We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Principe by Melia
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here earlier this week (June 2013) with our young boys. This hotel is not cheap but it does provide good value for your money.

Reception:
There is a lot of complaints on trip advisor regarding reception at this hotel and our experience was mixed. There was no queue at the desk when we arrived and it still took 20 minutes to get sorted. That said they we found them quite helpful and friendly with one BIG exception. The day before we left we asked at reception if we could book a taxi for the next morning to take us to the airport. They said no but gave us two options 1. ring for a taxi in the morning (only takes 5 mins) or 2. get the bus from the road outside the hotel entrance. We opted for option 2 and was told that we could get the airport bus across the road at 8.30am. The next morning as we were checking out we asked again about the bus and was told that the bus was a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel and a map was provided showing the location. Having been given two different bits of info regarding the bus I went back to the desk and asked another person there which was correct. The third person seemed more sure and said that the bus passes the hotel entrance on the other side of the road at 8.30am but does not stop but may do if waved down. Anyway by 8.40 I waved down a taxi and as we were driving off the bus passed on the opposite side of the road to what we had been told.
If the hotel management read this PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make sure your staff are giving correct and consistent information. It is the small details like this that give a great hotel like yours 4/5 instead of 5/5.

Room:
We took a family room with the pool view in the older part of the hotel which was more 3 star than 4 star but it was clean and adequate for our needs. The balcony was big enough for two people to sit out on and overlooked the entertainment stage which we found handy when the boys were tired and went to bed early.

Pool:
Magnificent. The pool area really is great. Its big, clean, well laid out and fantastic fun. if you are going on a sun holiday you need a good pool and this is the best ive seen. The life guards are excellent. They are strict but not to the point that they stop kids having good fun. Get there early in the morning (8.30am) to book the best spots but you must stay. Placing towels on sun loungers and leaving is not allowed.

Food:
We were room only so did not eat too much in the hotel. When we did we snacked at the snack bars and this was pretty poor. Some people we met that were fully inclusive said that the food in the hotel restaurants was pretty good.

Drink:
Expensive but good. Bar staff are friendly.

Entertainment:
Best ive seen at a sun resort hotel but we found it more suited to adults than kids.

Sleep:
The room was of adequate size and clean. The shower was one of those in the bath showers but it was superb. I love a good shower and it was like standing under a waterfall. Plenty of towels. Kitchenette in the room was OK. Only complaint was that the air conditioning was a little noisy but not too loud that it kept anyone awake.

Facilities: Pool, shops, small games room, kids club, playground (death trap, but they usually are in continental Europe), pool side activities, check website

Location:
Close to the beach, bars, restaurants, shops etc (eat in Ciao Bella Italian Restaurant, its fab)

General comment:
Great Hotel and if this place is on your maybe list just choose it. There may be some small things that annoy but all the good bits are here to enjoy.

Would we stay at this hotel again..... Yes
Would we recommend it..... yes

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank imalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear imalways,

My name is Jose Fermín Gómez. I am the General manager of Sol Principe Hotel.
Thank you very much for your great and detailed comments about our hotel and staff. I am very glad you enjoyed your staying in the hotel and received a lot of positive emotions. I think that all travelers will be interested to read your very informative review. It is a pity that you did not have food in our hotel, because our restaurant chefs are real professionals. We have very good meal and
usually prepare tradicional and typical spanish dishes.

I am so glad that you liked so much your room and really enjoyed all the benefits and of course our fantastic lagoon style pool.
We apologize for our staff at the front desk gave you the wrong information and confused you. We will give them your review to study to avoid similar mistakes in the future.
Hope to see you at the hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely.
José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Principe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 3,566 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Can only agree with most comments about this hotel. Exceptionally clean, good food with a wide variety both at breakfast and evening meal and hot. Check-in was swift and efficient and even though we arrived at 12.00pm our room was ready for us so it was a quick change into shorts and t=shirts for a nice stroll along the promenade to Benalmedena harbour - takes about 45mins,
This hotel is at the quieter end of Torremolinos which we prefered but you are only about 10mins to center and upto the square (by the steps but there is a lift). The beach is like the rest ot Torremolinos, very clean. It was only 8euros for 2 sunbeds (with a thick matress on) and parasol and was only busy on Sunday when all the locals came to the beach, but still not too busy.
Happy hour at the hotel was great for when you've just come off the beach a couple of nice cocktails was just perfect.
Just one little gripe and this is the same at any hotel = towels on sunbeds!! There were plenty of beds but the ones with parasols were always reserved, people leaving towels on and not using them until afternoon - how selfish. But as I say, an excellent holiday in an excellent hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jools2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Hello,
My name is José Fermín Gómez, I am the General Manager of Sol Principe Hotel.
Thank you very much for having written us such nice comments about your vacation and our hotel. We are very pleased that you liked the city of Torremolinos, the neighbourhood and beach Playamar next to our hotel.
In accordance with your comments about sunbeds, as you know the hotel has a policy. We have our pool staff helps with the distribution of sunbeds to avoid any disagreeable issue.
Thank you for your review again. The hotel staff and I will hope to see you soon in Sol Principe Hotel.
Sincerely , José Fermín Gómez. General Manager of Sol Principe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I have just returned to the UK after spending two weeks staying at the Sol P. This hotel is big very very big. Three tower blocks and an apartment block with two swimming pools. It should be said that the larger of the two pools is more like a lagoon than a pool.

I stayed away from the lagoon as it is a big favourite with kids.

The foyer is large and manned day and night by very professional and friendly staff. The bedrooms are clean and smart if a little on the small side. They do have a mini fridge which is great for your drinks. The bathroom was well fitted out with a hairdryer and good shower.

If you have a money card which is the best way to carry your cash, then leave the hotel via the foyer and exit the car park. As you leave the car park turn left and you have a BBVA bank with an internal ATM. A little further up the road is a Caja Mar bank with an ATM which automatically detects English money cards and from then on everything is in English and it auto gives you Euros. If you use Sterling you will pay a fee each time so go for Euros.

Dont buy any drinks on the Paseo, use the little supermarket by these banks and you will find everything is a lot cheaper.

There is a large stylish looking bar in the hotel but I was charged 17 Euros for a Jack D and coke.

The entertainment is by the lagoon and changes each night, I found the Flamenco very interesting but as this hotel caters for large amounts of Spanish people other programmes are all in Spanish.

The Restaurant is something else, the largest I have ever seen with cold counters hot counters fruit counters quite amazing really. However I have to say I only opted for the breakfast, which was the best I have ever had. Sausage, bacon, fried eggs, mashed egg, tomatoes, Toasted ham sandwich, Mushrooms and beans. There is also a cold meat counter for the more European minded. The fruit counter consisted of every type of fruit you could imagine. I have to add I did not participate of everything at once, but I am 8 pounds heavier.

The only downside to this lovely hotel is the fact it has only small sunbathing areas and many guests get up in the early morning to place towels on the loungers. They are not German as well. The hotel tried to get around this by chaining the loungers together until 9am.

The hotel is in a good spot right across the road from the beach with some nice restaurants at hand.

All in all a very good hotel, with lifts that always seem to be there when you want them.


Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Hello tpm45
We thank you for your nice review of our hotel and your vacation. I am so glad that you have chosen our hotel for your holiday, and we justified your confidence and I am glad that you were able to enjoy all the facilities and benefits,
Very pleased to read your positive feedback, and not only to me but also to our future guests.
Thank you for your review again. I would like to see you again in Sol Principe .
Sincerely
José Fermín Gómez, General manager Sol Principe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Had a wonderful time at this hotel. Everything you would want in a hotel. The most impressive thing was they had a good system for the sunbeds. They were chained up until 9 in the morning and when unchained there was still plenty for everyone. If you were not at you sunbed a note left and if you did not return within that hour your towels were taken off the bed such a fair system. Was great not getting up at the crack of dawn to get a bed.

Room was cleaned everyday, breakfast great choice (only went for bed and breakfast) check in was quick and efficient.

All in all had a great time and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weemo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Hello Weemo 16,

Thank you for post your good opinion about our hotel on Trip Advisor. We like that you appreciate our sunbeds system. For us it is so important to know guest’s feedback about our service.

We will hope to see you very soon at Sol Prínicpe

Kind regards

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

well if you read my reports on hotels in the same area you will see what I have had to say in the past , having stayed in some sister hotels of this one a 5 min walk from this one , What a great find , food fantastic AND HOT loads of choices and what a great sight to see that the lady's had taken the time to dress for dinner and very few shorts that look bad and out of place on some men with bad dress sense, and even being on holiday what a great sight to see , well done to them ,, , This was a great all round family hotel , check in was fast and they gave us a dinner on our last night as we missed our first one , a lesson that there sister hotel could learn from , this was my first time hear and a massive pat on the back to all the staff, it was clean , large and very well run

Room Tip: I did ask for a room that got the sun , we never got that , and I did ask for a room that had a show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tws137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear tws 137,

It is a really good pleasure for us to know that you enjoy your holidays in our hotel.
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about our food, and choice

We will hope to see you in your next visit to Costa del Sol

Sincerely,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for a week, my daughter who is 5 loved the hotel, the kids club and entertainment during the day and at night was just brilliant. Perfect for families, you wouldn't have to leave the hotel, so much happening. we stayed in a hotel room but would get a self catering appartment if I was going again as the rooms are quiet small but nice. Would go to this hotel again and would defiantly recommend

Room Tip: Book a self catering apartment or a bigger room, make use of kids club they are brilliant and entert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Healy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Healy M,
Thank you for your kind review of Sol Príncipe hotel. We are thrilled that you like your family holidays with us.

We love that you enjoy with our entertainment team and shows, as you know we are introducing new activities and spectacles every year.

We look forward to see you again very soon.

Sincereley,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A pleasant modern, clean hotel with decent buffet food for the 4 days. Sea view room was spacious and clean with a useful fridge and great views from the balcony. Good public lounges and 3 swimming pools, one of which tended to be just for adults.Only downside was the placing of towels on sun beds before breaskfast, this needs to be managed by the hotel as some beds had towels and no occupants until after lunch!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on the block adjacent to the tennis courts, ask for a sea view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayfanDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Holidayfansderbys,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
I am pleased that you liked Sol Príncipe and enjoy in our pools.

Regarding your comments, about the occupancy of sun beds, I would like to tell you that the hotel have a policy in order to be fair with all our guests, it is not allowed to book sunbeds and we are already implement a process to avoid that.

I hope to see you again in your next visit to Costa del Sol

Kind regards

José Fermín Gómez

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#28 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe by Melia

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £55 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Melia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Principe by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe
Sol Principe By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing