We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic all round hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Principe
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic all round hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Having read the reviews I was a little aprihensive. This was not needed. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Hotel clean and airy. Food tasty and plentiful.
We stayed for a long weekend 6th june to 9th june and have nothing negative to say. Would be making a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahmurphy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello hannahmurphy16!

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us! We are happy to hear you were wonderfully surprised by Sol Príncipe.
We hope to see you soon!

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    1,140
    617
    179
    124
See reviews for
1,611
784
41
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Principe Sol. This is an ideal place for a family holiday. We had a family room with Kitchenette and it was perfect. The hotel is spotlessly clean, and these rooms are perfect for families. We were on a half board basis, and whilst I am extremely fussy with certain food, there is ALWAYS something to suit everyone. The pools for children are great and whilst it did get very very busy at the weekend, you would always find a bed somewhere. Everynight they had entertainment in their fabulous grounds and I have to say it was great. The staff in the kids club were so so lovely, and really made a great effort with the children. It is right on the beach front, so literally go out the front gate and you are on the most beautiful promenade for walks and the beach. This is our 3rd time to the Principe Sol, and I will go back again and again. The only one down fault I have is that the pool bar prices for Spain are way too expensive, especially if you have a family.

Room Tip: We were on a half board basis, but for childrens nibbles- Ice cream, drinks and snacks, there is a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COYLEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear COYLEM MEATH,

Thank for your recent review! Glad to hear Sol Príncipe is a place for perfect family holiday . We consistently strive to achieve satisfaction for all of our hotel guests and always welcome and appreciate your feedback and suggestions.

We look forward to see you again

Best Regards,

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel was spotless. There was an army of cleaning staff. Good friendly atmosphere, staff were very nice. The pool was great but you have to get down early to get a spot.
However check in was a nightmare after a flight and taxi the last thing you want to be doing is waiting for an hour to check in. We checked in and were told to call back in 30mins to collect the key because the room was not ready, which is fair enough. But we were not queuing up for another hour to collect a card. Other people who were queuing seem to think we were skipping it when we returned to collect the key. They should have a system in place for this situation.
Overall good experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marckoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Marckoco

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, and for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your holidays for so long.

We appreciate your good comments about our atmosphere, cleaning service and pool area.

I am so sorry if you didn’t like the check in at the reception, we are working hard to speed up the process, and we already have installed new computers, although we always have to ask for data, for security reasons.

We look forward to see you again.

Kind regards
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel has Beautiful gardens which are wonderfully maintained and brimming with healthy plants and friendly gardeners to boot! We would also like to commend Rapheal and his team. He is professional charismatic and runs a efficient team. Antonnio, seraphin,and amilio in the dinning area really friendly and welcomed us every night. Concha and Sylvia are the best reception team we have experienced. We have been returning to this hotel for over 15 years up to three times a year and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Eric Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Eric Roy H,

Thank you for sharing your positive review with us!
We are so pleased to hear that you
enjoyed interacting with our staff. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are experiencing satisfaction at our hotel as intended by our staff. We sincerely value your time with us and are looking to welcome you again at our hotel.

Sincerely
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

First time to the much heard principto sol and we had a fantastic holiday. We travelled with two young kids 1 and 3yrs and was out 1st time to go all inclusive in a package holiday scenario. Total value for money. Our room was in the old part of hotel and whilst very dated was clean. In saying that was had a great view over the lovely pool area. In terms of the food and restaurant, breakfast= fantastic!! My fav meal of the day. Everything on offer (to include cava champers) and all so fresh and delicious. Every morning we sat in the outside area of the restaurant (to front of hotel) with a stunning sea view. Our kids loved spotting the planes fly in and out (airport approx 10/15mins away). Lunch and dinners great selection of salads, rice, pasta, pizza, chips, various fish, forms of potatoe and differing meats. One night there was a chocolate fountain with all the trimmings, our LO loved it!! Drinks and snacks top drawer too. Fantastic position on promenade and about 10-15min walk to centre of torremelinos. The promenade is beautifully lined with palm trees. Twice we walked to benalmedena with buggies. A good hours walk which was lovely with the view on offer. Benalmedena port is beautiful place to see and aquarium was nice to visit with kids. 10e each when booked through hotel. Evening entertainment was very impressive. Would have like the kids disco to last a bit longer. Started at 9.15pm every night and ended about 9.50pm with nightly show starting at 10pm. But overall the enthusiasm of entertainers was great. Was slightly disappointing that 'playground area' with trampoline etc was not open. Pool area is beautiful. Although kids section very small area ;although very good. Didn't seen releative to the size of overall pool esp considering that adults need to supervise young kids near water. Would imagine in peak season it's very hard to get a lounger in this area. Speaking of loungers although there is signs saying people can't reserve this is defo not enforced. As we had young kids we were up at crack of dawn and even at 8am in early June tricky to get a lounger. My only negatives I thought the service at pool bar was very slow at times particularly in evening when show on. Whilst there seemed to be dozens of waiters in restaurant it was not the same in bar area unfortunately. My husband was drinking A premium spurt and coke one evening and whilst we knowingly had to pay for the spirit (discounted AI price, which was great) they were charging us for the coke which didn't make sense as we were AI and that it typically free. We really had to challenge the point to the bar manager which seemed crazy. Overall would return to this hotel and would recommend AI as super value for money (in June anyway) but not sure if I would like to stay here in peak season. As we were leaving you could feel it getting busier and ppl standing in entertainment area at night and q's starting to form in restaurant. But perhaps this is compensated with more staff..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear ECAU,
Thank you very much for your lovely and detailed comments about our hotel and your stay here.
It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay in our hotel as pleasant as you indicate. Your comment makes us feel proud of the work done on a daily basis, with the only aim of satisfying the needs of our guest.
Hope to see you soon again in Sol Principe, Torremolinos!
Yours sincerely,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

You know how first impressions are important? Our check-in was an ominous sign of things to come. Slow. Slow. Slow. I actually made a note of the receptionist's name, thinking that front desk need more training or a more efficient front-desk system, but sadly, the slow service was characteristic of both front office and pool-side bar service.

That said, the pool at this hotel is fantastic. It's so good, that I still recommend staying at Sol Principe, but just be prepared for very, very long queues during check-in, check-out and also at the poolside bar.

If you are mentally prepared for those queues and lack of urgency from the hotel staff in those departments, you'll love the pool.

Seems like this is a hotel "that time forgot". Still themed in "the Flintstones" (had to explain who they were to my 6 and 4 y.o.) and perhaps their front desk system and bar point-of-sale are also relics from the 80's (as a possible explanation for the terribly slow service upon each transaction).

The evening entertainment is a bit kitsch, but my 6 y.o. daughter loved it and I reminisced about high school musicals and plays that didn't seem so embarrassing in light of the performances (lip sync) during our stay, which included a version of "Grease", which played songs out of sequence, but that was probably lost on anyone who hasn't watched the movie 20+ times. :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Emufi,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and your experience and impression here.
I apologize that you were disappointed with some points of your stay, specifically slow service at the front-desk and the same slow service at the pool-side bar. We will take notes about your comments and we will do all our best to improve them. Your insights, opinion and thoughts are important to us as we work to better our performance and provide a more satisfying guest experience in the future.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our fantastic pools and your daughter loved the evening entertainment.
We appreciate very much the confidence placed in our hotel and the time dedicated to write your comments.
Yours sincerely,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was a great hotel, nice room, fantastic view of pool whuch was a superb pool. We thought it was all good. We'll definitely be returning. We loved 'Kennedy's' Irish bar with live music at night & 'Bananas beach bar for cocktails by day. Hire bikes you can ctcle all the way to Benalmedina harbour. Its lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello Sharon W

We are so glad to hear we met all your expectations! Thank you so much for sharing your review with us!
We hope to see you soon!

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,362 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#24 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe

Property: Sol Principe
Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sol Principe is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Melia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing