We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Principe by Melia
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for a week, my daughter who is 5 loved the hotel, the kids club and entertainment during the day and at night was just brilliant. Perfect for families, you wouldn't have to leave the hotel, so much happening. we stayed in a hotel room but would get a self catering appartment if I was going again as the rooms are quiet small but nice. Would go to this hotel again and would defiantly recommend

Room Tip: Book a self catering apartment or a bigger room, make use of kids club they are brilliant and entert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Healy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Healy M,
Thank you for your kind review of Sol Príncipe hotel. We are thrilled that you like your family holidays with us.

We love that you enjoy with our entertainment team and shows, as you know we are introducing new activities and spectacles every year.

We look forward to see you again very soon.

Sincereley,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 3,570 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

A pleasant modern, clean hotel with decent buffet food for the 4 days. Sea view room was spacious and clean with a useful fridge and great views from the balcony. Good public lounges and 3 swimming pools, one of which tended to be just for adults.Only downside was the placing of towels on sun beds before breaskfast, this needs to be managed by the hotel as some beds had towels and no occupants until after lunch!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on the block adjacent to the tennis courts, ask for a sea view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayfanDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Holidayfansderbys,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
I am pleased that you liked Sol Príncipe and enjoy in our pools.

Regarding your comments, about the occupancy of sun beds, I would like to tell you that the hotel have a policy in order to be fair with all our guests, it is not allowed to book sunbeds and we are already implement a process to avoid that.

I hope to see you again in your next visit to Costa del Sol

Kind regards

José Fermín Gómez

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed with a party of 4 adults and a 3 year old for two weeks 31/5/13 to 14/6/13.Good clean hotel,food nice and staff always polite.I booked through Travel Republic,however,who catagorically insisted that All In basis was not available at this hotel but on arrival I found out that it was.I should have gone through Jet 2 who were clear and upfront about the board basis.I would definitely recommend the hotel though and will be going again.Paul P

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Hello paul p,
Thank you very much for enjoy your holidays in Sol Príncipe and for post your comments on trip advisor.
It is a real pleasure for us to know that you like our food, cleaning and staff. I will share your good review with the team of the hotel, for sure this they will encourage them to carry on working with passion and illusion.

I look forward to see you soon at Sol Príncipe.

Sincerely,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Have been to this hotel many times,year after year we continue going to this place.
We dont go for the food or the entertainment or the cleanliness or the location,even though these aspects of the hotel are first class(even though food could be great instead of good),we keep on returning to this Sol Hotel because it has the best pool in Torremolinos and maybe the best in the costa del sol!

The entertainment is great every night especially when the home produced shows are on like grease and Lion King which the hotels entertainment staff produce week in week out to a great standard.
see my photos

The food is a tricky part to explain about this hotel.
The quality of produce used is of a very high standard,fresh fish,meat veg etc etc but sometimes the cooking of the food and the combination used is a real let down,and this is one complaint i have year in year out when we visit.
I give some examples this years visit:
Fresh fish cooked too fast sometimes was not well done.
Chicken fillets grilled in front of you gets under cooked and is raw which is dangerous.
Both these things could be avoided with better timings when cooking,even if people have to wait longer but it would be safer.This happened with live cooking most of the days something was under cooked.
The excellent variety of food this week was spoilt with the worst pizza i have had in my life!
One of the pizzas that was cooked every day was great for kids but the other one with a green cheese topping(looked like cheese)was disgusting.Everyone was leaving this pizza on their plate.I do not know what topping was used but it tasted like perfume mixed with medicine.STILL IT WAS COOKED AND DISPLAYED EVERY DAY FOR LUNCH!
Basic cheese and ham,or ham pineapple would be enjoyed by everyone instead of this experiment.
Over cooked nuggets or San jacobs,which would not need to be over cooked.
Over fried chips.
As i said before easy things that could make this a great food hotel,they just dont seem to want that,they are happy with good food instead.
We stayed half board and always had lunch and went out for dinner.having kids we went to burger King one night,italian another and then 2 night we ate in the busy Calle San Miguel shopping street at different restaurants.(taxi from hotel is 5 euros 6 weekends to this street)

The hotel cleaners are the best ever.Really clean rooms this year and pool area never a dirty place to be seen.
We stayed in the family rooms area overlooking probably the best pool in Torremolinos.
Rooms have twin beds and two sofa beds for the kids,a round table with four chairs to eat and a big enough fridge to stock up from the Supersol supermarket outside the hotel on the road.

THE LAGOON POOL:
Great pool capacity 700 persons.Very clean and spacious with sunbeds for everyone that gets up before 9.30am to "book" one.
Pool entertainment every day for everyone .
We love this pool it makes you feel as if you are not in Spain but in the Caribbean.
Times with life guard 11am to 8pm.
See my photos
THE BACK POOL:
This pool is the original pool this hotel had and has never changed.Very peaceful and quiet part of the hotel no entertainment in this part of the hotel.Capacity of pool is 90 persons.
From here a door leads to the beaches and Paseo Maritimo (beach walk).
see my photos.

The hotel has a coin launderette next to reception and a Music bar.Also leading to the lagoon pool and the family rooms there is a arcade with various shops and services like Hairdressers ,massage and cosmetics clinic and toy shop. see my photos

Even though family rooms are a bit outdated they are great for families and all overlook the pool.(should be refurbished sooner than later)
I paid 533 euros h/b for 4 nights 4 persons,i think good value direct booking from their site.


All in all a great holiday with my wife and kids and just hoping to save for next year to go again,just wish the food "mistakes"could be taken care off.

SOL PRINCIPE WELL DONE AGAIN!

Room Tip: family rooms have a bigger kitchen if you are going room only so you can stock up with drinks etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlennRGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear guest

First of all thank you very much for giving us your review about positive aspects.
And also I want to thank you for you are our regular guest and every time you come to our hotel and trust us your holidays.

I am very glad that you like so much our Swimmingpool Lake and enjoyed it this time. Indeed it is a magnificent pool and one of the best on the coast.

I'm so sorry that you could not fully enjoy the cuisine of our restaurant. I take note about your restaurant comments. I also will give your review to our restaurant staff to study and improve cooking quality.
We will de glad to see you again in Sol Principe Hotel.

Kind regards,
José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Principe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed in one of the modernised blocks and had a great time and room nice and spotlessly clean, although apparently there are a couple of low rise blocks by the pool which are unmodernised and not recommended. entertainment pretty well done and we saw one excellent show and a couple of average shows. Great entertainment for kids though.

Food very varied and enjoyable.

Lovely pool areas.

Fab location for beach but bus or cab ride into town.

All in all, very enjoyable and would definately would stay with Melia hotels again.

Room Tip: ask to be in the main renovated blocks, with good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Julie E,

Nothing makes us happier than reading you have enjoyed your stay with us in Sol Príncipe
We hope to see you again the next time you will come to Torremolinos
Best regards

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at the Principe Sol for 5 nights from the 30th of May, and I cannot fault this hotel. It is spotlessly clean and so well catered for families & couples. We stayed in the hotel part and although the rooms are small, we were NEVER in the room as there is so much to do not just in the hotel but also the area it is located. We have a little boy, and the childrens pools are the best of all the places I have stayed, with little slides and water sprays to keep them entertained. It was busy but because the pool area is massive there was room for everyone ( 5 pools in total). We went full board, and again the food was fine no issues. On site there was a childrens play area and kids club and everynight great shows for all the family. The location itself is super, the promenade is lovely for walks and along the promenade there is lovely little play areas for children as well as a beautiful beach. I highly reccommend this hotel for a family holiday. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COYLEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Sol Príncipe, I would like to thank you for having chosen Sol Príncipe for you stay at Costa del Sol.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that you felt very comfortable in our hotel and you enjoyed our services. We always work hard to meet guest expectations and it is a pleasure to know that in this occasion we have reached it.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

we stayed as a couple from 9th june till 16th june in room 2112 safe went wrong 4 times drove us mad as made loud bleeping noise one night so did not get much sleep hotel tried to fix this but without much luck. in the end we asked for the safe to be turned off and got our full money back.hotel full of kids what a nightmare when you went for your evening meal why cant people control children any more.Room was very small but good thing free fridge,but it was not cleaned very well most days room not ready till after 4pm balcony only just enough room for 2 was dusty I don't think it had been cleaned for some time,we had to clean chairs on balcony before we could use. have been to a lot better 4star hotel. last of all food not good same sweets every night salad bar poor one night chichen breasts like rubber no taste to any off the food also ran out of food E.G potatoes and had to wait 20mins before they re filled also food could be hotter, had to pick through to get clean plates as no one must check when plates and cutlery and wine glasses come out of the dish washers most nights had to clean glass with napkins. staff not very friendly in hotel we did not stay in the hotel in the evening as drinks were cheaper outside hotel. every lunch time we went to the nearby Tudor Rose café English run great food a must for lunch time snack.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazda05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Hello mazda05,

My name is José Fermín Gómez. I am the general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel. Thank you for spend you time sharing your opinion about your experience at Sol Príncipe.

We read carefully your comments and we take note about your review, to prevent it from happening in the future. I shared your comments with the heads of the departments and the joins me in apologising if you didn’t like the experience in the hotel
Also we apologize for the inconvenient with the staff. Our customer service philosophy is to make the guest’s experience enjoyable, we will keep working hard for our guest’s satisfactory.

Our main objective is to offer the best service to all our guests, and reach your expectations.

We hope to see you again in Sol Príncipe.

Sincerely

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,524 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#27 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe by Melia

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £39 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Principe by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe
Sol Principe By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing