We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty poor, money-grabbing, but with a couple of redeeming features”
Review of Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Principe
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pretty poor, money-grabbing, but with a couple of redeeming features”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We booked a room with a pool view (cheaper), a big mistake. They are located in the old part of the hotel, which used to be a 3 star hotel before they added the new buildings (according to the tourist map in the centre of Torremolinos). Now they have magically become part of a so-called 4 star hotel. The room (for 4) was clean, but small, in a bad state of repair and it smelt a bit strange. The children were expected to sleep on a tiny sofabed with a very thin mattress. I wouldn't want my children sleeping on something that appeared to be so uncomfortable. The corridors outside the rooms had lino floors, which is not what you would expect in a hotel, more like a hospital or a school... We went back to the lobby and complained, they said we could upgrade to one of the newer rooms for a charge, I think it was 15€ a night. My wife, being Spanish, made a long (long) speech and eventually they gave it to us for free, and as a party of 4 we ended up in one of the family rooms right overlooking the beach, with an absolutely fantastic view over the beach and coastline. The room, although much better, was still in a pretty shabby state, not what you would expect in a 4 star hotel. At least it had 2 double beds though.
The location right on the beach is good, a bit of a trek from the centre of town (station), but its only really a problem if you are carrying luggage or pushing a buggy. Or if you have no idea which way to go to get to the hotel.
There is a new outdoor pool, which is stunning, probably one of the nicest in the area. Plenty of spare sunbeds in April, not too sure about in summer though... Indoor pool was just ok. Kids entertainment club was free only a couple of hours in the morning, otherwise it was paid. It seemed ok - the staff here were lovely, the best in the hotel (compared to the front desk and restaurant staff this is not difficult though!!) Apart from the staff, the lobby is also very nice.
We were B&B, bit the menus showed prices for all-inclusive - if you are AI you will still end up paying a lot for many of your drinks. Internet access is expensive, either wifi or using the lobby desktops - don't bother unless you have extra money, in which case you would put it to much better use by staying in a nicer hotel. The hotel is BIG and so is the restaurant. We were there in low season, probably much less than 50% occupancy, and we didnt have to wait for breakfast, but there were a couple of times when we had to hunt for a table. I would imagine in the height of summer it is not unlike hell on earth.. I would not stay here again, even in low season. If you have young children, they would probably not complain much about being here though. If you stay here, good luck!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms around the pool, they are old, in a bit of a state and they smell funny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cygloev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Hello cygloev,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that you had some disappointing comments to make. Please rest assured we have taken all your points on board for immediate consideration as this was clearly not up to our usual standards. We have been fortunate to receive many complimentary reviews since the hotel was refurbished in 2007 and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a second visit.

Sincerely

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    1,251
    680
    196
    132
See reviews for
1,774
872
49
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We have just returned from 8 nights at the Sol Principe and have to say that we really enjoyed our time there. The rooms were small and basic but had everything you would need including a fridge and we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. There is a safe in the room which costs €23 for the week and you get €5 back when you return the key. We did not avail of the safe however and felt secure in leaving our belongings out of the safe.

Also wifi is payable extra which I found interesting considering it is such a big 4 star hotel, I thought they could have had at least free wifi in the lobby but no, you had to pay to use the wifi. €5 euro a day or €20 for the week or €30 for two weeks. And be warned, if you do get wifi, do not throw away the ticket with the password as it kept logging out on me and I had to re-enter the password on numerous occasions so keep the slip of paper until your wifi time runs out.

we were on a bed & breakfast basis and the buffet style breakfast had everything you could possibly want. There was a great choice of food for everyone.

We did have a wander into the restaurant for Lunch but the food did not look to our taste to we opted to eat out for lunch everyday with some lovely cafes & restaurants near by.

Location wise, the hotel is perfect for those wanting to make use of the beach, literally straight across the road! we did find it a nice walk into the centre of torremolinos and we didn't mind the walk being a young couple, however doing this walk with young children might get a bit tiring! In saying that the hotel itself and its facilities seems to be perfect for families. Nice kiddies pools with slides and a shallow end to the main pool. The Kids club appeared to be well run and all of the kids while we were there seemed to really enjoy it and looked forward to going to it. The entertainment staff were excellent, always full of energy, I do not know how they keep going and have that much enthusiasm and energy all the time. They encourage you to take part in the daily activities without pestering you if you say no.

If you don't fancy the walk into the centre, a taxi will cost €6 and a taxi to the La Carihuela area will cost you €8 or you can walk along the promenade for about 35 mins to get into the main La Carihuela area.

La Carihuela is most definitely worth at least one visit. The restaurants and Chiringuitos along the promenade are lovely and you will be spoilt for choice as to where to eat. some nice shops along here for gifts also.

Not sure how often the rooms are serviced as we did not require our room to be serviced everyday but we did have a change of linen twice and got fresh towels everyday. All staff that we came across were friendly.

We did not experience any delays in reception at check in or check out however, at times there was a big queue which is to be expected if there are a number of guests checking in or out at any one time.

There is a supersol supermarket across the road from the back entrance to the hotel and this is much cheaper than the shops in the hotel and the shops on the promenade near the gate to the hotel. so if you are needing to stock up on water etc... go to the supersol.

Entertainment in the hotel nightly to suit families near the lagoon pool and an older crowd 50+ maybe on the terrace. there is music nightly on the terrace. There is also a smaller quieter pool near the promenade side of the hotel and is perfect for those who do not want the hustle and bustle around the main pool.

Overall we enjoyed the hotel and loved the lagoon pool area which was what made us book here to begin with. Would return here again even if it is a bit far out of the centre and would like to see free wifi, if even only in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernieonabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Sol Príncipe hotel.

I am pleased that you found your stay enjoyable and our facilities were good for you. My Restaurant Manager will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We appreciate your comments about our staff, entertainment and lagoon pool. We take note of your opinion about the wifi, we will study it.

I do hope to welcome you back to Sol Príncipe hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

What a great family hotel! It has been our 3rd year running we have spent a week at the Sol Principe - staff and service was fantastic especially as I was unwell and they were so kind and helpful!
Reception can be slow. But the rooms are always clean and the breakfast selection excellent. Well situated to get to the beach.
Looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views seem to be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Allison H,

Thank you for your brilliant review of your experience at Sol Príncipe Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to see that you enjoyed your holidays with us for so long. I am delighted that the staff has been able to make it a memorable visit for you.

We look forward to you joining us again at Sol Príncipe

Kind regards,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We went for a 10 day holiday and it is the fourth time we have stayed at the hotel. The hotel is perfect for families and our children love the pool! we had a sea view family room with a fantastic view and large balcony. The hotel is very clean. Reception can be a little slow but all the staff are very friendly. We went half board and the food was good it does get repetitive but most hotels do! We only saw the magic show one evening and the children enjoyed this. The location is perfect close to the beach and near enough to walk to the town and the next resort. We would definitely recommend the hotel and we hope to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: higher floors have a better view. Family sea view rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heaton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Heaton2011,

I would like to thank you very much for giving us your review and thanks for having chosen Sol Príncipe for enjoy your holidays for so long.
It is a big pleasure for us to read your opinion about the hotel, specially the good comments, about the room, pools, and staff kindness.

We take note of your comments, we will study them, your opinion is so important for us.

Looking forward to see you again in Sol Príncipe

Kind Regards

José Fermín Gómez. General manager Sol Príncipe hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

just got back from 4 night break at sol principe hotel torremolinos check in was a bit slow not enough staff for checkins and day to day stuff looked like to me but thought hotel was very good on the whole very clean plenty lifts paid for seaview always do and was not disapointed nice private balcony ,did not have to pay for fridge charge for safe though, aircon seem to go off at night when in bed puzzling only stayed b&b but very nice bread not very nice which i found unusual for spain normaally very good, self service drinks which were ok staff slow to clear tables though annoying. shops out to lagoon pool plentiful pool very good ,fred flintstone theme for kids and park, wheelchair friendly resort pretty flat beach right across road I always like beds and a brolly on beach these had thick mattresses and only charged 8 euros which i thought very resonable all in all very enjoyable break would not hesitate to book again

Room Tip: I always try to get higher rooms with seaview just finishes day off
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micnsues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear micnsues,

My name is José Fermín Gómez. I am the general manager of Sol Príncipe hotel. Thank you very much for enjoy your holidays with us, and than you to post your review on trip advisor. We treat the feedback we get with great importance and appreciate comments such as yours are vital for us.

We look forward to see you again in our hotel.
Sincerely

José Fermín Gómez. General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

So this was our second stay at the Sol Principe.......the hotel was great, pool was fab and the public areas really clean and to a high standard. My only comment was that the crowd were older, and they didnt seem to cater for younger people...I dont mean kids as the kids club seemed very popular. Most of the entertainment in the evening appeared to be some club singer style on an organ ! Not my cup of tea and this seemed to be a bit samey night after night...Would be good if they catered for a younger crowd.....not 18 - 30's....but maybe 30 - 50's......that was my only adverse comment. Reception staff where awesome, great local knowledge and very helpful with advise as one of our party was disabled. Our room was better than first visit, we had sea view on the 8th floor overlooking the beach and Malaga. We upgraded for 70 euros which between 3 of us we though was a bargain. Great hotel........oh but the food cafe by the main pool....food is pants !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Darren S,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. I will share this comments with reception staff, for sure they will be so happy for read it.

We take note about all your suggestions, we will study them.

We will hope to see you again for a third time very soon,

Sincerely

José Fermín Gómez. General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,744 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#25 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe

Property: Sol Principe
Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Melia, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing