We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Principe
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel end of January. We liked the location, the proximity to the beach, overlooking the sea and the spacious parking lot. Breakfast was nice and offered much choice and variety of warm/cold dishes.

Improvement areas: charging for wifi, not even in peak season, is a no go. This is 21st century for goodness sake!

Although our booking was for double bed, we were given a twin bedroom where we had to put the beds together. The furniture is quite outdated and definitely needs to be changed. Even the TV was "ancient".

We went for dinner in the resto one of the nights and we did not enjoy it: had to pay separately for the drinks.

The staff is not very efficient as at that time it consisted mostly of elderly people who did not speak good English.

Overall ok for few days but there are better options nearby for a more quality stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olori1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Olori1,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Every time and every comment I always read very carefully, because our growth as a hotel depends on comments such as yours to give us direction as we strive to offer the best service to our valued guests.

We realize we have to earn high status, and we know that connecting with our guests directly, and taking full responsibility for making their stay special is the only way to reach our goals, so I am sorry to read that some aspects of our hotel you did not like.

You are always welcome to the hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to share our growth with you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    1,170
    633
    183
    128
See reviews for
1,642
807
46
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel, yes it's busy, yes you have to queue at reception at certain times but come on it's worth the wait to stay at this hotel!!!

We had a small issue with our room, the manger which I have forgot his name but he was amazing!!!! Moved our family straight away to room 1111 which was sea view and low down so no big worry about the kids on the balcony :-)

The pool is busy but I have to say we were there for 14 nights and never had a problem getting a sunbed, there's actually 5 pools here including the kids ones so if it's too noisy then go to the pool at the beach side of the hotel which was always quiet and no kids.

Food was lovely, hot and plenty of choice, cleanliness was very good in and around the hotel, I never found any staff rude quite the opposite to be honest and I must say the kids club was great!!! 2 free hours for mum and dad to go and play tents - wink wink :-) lol

We loved this hotel and hope the manager and the rest of the staff keep up there hard work and we will see you again this month on the 26th!!!

Thanks for an amazing holiday :-)

Mr Johnson room 1111

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnsony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Johnsony,

Thank you for your kind words, it is a pleasure to know how much you enjoyed of your stay with us, specially our kids club and swimming pools, everything multiply by our staff’s attentiveness.

We are always looking forward to provide our guests memorable experiences and to make them feel welcome and at home. We are truly grateful.

We look forward to welcome you back once more for another amazing getaway.

Kind regards,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed here last year for a few days and thought it was lovely. Great for kids it has lots of things to do. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. The food was excellent and there was so much variety. My friend cam each this year with her daughter and I plan to return with my son.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elysia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear elysia10,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity of hosting your previous holidays.

Reviews like yours motivate us to do our best efforts and provide our guests the best service possible.

I and all our team look forward to welcome you once more to our resort for another Sol Principe experience.

Kind regards,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my family from 25th August - 1st September. After reading some of the other reviews I was a bit worried. But it was great.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is great and the entertainment kept most of the family happy.

The kids club workers are Spanish but do speak English so my children felt happy about going to the various activities that are on offer throughout the day.

It did take over 90 minutes for us to check in which was frustrating with 2 tired children to look after but I would say this was the only downside for us.

The pools are fantastic, and we didn't struggle with getting sunbeds etc.

Our family room was over looking the pool but was from what appeared to be an old building, the wardrobe was locked shut and the decor was very dated. We were to busy enjoying the rest the hotel has to offer to make a complaint about the room.

I would stay again but would definitely request to stay in the newer building.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jobethsimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear jobethsimmonds,

Thank you very much for taking the time of sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

Our guests recommendations is not only very important for our future guests, but also very valuable for us, as are the truly reflect of our everyday work.

It is a pleasure to know that in general you enjoyed your stay with us, and, for the future, I recommend you to request family room with sea view for your next time, which, I suppose, is more suitable to your liking.
I and all our team look forward to welcome you back in the near future and provide you another even better experience.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

nice location, friendly stuff, tasty and various food, nice shows, very good for kids!&all family! we had a great holiday there!!!...................nice restaurants on the beach also ,lots of fish ;)

Room Tip: if you are a family ask for a room in the old building ,nice size and quiet ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you very much val v for the kind words. We are thrilled that you found us to be well placed and efficient. Thank you for taking the time to give us your review, we cannot wait to have you back with us.

Best regards

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Having previously stayed in 5 his hotel four years ago, I was a bit dissatisfied this time. First of all you have to pay for wifi, which for myself and my house rarely worked. It was 20 euro per phone. A totally waste of money. We found that this time the hotel was very Spanish orientated. All the shows are in Spanish and english but the most part is Spanish. Having spoke to the few irish guests who were there the same time as us, we all found that having watched the shows you are listening the the staff speaking Spanish most of the night and only a few minutes of English. You also need to be up early to get a sun lounger, as we found that the pools are fantastic but there just isn't enough space around the pools for the amount of people who are in the hotel. Plenty of entertainment around the pools during the day. The pool area is extremely clean and is cleaned every night and morning. The rooms are very clean, and the cleaners are in every day to make beds, and the towels are changed twice a week. The hotel is In a perfect location and is very clean. On 6 his visit we were all inclusive. Certain drinks and cocktails you pay extra for them along with ice creams. During the evening the area around the stage is very busy for the shows and there was always queues at the bar for drinks. We enjoyed our holiday as it is a lovely hotel and there is plenty to do. But I would never go all inclusive again as the food was very poor compared to other hotels we have stayed in. We ate out a few nights, there is some lovely restaurants only a few minutes walk away from the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank happymam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear happymam,

Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor and thanks to chose our hotel for your vacation another time..

I read carefully your comments and I took notes about some points of your review, the things you liked and the things you was a bit dissatisfied this time. Our customer service philosophy is to make the guest’s experience enjoyable, we will keep working hard for our guest’s satisfactory, and we will try to do our best for your next visit.

But I am glad that all in all you had a lovely family holiday, it would be such a pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Lovely hotel however staff are the obnoxious/rude staff iv ever met... I spent 7 of my 11 day stay queing up at reception.... I actually seen 1 couple in the que for around 13 hours trying to check in it was absolutely crazy....
Also the air condiitioning was so bad you could nearly say non exsisent.
I would highly recommend and strongly advise anyone staying here...
As if that wasnt bad enough 2 hot chicken rolls cost €28 and thats a fact!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear paddyboyle,

We have read carefully your comments and apologize for your so negative experience. We do take them into account in order to keep improving our service, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#17 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#14 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe

Property: Sol Principe
Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Melia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing