We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riu Nautilus - You won't be disappointed...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Riu Nautilus - You won't be disappointed...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My partner and I returned from the Riu Nautilus last week not really having any strong expectations however I can honestly say the staff in the hotel really made it feel were staying in a 5* establishment. The hotel made the holiday, it was the first time we'd traveled to Costa Del Sol and so we were apprehensive. The staff were so welcoming and professional, it made us both feel welcome and comfortable. We received a room on the third floor which had a limited view of the sea, however we didn't pay for a sea view room and we were delighted to have any vision of the wonderful promenade. I loved the hotel the rooms were clean and modern with small touches such as a mini bar and walk in shower. The staff had excellent customer service and the reception staff Ana, Isa and Javier were marvelous, I even spoke to the manager Diagio who responded to one of our queries about the mini bar in the room that we'd reported to the main reception, (he was lovely). The breakfast and the dinner were mouth watering feasts and I can't imagine anyone not finding anything they liked to eat there. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I feel if you walked along the promenade to see the other hotels, you would be pleased when you arrived back at the Nautilus because you'd be assured you had definitely picked the right hotel in the resort.

Room Tip: I think it's best if you ask for a room on a high floor for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Punam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    432
    131
    24
    14
See reviews for
165
911
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here for a week in September 2013, Couldn't fault the place the Staff were excellent and very Friendly. Even at our welcome meeting the hotel manager attended and introduced himself
Said if there was anything he could do, to knock his door, and he would try his utmost to sort out any problems we had if any. which personally i thought was a nice touch.
the hotel was nicely decorated our room looked out over a main road which wasn't ideal but was ok. The room was cleaned and changed to the highest standard and the food was excellent.
Even the food at the poolside bar was brilliant. The hotel is in a great position the rear backs onto the beech with a promanade in between which takes you in 10 mins to Benelmadena
Marina which is impressive or the other way you can walk for miles along the path towards Malaga loads of fish restaurants along the way and lovely beeches.
This was my first time in Torromallinos and i was expecting it to be a bit kiss me quick hattish, but it was nothing like it and the place was so clean and tidy, i will return to the hotel and the resort again it was great and a brucy bonus San Miguel was 2 euros a pint and food very resonably priced in the bars and restaurants a million miles away from rip off Italy. fill your Boots lads!!

Room Tip: Best rooms face out over the pool and are above the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike11959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here for five nights in December and had booked a room with a lateral sea view. After a very pleasant welcome from reception, including a glass of fizz, we were allocated a sixth floor room in the main block. The room was very spacious, two large single beds together, table with chairs, large bathroom with double sized shower, double sinks etc. and all very well refurbished. However we felt the room lacked any atmosphere, the white walls and grey furniture felt stark, and the lack of any carpets made it feel cold and uninviting. We are both early sixties so perhaps it would appeal to younger clientele. The main problem for us though was the lack of sun at all on the balcony as we were on the side facing Torremolinos. We went back immediately to reception and Xavier was very helpful in trying to find an alternative room. As the hotel was quite busy we could not change until the following day. This we did and had a room on the front with views both to Torremolinos and the Marina and overlooking the pool area. We had sun for most of the day although the room was smaller than the original, we had a double bed, still 6 foot wide though, and the en suite was smaller, one basin and no bidet. We were still much happier with this room though. We also found the lounge/reception area very clinical and not at all welcoming, the lounge bar however was more pleasant and entertainment in the evenings was reasonable for Spain. It mainly consisted of musicians, vocalists, etc. but good for dancing which suited the majority of the clientele which were mostly senior.
Food in the restaurant was good, always a reasonable choice and you could usually find something you liked to eat. Service was good and your drinks order was soon actioned, our waiter was Marco and he was very pleasant. You are allocated a table for dinner for your entire stay which we particularly liked, for breakfast, which we found to be excellent, you can sit anywhere.
The pool area was good and we never had a problem finding a sun bed even though it was busy as the weather was particularly good.
All areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean and a credit to Riu. I am not sure we would return here,
the management seem to have created a hotel which having spoken to several guests does not match it's guest profile.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have sun most of the day and the best views. Rooms facing Marina also get some su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

After the big refurbishment we visited in April/may 2013 and remarked on trip advisor that the slippery showers had no handrails. We went back in November and were delighted to discover that this has been remedied. What would be nice now is a hoist for the disabled in the indoor pool.

Room Tip: If you are not satisfied with your room allocation, the staff will try to move you if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevnjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just returned from a week at this 4 star hotel on the Costa del Sol. We took the half board option and were not disappointed. Breakfast was from 8am till 10.30am and for the evening meal you were given a choice of 2 sittings at either 6pm or 7.45pm. You were given a fixed table for the evening meal but could sit anywhere for breakfast. Both meals were buffet style and the choice was immense. You will not go hungry!
Our room was in the annexe on the first floor and was very comfortable. However, like many of the rooms, the view was not great, just looking across the road at an apartment block. However we could see the sea if we looked left along the side of the hotel. The best rooms would be those at the end of the hotel looking out over the sea and the outdoor swimming pool.
The outside pool is a very good size but as our stay was in November it was not warm enough to use. During the week we stayed we hit a bad patch of weather and most days the poolside was pretty much deserted. But there are plenty of sunbeds weather permitting.
The evening entertainment was quite acceptable. Mostly singers with backing tracks but on several nights the music played was fine for those who like to dance. Most of our fellow guests were in the 55-75 age group.
We felt that the maids and dining staff were very friendly and professional. Unfortunately the reception staff were a little stern and not particularly friendly.
Our other disappointment was the indoor pool, jacuzzi and steam room facilities. We only tried these once but on the day we did we found the pool was very cool, the steam room wasn't up to scratch and the jacuzzi wasn't working properly. The private leisure club we belong to locally is much better than the Riu's.
However, on the whole we were pleased and satisfied with the hotel. It is the second time we have stayed at a Riu and on both occasions we have been satisfied with the accommodation and the quality of the food.
We do have a problem with the general area though. The hotel is on the border of Torremolinos and Benalmadena. The nearby marina is very pleasant with lots of shops and restaurants. But most of the nearby infrastructure is very dated. Both resorts were developed in the 60's and 70's and many of the hotels and apartment blocks are poorly designed, pretty ugly and look run down. The Riu stands out as one of the better hotels in the area.
The road on which the hotel stands has several small supermarkets and a number of bars/restaurants but these were not very enticing.
We have decided we will not be returning to the Costa del Sol. If we return to Spain we will visit the Balaerics and the Canaries both of which we prefer.

Room Tip: The best rooms are high up and at the end of the main block or annexe facing the sea and overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east kilbride
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was our second trip this year to the Nautilus, first time a lovely sea view room, this time a very disappointing Garden Room probably the worst room in the Hotel 063, we had no natural daylight as the room was located at the very end of the building next to a delivery drive with a bamboo fence and heavy shrubbery completely dark at all times.
I had emailed a week prior to our arrival to request any room with a sea or marina view, so when I was given the room number I checked it out first and told the reception manager I was unhappy with the location I was told the hotel was full, I offered to pay for any upgrading but again I was told the hotel was full, the next day a female reception manager was on and she put us on a list saying we would be lettered the next day, nothing happened and on checking with reception again I was told we had a room change for the day before we were departing - No thanks, it would appear they have changed the system for room allocations after our booking was made direct with Riu, so please be aware of the 2 tier system now.
Apart from the room everything else was just perfect the cleanliness and the staff especially in the restaurant were all first class, we will be back but we will ensure we have a superior room.

Room Tip: No point in emailing your request in advance as this appears to be ignored, reception staff a bit al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franks60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Well what can on say first time at the Riu, have stopped in Torremolinos over the last four years The Riu was refurbished last winter and our usual venue was closed this winter so tried the Riu.The new refurbished room OK but very clinical would not have liked to be any bigger with the toilet and bidet at the end of the bathroom in almost a small cubical no room to move. Booked a
partial sea view and asked for a high floor also early sitting for dinner (raise the issue with reception 0nly to be told floor three is high also no other room available as the hotel was full and could not change late sitting for dinner. Pool in door freezing no chance of using it with that low temperature. Buffet food passable but no better than the average hotel fare. Very disappointed do not think I will return

Room Tip: Hi room if you can get it also close to the sea end of the hotel corner room again if you can get it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldcountryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Property: Hotel Riu Nautilus
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing