We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place for young couples”
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a place for young couples”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just about to return home after a 7 night stay at this hotel and as a young couple we have a mixed review of our stay and the hotel itself.
Positives
Location- in a prime location within Torremolinos, literally a one minute walk from bars, restaurants and shops. The promenade and the marina are well worth exploring with plenty to do and see including an aquarium. The beaches are very clean, busy, but very nice.
Rooms- although disappointing that we were given a bottom floor room with a view of a bush, the room itself was very spacious and immaculately clean. The air conditioning was good, with a flat screen tv, comfy beds and a large wardrobe which was very helpful. The shower was also lovely and big. The modern decor was very smart and contemporary and gave the hotel an expensive feel.
Pool area- quite large and spacious with a gorgeous view of the sea. Sun beds were always available whatever time of the day you ventured out. Very clean and staff were always cleaning handles and around the pool to eliminate germs.
Negatives
General service/ atmosphere- although most staff greeted us we didn't feel very welcomed as a young couple and were made to felt quite out of place, which is not desirable when coming on holiday. You want to feel relaxed and valued as customers and we did not. We were not happy that we had to pay for the safe and other added extras such as the spa were very expensive. The hotel attracts many older couples which the hotel only seems to cater for with their entertainment, which was extremely cheesy. After starting to pack to come home, I had also noticed a pair of expensive shoes had gone missing from the room. After telling the staff, although they looked concerned they didn't seem to do much about the situation and repeatedly asking if we were sure that we hasn't misplaced them. For a premium hotel, this attitude is not acceptable. I feel they didn't go far enough in resolving the issue and wondered if an older couple had the same problem would they have been treated with such disregard? We felt often patronised and uncomfortable, although we paid the same as the other guests!
Food- we only ate dinner once in the hotel as stated above we didn't feel comfortable in the environment but also the food selection didn't impress. Although fresh, for fussy eaters there isn't much to eat and is very centred towards other nationalities, not so much the British guests. Luckily there are very reasonable priced restaurants around that we could visit but we felt that value for money wasn't provided.
Overall nice hotel but don't think we would visit again due to the problems and the general atmosphere and lack of a friendly vibe.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lmj1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    483
    146
    24
    15
See reviews for
180
1,002
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We have just returned from 3 days at the Riu Nautilus. Hotel is in a great location and very clean with very comfy beds and a great big shower. However I now need to point out the negatives - After having emailed the hotel to request a room with either pool view or sea view on arrival we were given a room in the annexe overlooking the street, when we asked about the view we were told hotel was full. When we returned to our room that night there was a letter waiting for us to say we could move room on the wednesday (the day of our departure)??? This is a very busy hotel mainly an older age group doesn't usually bother us but the entertainment was one guy on a keyboard playing music for that age group to dance to. The area around the pool is edge to edge sunbeds nowhere to move the bed around.

The dining room experience was not great, food was average and the same on two nights by the third night the choice was getting bad chef was cooking young pig or young veal (small round pieces of meat). The starters were salad more salad and there was soup but who wants soup in the heat? There were never any prawns on offer as you would expect in a 4 star hotel. I struggled a bit with the choice available. I ended up with bread and cheese to start and finish and a nibble of the mains in between. The tables in the dining room were all 4 inches apart so you were sitting very close to the other diners. The manager Roy did come round each night asking if everything was ok but I felt it was embarassing to complain when everyone was within earshot so may not a good idea Roy you are not getting the true story these things should be done in private maybe as guests are leaving the dining room.

The hotel offers towels for use at the pool but they are paper thin and the narrowest towels I have ever seen. There was no free wifi in the rooms. There was no kettle provided no tea or coffee in the rooms and when you order coffee around the pool it does not even come with a small biscuit. As we usually stay in a Thomson God hotel in Es Cana where the food, and entertainment are fantastic I am left wondering why this hotel is a Thomson Platinum maybe someone could tell me the difference?

We left the hotel on the wednesday and went to Hotel Isabel in Torremolinos where we had free wifi, tea, coffee, biscuits in the room and sunbeds in the garden area with plenty of room to move around a beautifully clean hotel and half the price.

Don't think we will return to Riu Nautilus very dissapointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScotlandMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Hotel was in a very good location.
Buffet was very limited quite average and we were allocated a table without much choice and had to sit there each night. Restaurant lacked character and too bright.
Evening entertainment very similar each night consisting mostly of older style music and dances, reminded us of tea dances, quite boring for us.
The rooms appear to have been recently refurbished and were clean and acceptable but lacked character. The rooms are noisy as we could clearly hear the adjacent occupants and had to move rooms after the first night. The beds were single pushed together and not joined so would move apart so not really doubles. Not really luxurious and no bath, no frills. Most rooms only have partial/side ocean views and there are very few suites or upper grade rooms. Balconies are small and adjacent rooms whose occupants smoked on balcony caused smoke to enter our balcony and room, hotel may consider restricting smoking on some levels as other hotels do. The staff were very helpful however and the pool and spa ŵere good.
We would return for the location and spa/pool facilities but would book in advance to reserve a suite to try to ensure some luxury and ocean view.

Room Tip: Book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Riu. Recently refurbished and it showed. Nice touch with the fruit, candle and cava on my husband's birthday. Great location. Entertainment could have been better. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinejane60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is our second visit to The Nautilus but this time we came with friends. We were delighted with the refurb although not too keen on the lilac. The accommodation was faultless. The new Assistant Manager Roy was always available to chat and help. The food always fresh we took the late sitting and it was never rushed.The Andalucía restaurant staff and food amazing. Nothing too much trouble for Fernanado. It was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had and probably due to the age of other guests (mostly over 70) there was never any noise at night. Unfortunately the pool was very cold so the older folk did not use it. Nice for us, we constantly had the pool to ourselves. We would recommend a Riu Hotel their service etc is very consistent. A holiday is what you make of it. We had a wonderful time and will be returning with our friends.

Room Tip: Last time we had a room on the lower floor close to the pool which was convenient. This time we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicky100810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I ve just had the most relaxing holiday of my life...we wanted a quiet relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got. This hotel went adults only and wow what a difference...Calm and serene , the staff were excellent , the food first rate and all the rooms just totally refurbished ....excellent......but don t tell the children......

Room Tip: The 6th floor can be a bit high for vertigo sufferers but most get evening sun on a small balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CornwalPIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Lovely hotel, top class on everything, food, cleanliness, staff, location. All staff employee's were very polite and and a pleasure to talk to. Have been to Torremolinos a number of times and this is by far the best hotel. Slight disappointment though with the restaurant as its small size meant there had to be 2 sittings and tables were also too close. Entertainment every night we were there.
Would advise asking for an 'inner' room as the outside rooms although v/good do not have a view as they face the side road. Seems indoor pool only opens during winter months
Will deffinately come again

Room Tip: Try to get the end rooms looking over the sea or the inside ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,835 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,631 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Property: Hotel Riu Nautilus
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing