We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, and not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Overall, we were a little disappointed with our stay, but not enough to spoil our holiday. We both suffered for 48 hours with some bug going around, but we were prepared with appropriate medicines.The management are trying hard with lots of cleaning etc.
On the hotel itself, it is some way short of 4 star, and has a bit of a seventies Spanish Hotel feel to it. Our sheets were not changed in 7 days, but the rest of the room was well cleaned, with fresh towels daily.The TV channels were rubbish, with only CBS Action, and surprisingly Al Jazeera providing the news. We had to watch the World Cup matches in spanish, or go out to another bar.Another thing that all our previous 4 star hotel holidays have had is pool towels. This should be a must for what we paid. the pool area itself was a bit grubby, with a greasy tide mark round the plastic edge of the pool, probably sun cream from the swimmers. Each morning, there were still a few fag ends, and used drinking straws here and there from the day before. They swilled the area down each evening but no evidence of disinfectant or brushing down.
The gym facilities were poor with old fashioned equipment and the outdoor mini golf and table tennis were laughable with 2 foot of grass growing under the table.
The food and drink were fine for us too, and the entertainment was OK, especially the Four Tops tribute band. The strangest act was a kind of illusionist, with two assistants doing acrobatic tricks. The red full length lycra trousers he had on were amazing on a 120kg man.
The hotel is in a good place close to the beach, and we were only disturbed once by the late night music from a nearby beach bar. I would not recommend this hotel, especially for younger guests, and I think many of the guests who return time and again, are acting on sentiment, remembering this hotel what is was like in years past. I really think it needs to move with the times, get a makeover of the public areas, and then it might shine as a 4 star.

Room Tip: Higher floor with sea view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank theblackpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Theblackpoodle:

Thanks for sharing your opinion.

We regret that we have not achieved all your expectations, but from here we can let know you that we always take good note to always improve as much as possible.

Amazes me the fact that tells me about the change of sheets, since we maintain a strict program of change of sheets, will personally look to see what happened, it could be due to a terrible failure on our part, for which I ask my most sincere apologies.

Regarding the British channels TV signal I have to let know you that it is totally alien to the Hotel, not at reception have information printed in the British press, where they explain that the stations in this country have shaded the entire South of Spain, yet are trying by all means to recover the reception of these channels but really complicated and I repeat through no fault of the Hotel.

We regret that the furniture and the decoration was not to your liking, the hotel was completely renovated in furniture from rooms in the year 2012, as well as much of the furniture of common areas and structure, it is true that the gym is the area that we need to update but now you can confirm new machinery for the use and enjoyment of our customers coming in this week.

At all times our cleaning staff is constantly monitoring public areas and pool, although it may occur that, momentarily, has dropped a plastic cup, but are removed as soon as possible, yet we will strengthen more if possible monitoring to improve in this aspect.

We reiterate our thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again, we assure you that we do our utmost to achieve your expectations to the fullest.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,543 - 1,549 of 3,230 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have just returned home from a 4 night stay at this hotel and I had a brilliant time. It was mine and my boyfriends first holiday away on our own in a foreign country and the hotel staff made us feel as ease.

Although when we first arrived at the hotel there was a fault with the computer system and then couldn't check people in (this wasn't explained at first) so they asked us if we wanted to move to a different hotel for the night. Being our first time away on our own we refused and said we wanted to stay in this hotel, after a row with the receptionist (he was telling us we had no choice and had to stay in another hotel) we got it sorted. We were told we couldn't have our room for a few hours and to leave our cases in the luggage room. After we got our bedroom everything was fine.

The food.
There was plenty of options to choose from if you were willing to try different foods. They did have a little bit of English food but it was the same most days. The pizza and kebab stand is a great idea and the pizza was lovely.
After reading some reviews on here I was worried about the sickness bug that people were saying they had caught but before you go into the dining area there are hand sanitizers on the wall to use. We had no issues with illness whilst there.

The entertainment.
The entertainment in the hotel was brilliant. There was activities on during the day for both children and adults and then from 9pm every night then had a mini children's disco and a game of bingo (over 18's only) before the main entertainment started.

The pool area.
Although there were signs up in the hotel saying they didn't allow sun beds to reserved it still happened, every morning at breakfast all the sun beds around the pool already had towels on them so if you hadn't been down and reserved one you had to sit round near the bar and entertainment stage but the sun was still on you all the time so it wasn't really a problem unless you had young children to watch in the pool.

All in all I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and I do want to go back and stay for a full week. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a relax in the sun and the beach right across the road.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Jasmine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Jasmine C:

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion as well as the deference in choosing us to these days of your vacation.

I want to ask you my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had the day of arrival, but we truly had a bug in the system that produced us this small disorder, but fortunately everything was solved.

On the other hand, we are pleased that have fully enjoyed your stay and the facilities and services have been to your liking.

With respect to some comments about stomach illness, and thank you for clarifying that it is not a problem of the Hotel, I already want to also seize the moment to reassure all readers that there is no risk in the Hotel, and thus you have seen it personally.

We reiterate our thanks for your comments and description of the Hotel as well as your personal experience at Marconfort, we hope to see you again soon, we will be happy to greet you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

A group of 4 of us recently returned from this resort. We enjoyed the evening entertainment, bingo, location and availability of sunbeds. The rooms were fine. We were looking for a cheap and cheerful all inclusive jolly and on the surface, this is what we received.

Unfortunately all members of the party became ill with food poisoning symptoms after the first day, which laid us all out for the next 2 days. Very disappointing for a 3 day trip. We are all experienced travellers who are used to world foods. There were sanitisers placed everywhere in the hotel that we used frequently but to no avail.

Additionally the location and time of year made the resort prone to very high winds, meaning any time spent outside was spent clutching to our drinks and belongings so that they didn't blow into the pool. When we left our sunbed to go into the pool, the bed itself nearly blew in, culling any hope of relaxation. We found one spot that reduced the effect of the wind, but the majority of the resort saw parasols and belongings blowing around.

If we had not become ill, and were not aware of scores of other holiday makers becoming ill, I would have scored this hotel as 4. However, we will not be returning to this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank AnnoneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear AnnoneW:

Thanks for sharing your opinion.

We regret that no we have been able to achieve in its entirety all your expectations, as we regret that part of you suffer some anomaly gastric coincidentally with your stay, but with all our respect we cannot allow you to expose here that it is due to food poisoning on our part, this accusation is especially severe technical basis, and I mention you respect since there are measures strict safety and hygiene as well as audits in the Hotel daily that he considers Spanish law.

I sincerely inform you there is any anomaly in our daily test reports of power and that our facilities are prepared some 2,700 meals per day, corresponding to the supply of all services to almost more than 600 customers per day, ensuring you that with this rotation all products are fresh and prepared daily, respecting all safety and hygiene parameters set by law at all times.

I reiterate our apologies if she liked our Hotel, we will continue to work hard to improve as much as possible in order to make comfortable and happy holidays to our customers, which in their large numbers who visit us always and repetitively can verify that any relationship with any symptom of the disease is outside the Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our second time at the hotel ,our 1st visit being Nov 2013.Really enjoyed our first visit and wasn't disappointed this time
Very pleasant relaxing and friendly environment.
The food is of an excellent standard and it would be hard not to find something for everyones individual taste.
The staff are always helpful.
Bedrooms and ensuites are clean and tidy
Three small complaints
It specifies trousers are to be worn for dinner however many men were wearing shorts and beach wear
Children were dining in the adult only area of the dining room
Our room was situated over the dining room which was very noisey at night which I can only guess is due to the generator.
Many people were complaining of sickness and diarrhoea and were quick to point blame on the hotel.However the hotel insists people use the sanitizer machine on entering the dining room I lost count of the amount of people I observed not doing so.There were also people walking barefooted in the hotel toilets and many not using hand hygiene techniques .Maybe people should think about how fast gems spread.
I shall be returning to the Hotel later in the year for another lovely chill out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kjp767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Kjp767:

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion, as well as your loyalty to our hotel, we love to see repetitive customers like you.

We are pleased that both facilities and services have been to your liking, and let know you about the code of dress at dinner, it's true we recommend long pants, even if we consider also the area and the heat of the summer, used pants style bermuda, provided that it is not swimwear.

We apologize for being unable to control all our customers to make a proper use of code of poise, we always try to inform and attract the attention of those people who go barefoot in public areas or bathrooms, as well as without shirts or those that do not perform the appropriate hygiene rules, we will try to strengthen the supervision on this issue.We thank you that through your opinion help us educate our visitors better, that I have to say that they are generally very correct at all times.

We hope that we keep visiting and choosing us for your holiday, we will be happy to greet you and give our best to make your experience Marconfort as comfortable and happy as posible.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

just returned from the marconfort five of us,having spent a lovely week, all member of staff went out of their way to make are stay enjoyable, the reception staff was so helpful. we had rooms 710 & 714 was lovely and clean, food nice drink good, the hotel run so well, that was down to the manager, looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susancardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Susancardo:

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion, as well as your deference in choosing us for your holiday.

We are pleased to make your stay in the hotel you have been to your liking and that both facilities and services have reached your expectations.

Thank you for your beautiful words to us, this gives us more strength yet to improve further if it is to benefit always to offer our customers a comfortable and happy stay.

We hope to see you again, we will be happy to greet you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel this year and on both occasions I have enjoyed my stays and will be booking again to stay at this hotel. The hotel is located directly on the beach front with numerous bars/restaurants within easy walking distance. The sea front can be accessed via a door in the pool area, the room ‘key’ being used to re-enter the hotel area.

The rooms are a reasonable size and clean but the bathrooms could do with some updating. Rooms with pool views get the sun in the afternoon and can get quite warm into the early evening. Each room has a safe which costs 2.50 euro a day to rent.

I booked as an all-inclusive package. The bar is well stocked and tea/coffee is also available. The all-inclusive package does cover the period’s 09.00 – 24.00 hrs.

The hotel has a large self-service restaurant and the meals are varied and with a wide selection, hot, cold and vegetarian. Drinks are available within the restaurant.

The hotel has a large pool area and there were always sunbeds and chairs available at any time of the day.

There is a bus stop directly outside of the hotel and the buses are frequent and cheap to use to either Torremelinos or Benelmadena (1.22 euro or 1.55 euro respectively each). It takes about 10 to 20 minutes by bus to the respective centres. The walk back from the centre of Torremelinos is pleasant along the front and can take about 20 – 30 minutes.

All the staff are efficient and polite with the reception and bar staff having a good understanding/knowledge of English.

Wi-Fi is available for free in the reception area. As the ‘World Cup’ was on during our stay, a room with a large screen/projection area (approx. 15’ x 8’) was available.

Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: High floor with side sea view and pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank et79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel reception is misleading as it is upto date, but the rooms are far from it, the hotel is rated 4 star but is only a 3, the restaurant is spacious but the food is nothing to shout about ( have eaten in better 3 star hotels) did not rate entertainment, beach is great as is just across road and the buses stop outside to access the neighbouring towns.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Sueeric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#26 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,134 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marconfort Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Beach Club Hotel

Address: Calle Hotel Pontinental s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £70 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconfort Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel is located on the promenade in Torremolinos and is known for its excellent all-inclusive. It has three outdoor pools and direct access to Playamar beach. The guestrooms are bright and spacious, with panoramic views and a furnished balcony, as well as bathroom with hairdryer. It also offers a satellite TV with international channels, a safe for rent and free WiFi access. The resort features a wide range of daytime and nighttime entertainment. It has a poolside terrace with loungers, a gym, a heated pool, and a sauna (open seasonally). It also has a playground, a game room with billiards and darts, mini golf and free bike rental. The buffet restaurant offers a great variety of specialties like an Italian corner, a kebab corner, international cuisine and live-cooking show, as well as an adult only area. The hotel also has two more bars, one of them besides the pool. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, and the hotel has a tourist information desk with tour bookings and car rental. The hotel is one mile from city centre and only three miles from Malaga airport. It also offers car and bike rental, plus free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Onthebeach, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marconfort Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Torremolinos
Beach Club Torremolinos
Torremolinos Beach Hotel
Torremolinos Beach Club Hotel
Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing