We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of SENTIDO Amaragua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SENTIDO Amaragua
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Glostrup, Vestsjalland, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was staying at Amaragua since my parents had a room there for a month.
I had a lot of trouble getting wifi to work. But mobile coverage was quite good.
The half board was okay. Lots of different food each day, but in the long run it can be too much of the same.
The fitness room was old and the cardio equipment was not the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    274
    130
    41
    40
See reviews for
172
301
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I had a nasty experience at the Amaragua,we were coming down in the lift on the 24th of Dec when the ceiling in the lift collapsed and crashed onto my head.The panel that collapsed contained all the lights,my husband held it up until we arrived on the ground floor all the time praying that the wires didn't short out because what he was holding was metal and could so easily have been electrocuted. we went to reception to report this but were told that they could do nothing and we would have to see the manager,but he wouldn't be in untill next day because it was Christmas We eventually saw him 24 hrs later I was asked if I wanted to see a Doctor( a bit late I thought) ,he apologised and that was it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank disgruntledkent68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last 2 years because it is positioned near the beach and shops etc, food is ok but no gala night which we love in the next door hotel (PEZ ESPADA)
the little things we did notice was that there was no UK newspapers available and the leaflet in our bedroom for international dialing codes did not have a UK code (it had codes for obscure tiny countries etc )
the entertainment is only one night a week and that is a flameco group which is excellent
if you wish to eat out of the hotel take a left at the front door and 50m on the right is BELLA NAPLOI the best italian food in the area ASK FRANCO for his pizza or pasta specials you wont find better
the staff are very helpfull and friendly the rooms are ok the pool area is excellent,but the hotel should cater for the british guests which make up for quite a large propotion of the clientel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank auto-dor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria-England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here in Mid October the hotel is very clean and well positioned near the beach.The breakfast was just ok we could find something to put us on but the coffee out of the machines was awful so we drank the decaf from the packets.Getting a properly cooked egg was like waiting for ever as most eggs were undercooked you could get an ommelette if you were prepaired to wait in a long line.This is a no smoking hotel but some one kept smoking in the toilets at the bottom of the restaurant stairs and when I told the reception they just ignored me. our room was on the 3rd floor on the side facing Benalmadena as this side gets the afternoon sun room was fine but air con was useless it worked but did not cool the room down and was very noisy.There is no view from this side as there is a massive rubber tree outside,another bunch of trees blocking the view to the sea then there is a massive new fire escape on the front of the hotel which fully blocks everything even if you are on the 6/7 floor and then you only see the roof tops and hotel in front of you.Another tip is if you go in October take some insect repellent as there are millions of 'midges' about only in October they do not bite but are a pest when they all land on you the gym equipment is a bit outdated and in need of replacing.These are negative parts to the hotel but overall we found it very good but if we went again I would ask to be in the newer part of the hotel.The location is excellent right onto the prom and the beach.I could go on about the possitive points of the hotel but I think if you read other reviews you will be able to pick them out.

Room Tip: Ask for a 5th floor room torremolinos side level 6/7 have rooftop air con noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for four nights in October on a half board basis. Very nice Reception area. Arrived at approx. 10.15.p.m. to be told that the Restaurant had closed and there was no food laid on for us. We have stayed previously at the Pez Espada and a few other hotels in Costa del Sol and if arriving late, have always been given a plate of cold meats/salad/bread etc. which is very welcomed after the journey. Not at this hotel though. We were told by the Receptionist that there were plenty of Restaurants on the front where we could buy a meal. We ventured out to find all Restaurants nearby closed! This may have been because it was a Monday night and there were hardly any people around! The following day we found out that room service could be ordered until 11.00.p.m. or we could have bought something to eat with our drinks in the lounge bar! Perhaps the Receptionist could have offered us this when we arrived! Moan over! We had a standard room which was very nice. Very small balcony looking over roof tops and a side view of the sea on the seventh floor. Lifts were never a problem and we only had to wait on one occasion for a short period of time. There is an esculator as well as steps leading to the Restaurant. We found plenty of choice with the food although at some times it could have been hotter. This got better after hearing someone complain and the waiter and chef checking the food temperature. Very pleasant, efficient waiters/waitresses. Lovely pool area with plenty of sunbeds. Free pool towels. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The lounge bar was relaxing and the pianist very enjoyable. There was Flamenco dancing on one evening whilst we were there. This is not a hotel for those wanting a lively atmosphere. However, it is in a fantastic location, a short walk from the shops/Restaurants in Carihuela and practically on the beach which can be reached by walking through the pool area and using your room key to open the gates onto the promenade. The hotel has a Spa which we did not try out but would have if the weather had been bad. All in all, we would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday in plesant surroundings, and will return when visiting Torremolinos in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhillipsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here recently and loved the location right by the beach in La Carihuela. The pool area was great with lots of sun beds and plenty of space. There is a bar where you can order drinks and food and the bar staff were very friendly and attentive. The reception staff were very helpful and polite and our check in was quick and easy. We used the spa several times and it is a nice place to spend your time relaxing. The spa staff were helpful and made us very welcome.
Now for the negatives! Our room was extremely dark and overlooked the busy main road at the back of the hotel. There was a balcony but it was so small it wasn't possible to sit on the chairs unless they were positioned sideways. The room was clean and room service came every day to change the towels.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the whole experience at breakfast was not pleasant. The majority of the waiting staff were unfriendly and rude at times. The hygiene of the staff needs to be sorted as several times I saw male members of staff cough into their hands then carry on handling plates etc and once saw a waiter sneeze into his hand then continued to polish wine glasses! The metal containers that held hot food were filthy and dusty and didn't look as if they were wiped over the whole time we were there. The hot drinks from the machines were awful. The food selection at breakfast was quite limited with mostly bread, cheeses and cold meats. There was a station cooking omelettes but my husband always had to queue for a long time to get one. Lots of pastries at breakfast but the ones I tried were stale.
Overall the hotel has a lovely location with a great pool area but the food experience really lets this hotel down :(

Room Tip: Get a sea view room as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jadato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My girlfriend (26) and I (30) stayed here for 5-nights in October, we paid €585 total for half board with lateral sea view, room 652, the balcony got the sun from 12pm to 4pm. We got the train from the airport to El Pinillo station (C1 line), which cost is €1.70 each, and took about 20 minutes. From there it was a 15 minute walk down the hill (no taxis at the station). Alternatively, I believe a direct taxi from the airport to the hotel is about €20. The room was good; great views, great shower, comfy bed, the mini bar was well stock and very reasonably priced. The only English TV channel is BBC World News, and the hairdryer was a bit naff. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel on various different connections, some require a passcode, some don't, ask at reception for the codes. The Wi-Fi is perfect for emails, Facebook, Twitter etc, but does struggle with YouTube etc. The indoor leisure facilities are pretty decent. The hotel pool is really clean. The pool bar is pretty expensive, we bought drinks from the shop on the promenade for half the price, which was a bit cheeky, but well within our rights. Buffet breakfast was brilliant, apart from the cereal, which tasted like polystyrene! We found the evening buffet very bland, so for the last two nights we ate out, which was 100% better, my advice would be just stay B&B. I'd be very happy to return to Hotel Amaragua, it's a pretty decent place.

Room Tip: Stay bed & breakfast, and eat out every night; the hotel restaurant for inclusive customers is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tropicana
Hotel Tropicana
#49 of 71 in Torremolinos
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
#26 of 71 in Torremolinos
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
#19 of 71 in Torremolinos
708 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Amaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Amaragua

Property: SENTIDO Amaragua
Address: Calle Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Amaragua)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Amaragua 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior 4 star Hotel where the functional distribution of its spaces, with the sea as its protagonist, the decoration, with its strong personality, have all come together to give you an elegant, classical and functional Mediterranean Hotel. Located on the seafront, MS Amaragua looks out directly on to the Mediterranean and the pedestrian promenade of the traditional, infamous neighbourhood of the Carihuela, where the cultural cuisine of Pescaito frito (little fried fish) reaches its maximum expression. Only a couple of minutes walk away is the famous Benalmádena Marina, Puerto Marina. We have 275 rooms; of these 2 are luxury suites, 8 suites, 6 junior suites and 12 superior doubles. Restaurant, snack bar, swimming pool, lobby bar, conference and conventions halls, parking with 217 spaces, big outside swimming pool for adults and children, ample sun terrace, beach with direct access from the Hotel and the spa & fitness centre. 24 hour reception, press, left luggage, bellboy, room service, laundry service and rental service of bicycles, cars and motorbikes. CATERING To start the day, the Hotels restaurant, offers a complete and varied breakfast buffet with panoramic views of the Mediterranean . Enjoy the luminosity and relaxation at the swimming pool Bar La Ola, where Mediterranean cooking fuses with local cuisine and the after dinner drinks at sunset.Mens sana in corpore sano in the Health and Beauty Centre (SPA & Beauty Farm) the Hotel has at your service. The Hotel has on offer for its clients, an indoor climate controlled swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, gym, massages and an ample array of aesthetic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENTIDO Amaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Hotel Torremolinos
SENTIDO Amaragua Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing