We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but could be a great hotel”
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Hotel's refurbishment has been tastefully done and upon arrival the colour scheme certainly aids relaxation with an airy and spacious lobby / communal sitting / games area. The room we had (145) was large, airy and scrupulously clean. The twin beds were really 3/4 beds and so were very comfortable. Bathroom fittings were good and all worked well. The only "criticisms" of the room were, 1) the chairs were more like dining chairs, rather than chairs to relax and read or watch TV in. A shame as it spoilt our enjoyment of our room. No doubt done to discourage guests from relaxing in their rooms as then you are not availing yourself of the bar and beverage service. 2) Likewise it always disappoints me to find no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms - again no doubt to encourage guests to spend money on purchasing at an unreasonable cost tea and or coffee through the bar service. Personally, this turns us off and we actively look for (more often then not) cheaper nearby establishments with the added benefits usually of free wi-fi! 3) the air conditioning was not available as it was winter, yet we found our room very warm at night.
Food in the restaurant was good albeit a little fish focused but as meat lovers we found something to eat every night.
The spa is excellent, although you have to entre from outside which can be discouraging if its cold and rainy and I agree with an earlier comment, closing at 6pm is too early especially for those guests on late dining at 7.45pm.
The location is good, although the "walk" to the nearest metro station is nearer a mile and uphill all the way, so my advice take a taxi. So if the hotel introduced easy chairs in the rooms, tea and coffee facilities and free Wi-Fi in rooms it would be a great hotel and I wouldn't have any hesitation in going back there.

Room Tip: Certainly if you go in January as we did I would recommend a room on the right hand side of the anne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

This Hotel had been recently renovated, so decided on a first time visit for 3 nights Jan 20th. We have stayed in almost every Hotel on the Costa del Sol, and this one was by far the best. The spacious bedrooms have the wow factor, lovely comfortable beds, wall mounted TV that had BBC, and the bathroom had a lovely walk in shower. Reception was very modern and the staff are all friendly and very helpful. The clientele were mainly German/Dutch/Scandanavian. Brits are in the minority, but it doesn't matter as all the guests were friendly and said hello! Breakfasts have something for everyone/sit where you want. Dinner (early or late sitting &7.15-the better one) you have the same table for two. Waiters/waitresses are efficient and helpful. We thought that for a 4* Hotel the drinks weren't too bad. In the bar/entertainment room I bought a half bottle of red (2 glasses) for 5 euros. A single glass was 2.75 euros. The Hotel opens up on to the promenade along the sea. The Marina is 5mins away, La Caruela with shops/restaurants/bars is 10 mins away. We were so impressed that we have booked 5 nights in Feb.
impressed that we have booked 5 nights there in February

Room Tip: You have to pay extra for a sea view, but all the rooms are so good its not worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel was lovely, very clean and modern. Service was great, rooms large. The main negative was the food; having sittings was very regimented and the buffet dinner was hit and miss in quality. The indoor pool was nice, although it would benefit from being heated and having longer opening times as it closed at 6pm.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank M_Hetherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent a week at the hotel at the end of November. The hotel delivered on all levels making it a superb holiday. Rooms are very spacious with bathroom with lovely large walk in shower. All areas are light, modern and airy. The food was superb, buffet style with a vast array of dishes which changed on a daily basis. All staff we came into contact with were extremely pleasant and helpful. The position of the hotel was ideal, on the seafront with easy walking in either direction .
Would definitely consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Celia204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel exceeded expectations, recently refurbished very modern rooms - comfortable beds, nice shower room with large walk in shower and spotlessly clean.
Location - Torremolinos was a very nice surprise, an endless promenade which runs practically to Malaga in one direction and a 10 minute walk to Benalmadena Marina in the other direction. Our favourite area was Carihuela which was very typically Spanish with some nice bars and just 10 minute walk away.
The train station (El Pinillo) is just a 15 minute walk behind the hotel, slightly uphill but easy walk with trains every 20 minutes to Fuengirola, Malaga Airport and Malaga City, all around 2 Euro's each way.
Food - Excellent breakfast - English breakfast, American breakfast, Salads, cereals etc.
Evening meal - First or second sitting with table allocated for duration of stay. Average soups and salads, show cooking for main course all very good and excellent desserts.
Drinks prices were slightly high but probably comparable to any other 4* hotels.
The assistant manager is always on hand in the restaurant in the evening to make sure you are happy with your stay and to report any issues you may have which is a nice touch; would return !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank chard6802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Got back today from a week at the Nautilus which was a great experience,all staff,waiters,receptionists,cleaners did a first class job,always pleasant and helpful the food was vairied and very nice,the a la carte restaurant was superb and is a must,of course the location is second to none in Torremolinos but the staff really make a holiday there a very special occasion,the best Spanish hotel I have visited.Very good value for money with good quality food you can eat and enjoy.I will be looking forward to next Christmas holiday and will be spending it there

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catherine1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just had a fantastic 3 weeks at the riu.staff fantastic and location superb.rooms very modern. Having 4 weeks next year.Marco our waiter superb.food fantastic free wine on xmas day.best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fargrangedaveandwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,534 reviews
2.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £105 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing