We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you get a high room”
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Make sure you get a high room”
Reviewed 18 July 2009

we stayed at this hotel for 8 days. Welcome at reception was average. We found lots of staff on reception with limited English. Hotel was 75% Germans. We asked for a high room (floor 2 or 3) and had to wait a couple of hours for someone to check out. (We arrived at 11.30). The wait was well worth it. If you don't have a sea view some of the balconies on the lower floors are buried in the gardens. As it was our balcony looked out on the service road next to hotel although it did not inconvience us that much. Noise was OK. The hotel is strange in that it takes a while to find your way around. Reception area is dark and rooms are OK but bathroom not spacious.

On the plus side the location is superb right on the beach and about 5 minutes walk to bellamedena. The pool area is large and the swimming pool usually fairly empty. Loads of unbeds and umbrellas. Don't worry if you can't get an umbrella just ask a member of staff and they will find one or pinch someone elses that isn't being used. Despite the number of Germans the only people to reserve beds seemed to be the English. Sunbeds and umbrellas are on beach but they are 9 euros a day. The service at the bar and restaurant was excellent and the food up to the usual Riu standard. Entertainment in the evening was average but there are lots of bars, pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance.

All in all acceptable but not outstanding. Would I recommend it NO would I put someone off going again NO. Would I go back again NO

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fgwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    484
    147
    24
    15
See reviews for
180
1,004
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Just returned from a 10 day stay at the Riu Nautilus. First visit to a Riu hotel and definately won't be our last. This is a really good quality hotel, with excellent service from friendly staff, quiet, relaxing public areas and large comfortable bedrooms that have great soundproofing, so you are not aware of people in the adjacent rooms. Food was good, varied & plentiful. The position, directly opposite the beach, right on the promenade adjacent to Benalmadena Marina and a short stroll in the other direction to the lovely Carihuela area, makes this hotel a perfect choice for a relaxing break in the sun.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bubblesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We have Just got back from a weeks stay. we thought the hotel was very clean & the food very good. All staff always pleasant, Excellent location. The only negative we could give this hotel was that the pool was very cold and could do with been heated.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redcar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Have stayed at the hotel 4 times over the last few years. Friendly staff great food. Evening meal they allocate you your table for the length of your stay and allow you to choose early or late sittings.
There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and you havnt got to be up at the crack of dawn to get one.
It is about 5 minutes walk to Benalmadena harbour along the promenade which is directly in front of the hotel.
The only downside is that if you have a room overlooking the road it can get a bit noisy on the weekends but ask for a high floor or a room with a pool view and you can avoid these problems.

  • Liked — Location and food
  • Disliked — Can be Noisy if overlooking the road
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank petelesbenbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadow_girlDK
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Me and my family just returned yesterday from 8 days at the Riu Nautilus. We are used to stay with the Riu Chain, when we are abroad, so we normally know what to expect. We were 5 adults and one child, which would need 3 rooms. We booked the rooms in April this year. We were there because my mum just turned 50, so this would be a great trip for all of us, to be together and celebrate her.

We booked this hotel, because of its location, and because of the views from the rooms, as we saw in the brochure from the hotel.

We arrived very very excited to see the hotel and the rooms, but got extremely disappointed. First of all could we not get the rooms beside eachother. We are used to sit out on the terrace every evening and talk to eachother, and since we have a mother and her child with us, its very important for us, that we have the rooms beside eachother, so she also can stay out with the rest of us, while the child is sleeping. That was the first disappointment. All the rooms was either down in a basement, with no view at all to the sea, but looked directly in a huge tree, or
with the view in a stone wall. It was so depressing.
We were promised to have a great view of the sea and all the rooms together.
We went to talk to the manager, which name was Jose, and he was extremely rude. We explained him the situation calmly, and told him about the mother and her child, but all he could say was " its not my problem", "I dont care about your problem" and rolling his eyes behind our backs. It was really really a bad service. We complained to the management all day long, and after explaining to him 5 times throughout the day, he could "maybe" promise us new rooms in 4 days. We got the rooms 3 days before our departure, and on that day, we felt the holiday began.

The only star in the management was a girl called " Carmen Galvez". She was extremely sweet and caring. She came many times a day, and asked how we were, if everything was fine and so on. Without her im sure we had left the hotel the same day. Thanks Carmen! :)

Food and rooms were fine. If you know how Riu is decoration there rooms and how the evening buffet normally is, then you will not be disappointed here. Extremely good cleaning in the rooms.

Location of the hotel is extremely good. There is a long beach promenade, where every evening is a splendid marked, where you can buy a lot of things.
Right in front of the hotel is the beach. You need to walk for 1 minut and you are there. You can reserve the sun beds, so you are sure to get the beds all in front of the beach. That is a very good service. If you are interested in doing water sports, then there are plenty of offers to do that.

When booking the rooms for your stay, you need to make sure, that you dont get rooms on the street with lots of bars. If you get those rooms, it will feel like being neighbour to a disco until 1 AM every night. I read this warning in another review before going to Riu Nautilus, and wanted to see for myself if that information was right...And it is! So watch out :)

  • Liked — Food and the Beach
  • Disliked — Manegement and views from the room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Shadow_girlDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve stayed at this hotel and as yet I have never been disappointed or had any problems.

Upon arrival it does appear a little old-fashioned but this feels right for this particular hotel – it’s a friendly and relaxed hotel ideally situated for a sun, sea and sand summer holiday with the family – old and young alike seem to enjoy it here – however I know from past experience that if you visit in the winter months it is likely to resemble a retirement home!

The rooms are clean and spacious with traditional furnishings in keeping with the rest of the hotel. This year we opted for a junior suite – I wouldn’t bother paying the extra for one again but if you do decide to have one be aware that at least some of them have an interconnecting door to the next room – we could hear everything very clearly from our neighbours room and were very conscious that we too could be disturbing them.

The staff are friendly and efficient and seem to remember all their regulars and make you feel very welcome.

The food is very good with something for everyone – an old-fashioned custom that many hotels no longer seem to do is that if you choose to have wine with your meal they will label the bottle for you and it will be at your table again the following evening so no need to splash out on a new bottle every night.

There are a good variety of bars and restaurants close by to the hotel – ‘Champagne Charlies’ (opposite the Sol Aloha Puerto) is one of the nicest places to go for a drink, would also recommend ‘Rumours’ (almost opposite hotel). For a daytime snack/meal it has to be ‘The Dark side of the Moon’ (leaving hotel from main entrance: turn right and continue along until you get to the ‘Farmacia’ turn right and its on your right when you get down to the promenade – or from promenade exit of hotel turn left and continue along promenade until you see the restaurants set back after the large lawned area – either way it’s only about 5-10 minute walk. The food is excellent and the owners and staff are lovely. For a good ‘Happy Hour’ I recommend 6-7pm at the ‘Sol Aloha Puerto’ – hotel itself is a bit of a dump these days but their champagne cocktails are very good!

  • Liked — were it is - nice beach and not far from the Marina
  • Disliked — no internet connection in rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mixtures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

My partner and myself spent a welcomed winter break here in January having the previous year enjoyed our stay in Torremolinos. This year we chose the excellently located Riu Nautilus, which along with a couple of other select 4 star hotels shares itself with the impressive promanade stretching from the Puerto Benalmadena marina right down to Torremolinos itself.
Th e Riu nautilus itself is a grand affair, an imposing enterance opens up to a modern and spotless reception with extremely competant and welcoming multi lingual staff. The rooms are modern, spacious and well kept with a good sized bathroom, all with well appointed amenities. Although some rooms get a 'partial' sea viewand are bereft of the sunthe pleasent gardens and pool area more than make up for most of this.
The pool is an averaged sized free form offering, but with the fantastic beach only metres away, this does not become an issue.
Dining at this hotel is a more than enjoyable experiance with a wide choice of options. A slightly small salad section maybe its only downfall, but even the pickiest of eaters could find something to fill their plate with. In general quality overcame quantity, except on the vary sparse occasion where the choice was good as opposed to excellant. This aside, the feel of the restaurant was impeccable, from the always busy but available staff, to the fresh replenishment of 'feature' meals by the chefs and the management presence ensuring an impressively run dining scene.
overall this hotel rates highly, and with good reason and i wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again for a winter getaway.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick_Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,825 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,844 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,637 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Property: Hotel Riu Nautilus
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing