We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Principe by Melia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Costa del Sol Hotel(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Parasol Garden(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pablo Mar(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
Hotel Tarik(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Isabel(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,687)
Filter reviews
3,687 results
Traveller rating
1,160
1,395
751
224
157
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,160
1,395
751
224
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon poolkids clubthe lion kingfamily roomhalf boardmamma miagreat family hotelfamily holidayacross the roadsea viewlarge hotelsmaller poolsomething for everyoneevening entertainmentreception staffdining roommain pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,100 - 1,105 of 3,687 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A big hotel catering for 100's of guests very professionally. Great choice of food and drinks with no shortage of measures or premium brands. We went all inclusive and were very impressed. Good clean rooms with nice sea view. Two ends to this hotel, either young family 'Flintstones' themed rooms overlooking the big fun family pools or more adult section with quiet pool over looking the sea. A great location towards the end of the strip with some good pubs and bars just far enough away! Torremolinos is a busy place, but this hotel is superbly located just the right distance away. Bus and train a short walk away. Would definitely suggest benalmedia marina.
The management of the Sol Principe is excellent, maintaining a very high standard of cleanliness and food quality at all times. I'm sure you will never please everyone, but we always travel with the right attitude. Others say about the queuing for food at meal times. Well, go when no one else does? Breakfast from 8 am to 10.30. Guess what, empty at 8 am and full at 10.30. Evening meal from 8 pm to 10 pm. Empty at 8 pm, very busy at 10 pm?. As for not finding anywhere to sit, well these tables are not coming to find you! Every day at every sitting there were lots of empty tables to sit, but if you look just inside the door you won't find any! Don't be sheep, seek and you will find. No one seems to sit in the furthest away tables that overlook the sea? I would definitely suggest all inclusive and if you book direct with Sol hotels they give an unbeatable price. Be prepared to pay 20 euro for the taxi from the airport(no need to book) and 25 euro for a safe and 20 euro for a weeks WiFi if needed. So expect to add on 100 euro to your total price and just enjoy yourselves. We stayed in the new block, sea view on 8th floor. Rooms very good and clean, with excellent daily maid service. Try to speak some Spanish and the staff really appreciate it! The rooms are not luxury but very affordable and remember, you don't stay in your room for long. Just one little niggle is twin beds, but a small price to pay!

Room Tip: new block 8th floor was great. Any room in that block has great views. Obviously the higher up the better view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear TAMember122820,

Thank you very much for your lovely and detailed review. We’re pleased you were able to enjoy your family holidays in our hotel Sol Principe and that we were able to meet all your expectations; It is also nice to read that you could enjoy so much a great location with so many things to explore your vacation time on your own.

Thanks again for your review and recommendation.
I hope we’ll be able to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Second time this year at this hotel, nice seaview and quiet. rooms are excellent, staff are pleasant, there are alot of activities and evening shows. The larger pool area is hectic but the smaller pool area is quieter and more relaxing for people who want to chill out more. We only stayed room only so i cannot comment on the food. The bars are nice and the outside seating areas are excellent. It really does have that holiday feeling
The One Slight Negative is that if you hit check in at the wrong time, it seems to take ages if there is a queue. I Think They Need To Improve On This.
This hotel is ideal for families with children. Another slight negative (and this is not the fault of the hotel) Is that it is situated a little further out of the town along the main beach strip. When you have been walking all day that last half a mile really takes it out of your feet!. There is a few bars and restaurants nearby (Three Irish Bars All In One Complex!) It Is a nice walk into the centre of Torremolinos but just takes a bit of time. The Taxi Fare From the centre is around 7 euros. I think it would be great if the hotels got together and purchased some form of transport up and down the main beach strip - Like the small road trains that you see, i think it would help people to get around more enjoyably than getting blisters on blisters after a few days!
We will try to get back to this hotel in October for our pre winter break

Room Tip: Higher The Better (For The View) And Get A Sea View
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Operaghost999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Operaghost999,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all the feedback that we get as it is the most useful tool we have to improve the stays of future guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback and your suggestions. I and all the team of Sol Principe look forward to welcoming you back in October.

Yours sincerely
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Entertainment shows and kids club is brilliant. Huge pool and also two small kids pools with slides which will keep the kids entertained all day. Right on the beach and close to lovely Irish restaurants such as the shamrock with lovely staff. Did not eat in the hotel once so can comment on the food. Only problem we did have was the hotel room was way too small there were 2 adults and. A 2 year old would defiantly book an partner next time. Will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Kelly M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

It’s great to get such positive feedback and I am delighted that we exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed the pools and the entertainment program for kids.
I would like to recommend our family rooms with sea view, for your next time.

Once again thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Costa del Sol.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from a week b&b board at the HSP with my girlfriend,2 year old daughter & our friends.

This is the best kids orientated hotel I have stayed in,numerous swimming pools,kids clubs,amusement room,playground entertainment in the night,HSP has it all.

Breakfast was superb & location brilliant as right on the beach & about a 10 min walk from the lift up to the town (next to hotel Guadeloupe).

Rooms are quite small but adequate and always clean

Will be returning next year,keep up the good work guys

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrytibbs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Terrytib,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted about your comments and that you had such a wonderful time with your family and your friends at the hotel.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

this june14 we enjoyed a lovely family (2+4) holiday in the sol principle hotel. we had an apartment beside the pool and we booked including breakfast.(ideal for families as something for all to eat and overall not expensive) The hotel had all amenities necessary, the seafront is just outside the front door and the pools are brilliantly run. The nightly entertainment is worth watching as it keeps both adults and children entertained. only fault found was had to hire a kettle for our ten days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Triona Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Triona Ann K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The team and I are very proud and delighted to see that you enjoyed your family holiday.

We take into account your comments, to study them.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews