We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No KIDS!!!!”
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I ve just had the most relaxing holiday of my life...we wanted a quiet relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got. This hotel went adults only and wow what a difference...Calm and serene , the staff were excellent , the food first rate and all the rooms just totally refurbished ....excellent......but don t tell the children......

Room Tip: The 6th floor can be a bit high for vertigo sufferers but most get evening sun on a small balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CornwalPIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Lovely hotel, top class on everything, food, cleanliness, staff, location. All staff employee's were very polite and and a pleasure to talk to. Have been to Torremolinos a number of times and this is by far the best hotel. Slight disappointment though with the restaurant as its small size meant there had to be 2 sittings and tables were also too close. Entertainment every night we were there.
Would advise asking for an 'inner' room as the outside rooms although v/good do not have a view as they face the side road. Seems indoor pool only opens during winter months
Will deffinately come again

Room Tip: Try to get the end rooms looking over the sea or the inside ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Spent a week at The Riu Nautilus in May – here are some observations.

Torremolinos is a huge mostly very unattractive place and the hotel is situated at the southern end very close to Benalmádena.

Apart from rooms directly facing sea of which there are about 30 ( but this means that they have no evening sun ) most rooms have a terrible view of other high rise buildings

There are probably too many people for the hotel to function properly - the dining room & pool area were probably built to cater for the main building but now there is the addition of all the people who are in the annex.

Dining room is cramped more like a canteen & food is not very varied

Outside pool area very cramped - beds tightly packed together, literally elbow to elbow with other sunbathers.

Pool bar very small - not enough tables for lunchtime drink/snack.

Plenty of smart bars in Benalmadana marina but no life. Only lively bars are the plethora of Irish bars across the road from hotel - live music, friendly atmosphere & cheap drinks.

Now Some Thoughts For RIU

The outside terrace is really wasted – pleasant area with great views but people who have left the pool area can not get a drink until 6:00pm also the early diners can not have a pre-meal cocktail

Entertainment in the evening is of a pretty poor standard - the hotel is really missing a trick - the type of clientele this hotel attracts if they had something decent to watch they would stay for the evening

Shower should definitely have a hand rail fitted - the floor is very slippery so for the typical clientele that frequent this hotel it is an accident waiting to happen.

Several RIU gold card members mentioned that they were entitled to a gift & normally had champagne & fruit in their room – none of this happened.

Reception is out of sight of the front door and the lifts – a bit of a security risk especially at night.

Plus Points

Refurbishments nicely done. Elegant reception area. Clean & comfortable bedrooms

Staff mostly friendly & efficient - special mention to Roy the assistant manager who chats to everyone & is very friendly & a “proper” RIU manager

Room Tip: Rooms with a FULL sea view are really the only rooms that have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Talamanca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have stayed ar the Nautilus before and were looking forward to see what the newly refurbished hotel. On arrival the reception staff were very friendly as always and told us we would have to wait a short time for our room, as we had specified a particular location.
This was not a problem and the room was available when specified.
The rooms are very nice, but the redecoration seems to be showing signs of wear already, however they are comfortable. There are new flat panel TVs, but only a few English language stations. It seems odd that CBBCs is there when the hotel is adults only?
Our maid (Nati?) was fabulous and cleaned our room to a very high standard every day. The hotel is cleaned to a very high standard overall.
With a little reprogramming we managed to change the menue to English and then were able to find more programmes in English on other stations. Select language and Spanish dubbed programmes made in English can be changed back to the original soundtrack. Handy if the weather is poor. Fortunately we had only 1 day when the weather wasn't too good.
It would have been nice to have comfortable chairs to relax in when in the room, and maybe a light on the balcony.
The new indoor and outdoor pools are very nice, and the gym area looked good but we did not use this. As always getting loungers is never a problem at this hotel and the location and view are almost perfect.
The dining room is a little frantic at times and although the food is still excellent, we felt the standard had dropped slightly since our last stay. Not that anyone would be likely to hungry though! Staff are again excellent and very friendly, many have been there a long time.
The public rooms are light and airy, but very purple. Maybe not to everyones taste. I quite liked it my Wife didn't.
Over all still an excellent hotel in a superb location, now nicely refurbished, but with a few minor niggles.

Room Tip: The main building on the marina side gets the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DixieBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

hotel 5* staff 5* food 5* only complaint was i paid for twin room in hotel middle to high floor on arrival we was given ground floor in another building joined on to the side of the hotel stepping out onto the balcony was like walking into the jungle no air no light no sunshine just good old privet hedge and palm trees.

Room Tip: you want a room in the hotel not the add on the 5* for the room i had was for the room i was given a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Whave just returned from a two week holiday, and were most impressed by the refurbishment. This was the nineteenth time we have visited this hotel and although it has lost its traditional Spanish decor and furniture, we really liked the modern look. The ouotdoor pool is fabulous now, with 2 beach-style entries, 3 ladders, and a disabled hoist. The indoor pool is small, but adequate, with jacuzzi, sauna and fitness suite. The food in the Hotel is as gopd as always, and the staff are the most friendly you could wish for. The baths have been removed from most bedrooms, and replaced by walk-in showers. It was a llittle disappointing to find that hand rails had not been provided in the showers, as the floor is a bit slippery, and there is nothing to grab hold of should one slip. We took a rubber bath mat with us, thank goodness. There are large flat-screen TVs in the rooms with many channels, and the most wonderful new beds we have ever slept on. We dined in the themed restaurant several times, which is fabulous.We are now about to book our 20th visit.

Room Tip: If you do not like the room allocated to you, the staff are more than willing to let you chhange roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Nevnjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

my husband and i have just returned from a 14 night stay in this excellent hotel. lovely situation overlooking the sea and prom you can also see the marina. very thoughtfully revamped especially the rooms and pool,access for disabled clients.friendly helpful staff everywhere and management can be seen at all times. we had a lovely cleaning lady named francis who did an excellent job. the restaurant was a sight to be seen beautifully prepaired dishes set out it was so difficult to choose.spotlessly clean everywhere. we shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool maybe but all rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,527 reviews
2.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £104 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing