We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holidays”
Review of Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Principe
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Holidays”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Started at this hotel from the 25th of May to the 8th of June coming to this hotel for the last 10 years the activetys for the adults were poor this year the food was ok but chilies for breakfast was poor the entertainment staff were very nice especially Charlie i will return next year from Tina in limerick ireland the Spanish kids that were in the hotel were very noises as you could not enjoy tour meal

Room Tip: 1614 great view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Tina B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent visit and thank you for trust us your holidays so many times.

We appreciate your comments about our hotel and services we offer, I am especially pleased that you liked the food and enjoyed the entertainment programme and the activities team, I will pass your lovely comments to Charlie.

I do hope to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    1,195
    646
    187
    128
See reviews for
1,672
834
48
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here from the 13th of June til 17th. The hotel is on a perfect place. My room was nice and I could see the sea from the balcony. It's all very good, but it was way too many people in the hotel. The atmosphere was not so nice because of it. Everyone was in rush. In the bar, in the restaurant, the waiter didn't even have time to greeting me. It was bad. On the recepcion I had to wait half an hour every day to get new wifi code. They would need at least 2 extra people to work there. The breakfast was good, the lunch okay, but I ate the dinner always somewhere else. The swimmingpool nice but was not made for swimming. Oh, and they forgot to clean my room twice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kl_ra_M_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Kl_ra_M_1...,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us these comments.

Our customer’s opinion is the greatest assistance to us in identifying some issues and takes whatever corrective measures may be necessary to continue improving in all hotel areas. Do not hesitate that we will share your comments with all our staff and will take into consideration all your thoughts and recommendations.

Thank for your opinion one more time, I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sol Principe in the near future and we will try to meet all your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for a short weekend from 12th June to 15th June. The room was fine, with a decent sized balcony. The breakfast spread was very good, although I am glad we did not have the all inclusive option as I don't think I would have liked to eat in the "canteen" every meal. There are two pools but you need to be up early to grab a spot on the sunbeds, as these areas get very busy and we didn't particularly like the beach although this is only a short walk across the road for those that do like the sand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5p1ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear 5p1ke,

Thank you very much for write a review and as well, thank you for enjoying your holidays with us.
I take note about your comments; opinions such as yours help us to improve day by day

We would like to see you again in our hotel. Meanwhile If you want, you can follow us on facebook/solhotels.com

Sincerely

Kind Regards,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 2-16 June 2014.The hotel was very clean staff were very friendly and helpful ,The room was a bit small but ok.The food was not as good as we have had at 2 other hotels close by that we have stayed at in the last 18 months.The queue,s at lunch time especially on the 7 June were the worse I have ever experienced ,we were supposed to be all inclusive but the queue was over 200 yards long and apart from that we could not find a table anywhere .So we ate out .someone should explain to the Spanish people that no one likes to stand in line and that if we all jumped in front of the other people waiting it could turn into chaos.Also there was supposed to be a dress code again it was ignored ,i do not mind if men wish to wear shorts at dinner but one man who was very large must have had the shortest shorts and the biggest Stomach and he only ever wore vests and shorts to dinner,I would never return to this hotel again in fact it has put me of going back to spain

Room Tip: Unless you have children stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear margaret32,

Thank you for spend you time sharing your opinion about your experience at Sol Príncipe on tripadvisor.
We take into consideration this detail you describe in your feedback.
Thanks to such reviews like yours we improve our service in all departments every day.
And of course, we hope to have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager Hotel Sol Príncipe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here from 11th -18th June, 2 Adults and 3 Kids like others have said the apartments are dated but we need a kitchen with the kids so it done us fine, The hotel rooms are fab we seen one over looking the sea it was 5 star accommodation and ours was a 2 star... Food was ok, kids got it hard to fine something nice, burgers are frozen and only 1 evening we got a decent piece of chicken they should have better chicken on every evening, not legs all the time!! Entertainment was ok,, you could see that the staff worked hard at it but all the miming got to me and the kids always got fed up watching the show so we would return to our room..Kids club was fine but it was only on from 11-1 the 3-5 activities looked good but you had to oay for these my kids were so disappointed... Drink is way over priced and this is the reason we wouldn't return we don't mind spending on holidays but €4.10 for a beer in a plastic glass is a disgrace.. My husband is a Silver Melia member and we booked this hotel because silver members have a 2pm check out!!! We were not aloud to stay in our room we had to check out at 12pm and put everything in luggage room this was awful with 3 small kids it was a disaster, my husband has contacted Melia rewards and they are not impressed!!! All in all it was a nice holiday we won't return Sol Aloha Puerto is far nicer and cheaper so it will be back there next year :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budsie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear budsie34,

Thank you for your comments. We were pleased to hear that you rated the hotel's rooms, food and entertainment team positively, although we regret very much that your stay was not what we would have wished. We take into account each an every one of our customers' observations, complaints, suggestions and comments, always with the aim of improving.

Late check out for Silver members of Meliá Rewards is subject to availability, I regret that shouldn´t be possible that day

We remain at your service for whatever you might need.

With best regards,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights from June 4th to 13th, 2 adults and 2 small children. This was our second time staying here, first time was in April 2012. Overall, we had an excellent stay. The apartments, although dated, are functional and the little kitchenette has everything you need for making breakfast/lunch if you are on the self catering option as we were. Cleaners came every day and bed linen and towels changed at least every second day. Pool facilities are fabulous and most apartments have a decent pool view from the balcony. Free kids club from 11am to 1pm daily and the nightly poolside entertainment was top class, our 4 year old loved the kids mini disco before the main nightly show.
Many of the reviews i read were critical of the reception staff and waiting times before being able to check in/out, luckily, we did not experience this, in fact, while checking in, the girl informed us that the rate we had booked at was incorrect and that our total fee was, in fact, €90 less than what we expected to pay which was a nice start to the holiday.
All in all, we had a great stay and look forward to visiting this complex again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil McS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Neil McS M,

We are filled with happiness knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable and services offered filled your expectations, for us, comments like yours are what motivate all our hotel staff to give the best of ourselves, always working to provide quality.

We appreciate your opinion and the time you took to share your experience at Sol Principe.
We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Torremolinos!

Sincerely,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager Hotel Sol Príncipe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Sol Principe from 4-11 June 2014 and had a lovely time.
The hotel was so nice and all the staff were nice too.
The entertainment was varied and the animation staff were really good with kids and kept them occupied, even though we didn’t have kids you could see they were entertained.
Food was nice with lots of choice, the staff at the snack bar were really friendly.
The large pool area is lovely and relaxing and very clean as was all of the hotel.
Also I hired a mobility scooter via the hotel for 3 days for £40 euros and £50 euros deposit, then I got the deposit back on the day it was picked up.
I have a bad hip and the scooter was a god send as it allowed us to visit Belnamadina along the prom which is wonderful, the guy that delivers the scooters speaks fluent English and is very helpful, so if you have walking difficulties and can afford one of these don’t hesitate, it will help you enjoy the sights comfortably.
Loved it here and would definitely visit again, please don’t listen to the negative reviews on this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bev l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear bev l,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review, we are delighted that you have spent an excellent vacation with us at Sol Principe Hotel. Your nice comments about your lovely stay are very welcome and very motivating.

We also hope to see you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager Hotel Sol Príncipe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe

Property: Sol Principe
Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, TravelUp, Melia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing