes, salads and desserts with any drink you could ask for.
The pool area was really clean and there were enough sunbeds for everyone.
The bar staff at the pool were more than friendly and were happy to make any drink you asked for.
The dinner selection was just as good as the lunch.
The bedrooms were quite basic but very clean and had everything you needed.
Breakfast was more than ample with well cooked food.
i would certainly recommend this hotel although it was a bit of a walk to the main shops but if you are an able person it is no problem

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennycraig25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Gerente at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Jenny,
Thanks for your comments in Tripadvisor
. We hope that the next time will stay with us longer and so you can enjoy more widely in all our services, we will try to continue to improve
King Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,601 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,241 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#22 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,574 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marconfort Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Beach Club Hotel

Address: Calle Hotel Pontinental s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £80 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconfort Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel is located on the promenade in Torremolinos and is known for its excellent all-inclusive. It has three outdoor pools and direct access to Playamar beach. The guestrooms are bright and spacious, with panoramic views and a furnished balcony, as well as bathroom with hairdryer. It also offers a satellite TV with international channels, a safe for rent and free WiFi access. The resort features a wide range of daytime and nighttime entertainment. It has a poolside terrace with loungers, a gym, a heated pool, and a sauna (open seasonally). It also has a playground, a game room with billiards and darts, mini golf and free bike rental. The buffet restaurant offers a great variety of specialties like an Italian corner, a kebab corner, international cuisine and live-cooking show, as well as an adult only area. The hotel also has two more bars, one of them besides the pool. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, and the hotel has a tourist information desk with tour bookings and car rental. The hotel is one mile from city centre and only three miles from Malaga airport. It also offers car and bike rental, plus free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marconfort Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Torremolinos
Beach Club Torremolinos
Torremolinos Beach Hotel
Torremolinos Beach Club Hotel
Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing