We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes would stay again...”
Review of Hotel Tropicana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tropicana
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The tropicana is in a good location situated opposite a nice stretch of beach halfway between Torremolinos and Benalmadena. Walk in either direction and you will find numerous bars, restaurants and shops.

The hotel appeared clean and all the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful.

I stayed half board. The food was good (if a little limited in choice sometimes) and the restaurant is nice - not canteen like as in so many of these hotels. However if food is a big part of your holiday then I would suggest eating out in the resort restaurants as there is so much choice !

The pool area is small, quiet and lacked atmosphere. It was difficult to get a drink too but there is an entrance from the Tropicana through to the Amaragua hotel next door which has a really nice pool and bar.

I found the Tropicana to be good value for money. Obviously that depends on how much you pay. But I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYorksDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Visited 10 May, with BA Holidays. Had read Trip Advisor and decided to give hotel a go!
On arrival we were checked in within 5 minutes and given a very pleasant room with a balcony to the side of the hotel. The room was spotless, had twin beds and was a good size. Small tv, but we were not there to watch tv! Had breakfast as part of package, and found it to be excellent. I had read previous reviews and was wary, so was delighted to find they have changed or some of the reviews on here are inaccurate. Large choice including bacon and scrambled eggs, all types of breads, cereals, fruits, meats and cheeses! Based on reviews I did not add evening meals, but we did pay for one evening and the food was as good if not better than some of the restaurants on the beach front. I have no affiliation with this hotel so am very surprised previous reviews have been a little negative. Friendly reception staff, (gave info on taxis, etc) smart modern clean hotel. The pool area is large enough, but considering you are only 50 metres from the beach, who cares. My only criticism (minor) is the wifi connection was quite poor and slow! If you want good value for money in a hotel in an excellent location in Torremolinos then look no further. Finally, is it 4 star? Yes probably it just deserves that rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BTCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel is rather small but that just made it cosier. We booked the hotel plus return flights to Malaga through onthebeach for a mere £330 for the two of us for 4 nights - brilliant deal! The hotel was very clean and overlooking the beach. We stayed in room 517 on the top floor with a sea and pool view (we did not have to pay or ask for a sea view room!). Most rooms of this hotel overlook the sea so they always try to offer those rooms unless the hotel is fully booked. You walk out of the hotel onto a promenade which separates the hotel from the beach (you cannot get much closer to the beach than that:)) The reception staff are very helpful and friendly. I asked them on arrival for gluten free bread as we booked the B&B option and they made sure that I had the bread for the next day. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and bed linen provided. We did not try the hotel restaurant due to lots of various opportunities all around us but we heard that they served really good dinner options. There are extra pillows and blankets in the room and air conditioning. Blankets come handy when you arrive in May and want to spend the evenings on the balcony to enjoy the sea view as it can be chilly at nights. There is also a fridge in the room which we used mainly for drinks as we did not opt for all inclusive board. The hotel is not far from the El Pinillo or Torremolinos train stations which are only 10 mins from Malaga airport (1.75 Euro per person). From the train stations you can either walk (around 20-30mins downhill) or take a taxi (around 7 Euro and it takes 5 minutes). The hotel is a 15 minute walk away from the Benalmadena marina (there is a free trial segway ride by the marina and cheap options to rent one). Torremolinos train station is in the centre of Torremolinos and I said it is not far whether you choose to walk or take a taxi there one day. There also many attractions not far from the hotel such as Crocodile park (you can have a photo holding a baby crocodile there for 50 cents), Selwo Marina Delfinarium (check my review of that) or Telerefico which is a cable car going to a top of mountain for breathtaking views. We walked everywhere and most of those attractions were about a 30-40 minute walk from the hotel but you can use taxis or public buses.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms of this hotel overlook the sea so you do not have to pay extra or ask for it espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Urszula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We chose this hotel due to it's location and were not disappointed.

We were allocated a room (a little dated) overlooking the sea on the first floor close to the stairs and due to it's proximity to Reception it was at times quite noisy but not unbearable. The cleanliness in the hotel was first class and we were provided each day with clean, fresh towels. There was not a Refrigerator in the room which would have been useful and the Bar in Reception was not manned during our stay which was a shame as we often enjoy a drink before dinner or on our return in the evening.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful particularly Susanna on Reception and Antonio and Eduardo in the restaurant, we found the food and service to be very good.

Thanks for a lovely week, we will return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlJay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Lovely hotel nice & clean, pleasant and helpful staff, great breakfasts, small but clean and maintained pool & gardens, great beach bar too. Central location for walking to Torremolinos, Benalmadena marina, short walk to the main road for local buses to all towns along the coast. Hotel is situated right next to La Caruhuela area so lots of choice for nightlife. Great strip of beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was my 4th visit to the Tropicana, this year my friend came with me who needed a wheel chair. On arrival the prebooked chair was there waiting for us, they had booked us in to rooms on the ground floor but moved us after 2 days to the 5th, which had a great view over the sea and pool.Access to the hotel was fine with a small lift if we wanted.The breakfast was good as usual, the only thing was the bar not being open in the lobey but i guess this was because it was late in the season. The area around the hotel was nice and flat so pushing my friend around after a couple of beers was fine, overall the hotel and area was great .

Room Tip: rooms on the left facing the hotel next door may have a little noise but a great view of the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very good location and very charming with lots of character.
We stayed there on a half board basis .. room 514 and as previously noted by other reviews the views were super and balcony more than adequate. Room was clean and spacious enough to meet our needs but the lack of tea and coffee making facilities was a draw back.
The breakfast was the same fare every day for the 9 days we stayed.. big on quantity but very poor quality.. in addition you had to queue in the morning for the very slow coffee dispenser which also served the milk and hot water to make tea. The coffee was awful and the toaster took forever. The buffet staff were not overly friendly either. The evening meal was equally awful, being plentiful on quantity but poor on quality and usually bland and luke warm. Half board does not entitle you to tea, coffee or water at the evening buffet... the waiter's are not interested in you unless you are ordering a drink from them. We were expecting some lush Mediterranean food choices.. even some of the fruit was out of a tin ! There was no bar in the Hotel either !
I wouldn't say that we wouldn't return to stay as this place has lots of charm ...just don't expect too much from the food. I would not consider this a 4* hotel...but would certainly think it is a little gem with the potential to be.

Room Tip: Rooms facing toward the sea with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Amaragua
SENTIDO Amaragua
#24 of 71 in Torremolinos
762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
0.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residencia Miami Hotel
Residencia Miami Hotel
#38 of 71 in Torremolinos
239 reviews
1.6 mi away
smartline Los Jazmines
smartline Los Jazmines
#33 of 71 in Torremolinos
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropicana

Address: Tropico Street, 6, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £47 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tropicana 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Tropicana Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing