We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife and I are fairly regular visitors to Riu Hotels both in mainland Spain and the Canaries but this was our first visit to the Riu Nautilus. A good hotel in a good location with a great promenade on the doorstep which we walked everyday. Our room on the first floor had a view over the swimming pool and a reasonable view of the sea and was a good size with very comfortable beds. Having recently been refurbished there was a feeling of newness about the place and it was spotlessly clean. Food in the restaurant very acceptable but as in the other Riu hotels we have stayed in the tables are too close together. We had no problems with the two sitting arrangements and found the later sitting to our liking. Staff throughout the hotel helpful and pleasant. We had excellent weather for our stay and no complaints whatsoever. However, I will make a personal comment and I stress that this is only my view that the new decor is somewhat garish with an uncomfortable colour scheme of purples and greys - from a personal point of view I much prefer the more traditional style.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    456
    136
    24
    14
See reviews for
172
955
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, splendid location but spoiled by very poor evening entertainment. The music was very dull and the some of artists actually looked bored. Ok for background music but definetly not providing lively holiday entertainment. Lounge was well filled each evening but within 5 minutes, many people moved on. The new reception area looks very posh but again it has no atmosphere. Perhaps an area with a large screen Tv showing sky sports would encourage people to linger. Also, the tv in the room only has 2 channels in English. There were numerous channels in Spanish and German but surely English is a more universal language for visitors from other parts of Europe.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The Nautilus is well placed on the Torremolinas sea front between the marina of Benalmadena and the pretty area of Carihela.
The hotel has just had an extensive refurbishment and has been regraded by Riu to "Adults Only".
This was our first visit so we could not compare before and after the refurb but the results to us were excellent. The reception area is open and cool looking with plenty of seating. The colours, maybe, reflected the new clientele.
Our room was a bit on the small side but had a great view of the pool and the sea, a queen-size bed and a flat screen TV. The wardrobes were good with plenty of proper clothes hangers.
The restaurant has a panoramic view of the sea but is a bit on the small side leaving breakfasts as a bit of a struggle for tables and the evening meal split into two sittings. The food though is very good with proper bacon at breakfast and better thought out desserts at dinner.
The pool area has a redesigned pool and plenty of seating. It was, however, accessed by 26 steep steps with the only alternative a 200 mtr detour via the annex and its lift. Bearing in mind the older visitors the Nautilas is looking to attract this may cause problems. The indoor pool and spa also had stair access.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble with the reception staff even chasing up our return transfer which our airline had forgotten to do.
All-in-all a great experience which will see us return at a similar time next year.

Room Tip: Rooms with numbers ending in 08, 09, 10, or 11 have a sea / pool view at the end of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Back again, though this time to the refurbishment. Colour scheme very modern throughout. I must say the refurbishment is only cosmetic in the bedrooms though the fixture and fittings have been replaced. We had a bath with the two sinks in our room. The flat screen TV was a bonus. Though only 2 English speaking channels BBC1 and 2. Three wee issues, they have done away with the mattress's for the sunbeds, also it would be nice if they changed the brown towels to white fluffy towels, in the bathroom. They look as if they have seen better days. Also in the dining room the net curtains haven't been replaced so this means strong sunshine in the morning. As usual food standard good with plenty of choice. We tried the alternative dining option down on the floor with pool bar. I thought the choice was limited but nice for a change with the food being served to table. They have now introduced security on the back gate. You have to enter a code to gain access from the promenade. Some of the original staff still there, though not all friendly and helpful. We will return as we find the standards are good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bttyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have just spent five nights at the nautilus. New look reception smart and boutique. As newly refurbished expected everything to be perfect but in the room paint already chipped showing through old red. Bathroom now with good shower but gave the appearance of rushed finish, poor grouting, showerdoor not closing properly etc..Rooms good size but white and grey colours make the room feel cold when not sunny.
Unfortunately although the hotel was overall very clean the room cleaning was poor, throughout our stay the slip mat in the shower was not moved by the maid and empty shower gel packets left on the shower shelf.
Staff overall were efficient but 'just doing their job', no extra effort although when staying at this hotel previously we found the same attitude which we have never found in any other Riu hotel.
Food as usual at Riu very good but not the effort made in presentation that was made at the Puerto Marina.
Was looking at this hotel for Christmas but have now changed our minds.
Not really very suitable for people with mobility difficulties as a lot of steps, slopes etc and although can get round, may be hard work.
Overall accepted 'rough edges' as hotel has only just reopened and enjoyed our stay, but needs to up its game.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nor12uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

just came back from a weeks hols at the riu nautilus from 7th to 14th april what a hotel the refubisment
was seconed too nun.swiming pool and the gardens wear well maintaind.the rooms are a good size and the walk in shower is brill.bar prices are quit good food good choice every meal time.
well located right on sea front.would return without a shadow of doubt.my wife and I realy enjoyed our stay. all staff and managment would bend over backwards to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: we where in room 126 had side view of pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

we have just returned from a weeks holiday at the riu nautilus. Although the weather was not great the refurbished hotel certainly made it a good holiday. The grey and purple colour scheme throughout the hotel gives it a modern clean look.The bedroom has flat screen tv and was kept spotless by the hardworking maid. The bathrooms now have large walk in showers and his and her washbasins.We requested a high floor room and were allocated one on 6th floor. The staff were all very pleasant and as it was my birthday i received a bottle of cava and a bowl of fruit in the room. The only down side to the holiday is the number of sellers who constantly walk around the cafes with watches, dvd,s etc..During one cup of coffee in a cafe we were hassled 7 times to buy. The hotel is directly onto the promenade with a security gate with code to enter the hotel. Great for after dinner walks.

Room Tip: high floor room looking to marina gets afternoon sun, annexe rooms overlooking swimming pool get sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank lilacoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Property: Hotel Riu Nautilus
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing