We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Principe
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for only one night and did not avail of breakfast,
Our room was clean and tidy everything worked in the room and the hotel was modern with a lot of guests staying on the night we were there and the atmosphere was good,
There was live music and dancing in the terrace bar.
Will visit again

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yovecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,486)
There are newer reviews for Sol Principe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 3,486 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a great time at this hotel in early October. This is a part of the Melia group of hotels, we had such a nice relaxing holiday there.
When we arrived we got a decent room with a bit of a sea view, but decided to upgrade to a suite for an extra 116 Euros, this was well worth it, we had a nice big space with balcony going right round the corner which got the sun all the time.

The beach is just across the road, so the location is perfect.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We are vegetarian, we usually found something to eat, you had to be careful with a lot of dishes though, you would find meat of some sort in a lot that you wouldn't expect it. If they added a couple of extra vege dishes, the hotel would be perfect.

We had a look in a couple of other local hotels including another Melia one, but we didn't think they were as good as this one.

Would consider going back there.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, if you have some extra cash with you, I can recommend upgrading to the suite.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank govanmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hi myself and my wife are just home from a weeks holiday (11th of october 18th october) in the Hotel Sol Principe in Torremolinos. We are both in our mid fifties. We found the hotel to be excellent with loads of pool areas, spotless clean room with a daily cleaning, fantastic dining area considering the numbers that pass through it. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The entertainment at night was also excellent and when that was over there were many Irish pubs a short walk away with brilliant entertainers each night. The beach directly across the road from the hotel was also ideal.

Room Tip: A room is for sleeping in. Get out and enjoy the facilities.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VINCENTDONAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Overall, if you can get a good deal, this is good. Problem I have, is that having stayed all over the world at various hotels, ( sorry if this sounds flash ! ), I tend to compare all these hotels. We booked this hotel six months ago, and being Melia/Sol members ( which by the way is worth doing ) , we got a very good deal for a week, half board, approx. £63.00 per room per day. We requested a high floor with afternoon sun, and were allocated 2009, tenth floor, overlooking the sea and afternoon sun. Brilliant. The beds were excellent. We have found that Spanish beds are generally quite hard ( might be because we are getting old ! ), but these were perfect.
The room is of a good size, balcony quite big, overall perfect.
Restaurant wise, adequate choice of food, nothing spectacular, but at that price, what do you expect. Again, no complaints. Food was basic, and with a buffet, some dishes are luke warm, some very hot. Plenty of filleted fish, chicken, meat etc., The wine is very reasonable priced, but to be honest, as far as were concerned, the food did not warrant a bottle. (or a half )
Main complaint was breakfast. Again the food was ok, but there are three toasters. Each one must be as old as the hotel. Self service, the bread takes approximately two minutes to traverse and then drop, still as white or as brown as when inserted. Takes three or four circuits to become toasted, and then only one side. Almost seven minutes to get anything like toast.
There is a notice that indicates, that water is scarce. There is no shortage in the fruit juice for breakfast, or in the soup at dinner.
Despite all the negative comments above, for what we paid, it was very good value.
Reception..... We checked in at about 12 noon. Absolute chaos. Looked like a full flight had just arrived, and it took what seemed like an age to be allocated our room. I admit that the official check in time is 2pm so we were fortunate in that respect. Two problems and complaints, are that one, we had a problem in getting the charge for the week to be in euros. The man behind the desk, assumed that because we were English, we wanted an English pound charge. As the hotel, ' for your convenience ', charge you in pounds, minus a 2% charge, thought that this is what I required. As my credit card company charges me nothing for foreign currency transactions, I did not want a sterling bill, but a euro amount. Finally, after a lot of discussion, I was charged in euros. Secondly, we were told that the room was not ready, but after having a trip to the tenth floor, saw the maid, who informed us that the room was indeed ready.
The position of the hotel is very good, just across from the beach. Sun beds and parasols on the beach are 4 euro per person.
The beds around the pool are typical 4* in Spain, ok for 30-45 minutes, and then become uncomfortable. There is also a big problem with ' TOWELS ON BEDS '. Although there are numerous signs, indicating that towels would be removed after one hour, if unoccupied, this never happened. At this time of the year, the sun is lower in the sky, and as such, does not cover the whole pool are all day.Approximately,40% is in sun all day, the rest in shade. What did surprise us, was that there were no pool towels. We have stayed at the Sol hotel complex , Don Marco/Pedro/Pablo a few metres away, where pool towels were available. Admittedly, there was a hire charge, but the deposit was returned on departure. Fortunately, did not pose too much of a problem, as we had a good room maid who gave us extra bath towels, but as we travel hand luggage only on short duration trips, could have been difficult.
From a personal point of view, this hotel is a bit too big. Although we visited towards the end of the season for this hotel ( I think it closes at the end of October ), it seemed a bit short staffed, and I would dread to think of the situation in the height of the summer. To be fair, the staff worked very well, and we cannot complain about them.
For my wife and I, I would say that,we would not return there again. Too big and too busy. Plenty of Irish visitors. One lady to whom I spoke had been going to that hotel for the last 18 years, sometimes twice a year! To her, it was perfect. As the saying goes, each to there own.
Cannot knock the hotel for the price we paid, but cannot see us returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VincenzoFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

One of the bigger hotels I have stayed in. Arrived with a full coach load,didn't take long to book in because I was one of the first at desk..will not start with a negative view, so leave the reception to end.. Rooms are a little smaller but quite a large balcony which we used quite a lot.. Plenty of storage.For first time I had a very comfortable bed. You couldn't say shower was powerful but it was ok, we always take our own toiletries.. Their own was rather limited..Towels changed everyday, bed linen quite often. Room was spotless all time we were there, the cleanliness of the whole hotel was outstanding.
Three lifts to every block so never had to wait long.. reception had many different areas with comfortable seating and the ambiance was cosy and restful..Dining room very large and the noise the first day was alarming, but one soon got used to it. Always seated immediately and there was plenty of choices of food which was cooked to high standard.Waiters were amazing to cope with such a large crowd which they done with calm and respect.. Many pools areas, we preferred the one facing beach, hedge around for privacy, no trouble getting sun beds.. Entertainment was good Wi Fi was expensive, €30 euros for 2 weeks around €2 a day, not too bad when you look at it that way, when you add safe then that's €70 extra..This hotel is comfortable and relaxing, not too many regulations.. We really enjoyed our holiday.. But the reception, why are all the complaints not dealt with !!!!! My own experience ,, Booked in and handed room card, told 10th floor with a flutter of hand to right which I took to be the lift..not visible from desk.. She was young, she was arrogant,, not the place for her.. Listen to lots of complaints, when the mature men were on duty things ran smoother. This hotel does marvellous job considering the amount of people they cater for. I will be back next year, highly recommend it.. Just beware of reception....

Room Tip: Higher floors quieter.. We had room 3011 lovely view, sea on one side mountains on other.. Gardens i...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 738bigmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Hotel clean and friendly but not four star services and quality
Evening entertainment quite acceptable
Probably insufficient facilities when hotel is full
Insufficient staff, particularly on reception. Frequent long queues to check in with often only two staff on duty. Long queues at bars particularly at main bar during happy hour and outside bar during shows.
Long queues waiting for dining room to open for dinner and long queues at hot food counter.
Food of mediocre quality and repetitive choice. Virtually same sweets every lunch and evening.
In pool bar it appeared that same food was being kept warm all day and cold food and sandwiches was not covered.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

As the hotel uses liquid soap dispensers fixed to the walls in the bathrooms it's ok if you want a shower as the dispenser is set high enough and close to the shower, but, if you want a bath you'll never reach the soap dispenser!! oops!!
In general the hotel was ok with only the slow reception letting it down.
Food was acceptable and the rooms very clean. Happy hour when you got 2 for 1 was busy and not enough bar staff to cope, also a Gin and pumped tonic at 6.10 euros was a bit over the top. There is enough pool area for the kids and the Flintstone kids area was well laid out and not a sign of rubbish anywhere. Plenty car parking at the front of the hotel but not secure, anyone can enter the hotel as there is no control over non residents entering.
I stayed only for one night and felt if I had to stay for a week it would have been too long. The location direct onto the beach couldn't be better and plenty of bars and restaurants nearbye.

Room Tip: get one with a balcony but some don't get the sun so ask when booking
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iberia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,957 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,901 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,683 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#40 of 71 in Torremolinos
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £61 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing