We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete relaxation in the sun.”
Review of SENTIDO Amaragua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Amaragua
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Redditch
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Complete relaxation in the sun.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Amaragua on La Carihuela for 10 nights from 21st July and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel requires a little TLC in some areas but is typical of this type of hotel in Spain however this did not have a detrimental effect on our stay,
We arrived at 12.15 on Monday but our room was not ready so we went for a look around the pool area and were surprised to see plenty of free sunbeds for the time off day.
0ur room was soon ready on the 7th floor with a wrap around balcony with a full sea view, we had requested a quiet room with a sea view so were delighted, The room was very spacious and a large bathroom with separate toilet, the shower was nice and powerful too.
We complained about the TV not having any power and within minutes the manager had come and sorted it out also when we went out to eat the TV was replaced by a brand new LG HD model! when we returned from the afternoon at the pool there was a lovely tray of fruit and bottled water laid out for us and a note from the desk manager Jose, wishing us a good holiday.
The pool area was small but adequate and spotlessly clean with plenty of parasols etc, the water in the pool was a perfect temperature throughout our stay and and very clean without having too much chlorine and the pool staff were lovely and very hardworking.
The breakfast menu was typical for this type of tourist hotel and very nice with some tasty fresh fruit smoothies! The waiters were all very conscientious and helpful and the dining room was spacious and clean. the pool bar/restaurant was adequate but service was slow due to lack of staff (I presume) so we would walk along the front most days as there was so much choice close by. The maid service was also very efficient and very quick, we would go to breakfast and the room was cleaned when we came back!
The hotel sits on the Carihuela therefore there is no traffic any where near and the area was peaceful and quiet perfect for people watching with lots of very nice restaurants and beach bars eg: Mango, Gringos, La Lagosta, Napolis and more. This hotel is quite literally 10 feet from the beach accessed via a security gate, this part of the beach is maintained by Hotel Amaragua and has a bar service.My only complaint and it was an issue was the very slow and intermittent but usually non existent WiFi which was advertised as free in the rooms, therefore if you need WiFi you have to go to one of the nearby establishments, we did find this frustrating especially as we don't tend to stay out very late and there is only BBC and SKY news available and no other English TV channels. We did a lot of reading via Kindles and couldn't download any new books when we wanted to!
All in all we had a fabulous time here and although we never stay in the same place twice I am tempted to go back soon.

Room Tip: Corner room with a sea view on 7th floor - furthest away from the night time entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nannyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorea P, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Amaragua, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear all those good comments and we also appreciate the comments about the most critical points. We are working on that and we hope we can improve that facts in the next future. In the meantime if you need anyhting just let us know.
Looking forward to see you again in the next future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    257
    121
    39
    37
See reviews for
161
283
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Ignore the dollar millionaires who pull this hotel down, it's fantastic for us ordinary working class people who appreciate nice things. Food great with huge selection, rooms spotless and cleaned daily with daily towel replenishment, helpful staff (the bell boys are exceptional) and very clean and smart public areas. Got the room we requested with no fuss. Will go again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Benalmedena are sunny PM, so good for the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorea P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SENTIDO Amaragua, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Mr. Brian,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear all those good comments. We hope to see you again in the next future. In the meantime if you need anything just let us know.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Was the second time in Amaragua hotel in Torremolinos Spain. Two years ago I liked this hotel because it is at the beach and the I had room as I asked for, only WI FI was terrible.
Now this year in July I stayed there for ten days 7. - 17. July. At deskboard bokking in, I asked for room with sea view and I could pay extra. The young woman at the deskboard said I would have a nice room and would like it and no extra pay. My room number 328 was POOR. Shadow, noice from trucks picking up the dirty laundry, very small and old tupe TV, I have not seen TV like that for 30 years! WI FI terrible, and this is the first time I see floors in rooms cleaned without water. Twice I asked the ladies at the deskboard to have the air conditioner fixed, but nothing was done.
Went to Malaga city og spent 3 nights there on hotel Vincci and there I could sleep relaxed and in evenings watched TV. Came back to Amaragua 16. july and nothing had been fixed in my room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eliasdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorea P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Amaragua, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Ms. Eliasdottir,
Thank you very much for your review.
We apologize for not being able to exceed your expectations during your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate that you let us know your thoughts about all the things that can be improved.

Since we started being part of the portfolio of SENTIDO Hotels and Resorts, we have started a refurbishment plan which is going to be done step by step. We have installed flat TV screens in the big majority of the rooms, however, there are still a few ones with the old TV. Secondly, we are aware that WIFI has to improve and we are already working on that. On the other hand, we don't have complaints regarding the cleanliness of the rooms, anyway, thanks for your comments about that and about the air conditioning, we will find out.

We hope you give us another chance soon and you decide to stay again at Hotel SENTIDO MS Amaragua in the next future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Terrible value for money -- stay away! Wifi does not work anywhere. Not enough pool towels or pool chairs. Mould in the bathroom. Air conditioner struggles. Bar staff and service are a ghostly presence at best. Hotel staff seem unprepared for nearly every issue that came up -- after discussing our situation to them, we were downgraded to a smaller room (which, albeit, was not in such a ruinous state as the previous one) and they refused to refund the difference of price.

Breakfast area, spa downstairs, and beach access for the hotel are NOT accessible for those with mobility issues! The pool may also be a problem for those who find stair-type entries to pools difficult. We had to walk around the block to get to the beach, and ask for the staff to turn on the escalator just to get to breakfast.

We would have loved to pack up our things and move to another hotel, but since the internet wasn't working we were stuck in this overpriced shack.

Room Tip: Just close the tab you have open for this hotel and move on to another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amsterdammer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorea P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Amaragua, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
We appreciate that you let us know your thoughts about your stay. They are really helpful in order to improve our service and quality standards. It is a pity we did not reach your expectations.
We hope you give us another chance soon and you decide to stay again at Hotel SENTIDO MS Amaragua in the next future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

On arrival (3hrs. late due to flight delay) we were told our room was not ready. Then sneakily allocated a room in the hotel next door( not told it was different hotel). When we complained that we had booked a room in the 4 star Amaragua not the Tropicana( which from my brief observation didn't deserve a twinkle never mind any stars) we were told that there were no rooms available in the Amaragua. As we walked away from the reception at this first encounter the receptionist said something in Spanish to 2 customers and they appeared to be laughing at our situation. Our holiday had been booked for about 10 weeks but I didn't need to get into that conversation as 1 phone call to our Jet2 rep produced the room in the Amaragua(thanks Chloe). We were there for a week and during that time we were spoken to twice by waiter/waitress. Once I was addressed with guten morgen, presumably because we were having bread/ham/cheese type breakfast and I am sometimes assumed to be German because of my appearance. After I answered in English she never spoke to us again. The room was spacious and kept clean by maid service every day but we didn't leave any tips(she can thank reception for that). In fact, we made sure we didn't spend a cent in the hotel. This is the most unfriendly hotel I have ever encountered. We can only assume that UK visitors are not the required clientele.

Room Tip: Make sure that the room you are allocated is actually in the same hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank davie977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorea P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Amaragua, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your review. We apologize for not being able to exceed your expectations during your stay at our hotel. We appreciate that you let us know your thoughts about the service you received from all our staff, specially from Reception. I must say that british customers same as all nationalities are welcomed.
We will do all our best to improve our service and quality standards and we hope you give us another chance soon and you decide to stay again at Hotel SENTIDO MS Amaragua in the next future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hotel Amaragua with spa is situated just at the sea side with a good view to all directions.
My visit was in Feb 2014, so the most of the guests were elderly people from Scandinavia. So the life in the hotel was quiet and pleasant. The breakfast was an average+ and the ground floor bar served decant meals. I would give 3 points out of 5 to the location, facilities and meals. The service I would rate even 4-. I could recommend this hotel for all kinds of people. If needed the hottest night life, one has to walk about 30 mins to the La Nogalera.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the 4th floor and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelsinkiJom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorea P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SENTIDO Amaragua, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate that you let us know your thoughts about the property and its service. They will help us surely to do all our best and improve our quality standards.
We hope you decide to visit again Hotel SENTIDO MS Amaragua in the next future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel continues to deliver its high standard of service although room quality is variable. When we arrived, the allocated room was a twin rather than a double room - the lateral sea views on aoffer we know to be variable from previous stays but this was near thefron of the hotel and our "sea view" was almost completely blocked by the fire escape. After a conversation with the hotel staff, who pointed out that they do not guarantee any particular type of room or view, we were moved the following morning - much closer to the front and with a better view. Rooms are good although the single bolster pillow offering could be better. Entertainment at night (piano player or same guy playing synthesiser outside beside the pool) is good for an older age group or maybe families with young children. Pool is a good size but the beach is just outside the back entrance to the hotel site. Good restaurants close by can be a little difficult to find. Overall good for a relaxing holiday for the older couple. THis hotel has been taken over by another chain and some differences in service offering are visible, mainly in the range of breakfast dishes although the range is still good. A small proble with availability of cups for soffee or teas on one morning led to gutests having to use cereal bowls - a bit of a noveltyy perhaps but it did lead to queues at the coffee machines.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thedoc086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorea P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Amaragua, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We appreciate all your cooments and we will keep them in mind in order to improve our service standards. We look forward to meeting you again in the next future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropicana
Hotel Tropicana
#49 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
#18 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Amaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Amaragua

Property: SENTIDO Amaragua
Address: Calle Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Amaragua)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Amaragua 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior 4 star Hotel where the functional distribution of its spaces, with the sea as its protagonist, the decoration, with its strong personality, have all come together to give you an elegant, classical and functional Mediterranean Hotel. Located on the seafront, MS Amaragua looks out directly on to the Mediterranean and the pedestrian promenade of the traditional, infamous neighbourhood of the Carihuela, where the cultural cuisine of Pescaito frito (little fried fish) reaches its maximum expression. Only a couple of minutes walk away is the famous Benalmádena Marina, Puerto Marina. We have 275 rooms; of these 2 are luxury suites, 8 suites, 6 junior suites and 12 superior doubles. Restaurant, snack bar, swimming pool, lobby bar, conference and conventions halls, parking with 217 spaces, big outside swimming pool for adults and children, ample sun terrace, beach with direct access from the Hotel and the spa & fitness centre. 24 hour reception, press, left luggage, bellboy, room service, laundry service and rental service of bicycles, cars and motorbikes. CATERING To start the day, the Hotels restaurant, offers a complete and varied breakfast buffet with panoramic views of the Mediterranean . Enjoy the luminosity and relaxation at the swimming pool Bar La Ola, where Mediterranean cooking fuses with local cuisine and the after dinner drinks at sunset.Mens sana in corpore sano in the Health and Beauty Centre (SPA & Beauty Farm) the Hotel has at your service. The Hotel has on offer for its clients, an indoor climate controlled swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, gym, massages and an ample array of aesthetic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Amaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Hotel Torremolinos
SENTIDO Amaragua Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing