We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great location”
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great location”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived and were given a glass of champagne. We had paid for side sea view room but when we saw the location we asked to change. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to sea view room which was amazing. The public areas were lovely, the food was good with plenty of choice and the sea views beautiful. The spa area was nice too. Short stroll to the marina with shops restaurants and bars. We hope to return soon

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank fminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    483
    146
    24
    15
See reviews for
180
1,002
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas 2013, we booked the trip in June of 2013 so we could get the rooms we wanted,
We arrived at the hotel and were given our rooms they were fine apart from the room that was supposed to sleep 3 adults, there were 2 single beds and at the bottom of the single bed's there was a third bed ( if u like sleeping with feet in your face u will like it) we did not, the room was far far to small for 3 adults and should not be advertised for three adults.
We went to reception to ask if we could have a larger room, they told us they were booked up because it was Christmas but we could look on line and see if there were any rooms on there.
There were plenty to choose from on the website "but none at the hotel" ( does not make sense you can book on line but not in the hotel) we booked a single room on line which cost us more money as we had already paid when we booked in June, we had paid for half board in June and had to pay for b&b on line.(not happy as I had to pay twice for the same thing)
I have been emailing Riu since our return it takes them 5 weeks to reply to each email you send them that is why I am only just putting this review on.
They have said I new what I was booking when I booked it, but I am sorry I have never been to the hotel before and did not no the layout of the bedrooms because If I had of done there is no way I would have ever booked the room. Lost the first day of my holiday trying to book another room.
There were 7 of us staying at the hotel and everyone agreed the room are far to small for three adults.
As for the room it's self it was a very nice room, they do not celebrate Christmas like we do and there was not much going on, as for the food the breakfast was nice but the evening meal was very very poor, we ate out 5 nights out of seven.
The customer service department offered me an apology it took them 10 weeks to do this so very disappointed with the Riu group, Defiantly would not consider booking with them again there are far nicer hotels we have stayed in Benalmadena. Also the sauna was broken the whole of our stay.

Room Tip: Do not book the rooms for three adults they are far to small you cannot move with three beds in a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacquelineL90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Riu Nautilus in late September / early October 2013.
On arrival we were very impressed by the modern looking reception area and its grey and purple colour scheme. Check in was quick, polite, friendly and efficient and the complimentary glass of cava was very welcome.

Although our room was smaller than some it was quite sufficient and had an amazing view as it was at the front of the hotel overlooking the pool and beach. There was a charge for the safe in the room, which is usual for most hotels and was advertised as such. We preferred to empty the mini-bar and put our own drinks in (we checked with hotel reception first and they were fine with this).

The bed was one of the most comfortable we’ve slept in on holiday – and we’ve slept in many good 4 star hotels.

All staff in the hotel were pleasant, friendly and efficient. Cleanliness was excellent in all areas.

The large pool was the same depth throughout meaning that people could spread out and it was excellent for anyone who isn’t a confident swimmer. Pool towels could be changed each morning at reception. The hotel had the usual problem with sunbeds as people went out early to reserve them – but as we are early risers this wasn’t a problem for us. There are many sunbeds so even later people could still find some, although they might not have been able to pick their area.

The gym and spa (next to the pool area) was small but had an adequate range of equipment, all in good condition and was immaculately clean.

Food is buffet service with two sittings for Dinner. For dinner a sitting and a table was allocated on arrival but both of these could be changed and we were asked on our first night if we wanted to do this. We thought that the tables inside were a bit closer together than we would like, so we opted to change to a table outside and were very happy there.

There was plenty of choice of food at the various cooking stations. Drinks could be signed for and paid at the end of the holiday or paid for on the night in the restaurant.

There was an offer of use of the A La Carte restaurant one night during our stay. We took advantage of the offer and the food and service were excellent.

There was entertainment in the hotel in the evening, which was repeated for the second week, but we preferred to go out an about to the local bars so can’t really comment on this.
The hotel is on the promenade with key code entry from the gate. The Marina is a 5 minute walk to the right on exit from the gate. La Carihuela is a 15 minute stroll to the left.
A previous reviewer (Siluriandevon) stated that there was no senior manager or director present. During our stay the deputy manager was constantly coming round the restaurant asking people if they were happy or had any problems. He was very friendly and approachable and clearly had full authority and responsibility for ensuring people were satisfied. That reviewer was extremely dissatisfied with the hotel and was unhappy that his room didn’t have flowers and wine. We honestly can’t understand why this is a problem. Both can be bought cheaply locally if this is really important to anyone.

This was our first visit to the Riu Nautilus. We spoke to a number of older guests who had been going to the hotel for a number of years and they weren’t so keen on the modern refurbishment. It seemed to us that the hotel is trying to appeal to a wider age range and we thought it was lovely.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Riu Nautilus and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: High floor in the main building looking towards the marina for lovely views and afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dreamingsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds england
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one week in early April. Have been quite a few times in the past, but first visit since the refurbishment. Have to say the Hotel looks really great with the new colour scheme. The rooms are really smart and the public areas look very up to date. Some minor niggles are still evident, the tables in the main dining area are squeezed in with very little room. It's not to bad if you can get a table for two near the window, but there are not enough for everybody. The entertainment is a bit limited but that seems to be the case in all Riu Hotels. In the week we visited there were two good acts but the remainder were very poor. Food , service and cleanliness still as good as ever. For regular Riu visitors the Gold Card does not get you an upgrade any more, you have to pay. You need a platinum card to get an upgrade now. All in all a great place for a holiday on the Costa del Sol, and we shall without doubt visit again in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank inspector77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I smiled when I read the English contributions on this website about this hotel. Obviously the contributors do not know the Riu chain is owned by Tui which in turn owns Thomson's. Riu started out as a small chain in Mallorca many years ago and now has 100 hotels worldwide. It is still run by the Riu family, now the 3rd generation of the same family. Of course Tui is German owned hence the large number of Germans at this fine hotel. We are fortunate to share a hotel with our fellow Europeans who demand such a high quality of service. When travelling from the UK leave all your prejudices and negative baggage behind, don't read the Daily Mail or Express and you will have an anxious free, fun filled vacation. Bring them with you and read the above newspapers and you will soon start having negative thoughts that will leave you having a holiday that you deserve.....miserable and full of moans. This is a superb hotel with great rooms, staff and facilities that are the best on this coast....relax, chill and enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LondonHolidaybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Hubby and I have stayed in this location on 3 previous occasions in 2 different hotels but this time we thought we'd try a different hotel. We weren't disappointed with our choice of the Riu Nautilus. Yes, it's a little more expensive than some of the others but, you get what you pay for. The very friendly champagne welcome by receptionist (Anna Maria - I think) got us off to a lovely start. This continued on when we entered our room. Well-appointed and recently refurbished with a lovely sea view. (And the biggest wardrobe we've ever had in a hotel!) The room was well kept and the cleaning ladies were all very pleasant.
We couldn't get back into our room one morning after breakfast but the cleaning lady was on hand. She made a quick radio call and, within 10 mins, a maintenance chap came and fixed our door lock. He was also very pleasant and courteous.
Moving on to the restaurant. The choice and quality of the food, both at breakfast and dinner is excellent. If you can't find something to suit your palate then you're way too fussy. There was always a choice of red meat, white meat, fish and veggy for every evening meal with desserts to die for. Breakfast had a host of choice too. From the full cooked bacon, eggs, sausage, etc. to pancakes, breads, meats, cheeses, pastries, cereals, fruits, etc. The restaurant staff were always very friendly, helpful and courteous. Even the hotel managers made themselves known to you in the restaurant and were always on hand if you needed them. (Not hiding away like in some other places!) The only negative thing I would say about the restaurant is that some of the tables are too close together so that you sometimes felt that you were on a table of 4 rather than dining as a couple.
The entertainment in the bar area was the usual array of hotel acts. Singers, keyboard players, flamenco dancers. Pretty standard stuff.
All in all, we had a lovely time at this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

what a brilliant hotel the place was spotless the staff was very friendly very close to the beach for walking to the port for a little shopping the hotel as just been refurbished the color scheme was very relaxing, the restaurant the food was very good great choice for breakfast and dinner. the only draw back i can say there where no tea or coffee facility's in the room, we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,819 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,838 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,635 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Property: Hotel Riu Nautilus
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing