We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riu Hotel”
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We always stay at Riu hotels as we find everything about the chain to be of a very high standard. Our room was clean, bright & spacious although it smelled strongly of cig smoke. I found the bed quite comfortable but my wife would have liked an extra pillow. The bathroom while not too spacious was also excellent. The pool area was nothing out of the ordinary.The surface area was not too large but it did the job perfectly & it backed out onto the seafront walk & beach. The food served at the breakfast & dinner buffets was excellent- we enjoyed every meal. One thing I certainly did not like was been allocated a table with strangers every night. During our stay the hotel was full of elderly germans. I would have preferred a table to ourselves & did request it when I booked but to no avail. Also I could not understand why tea & coffee was inc with your breakfast but not with your dinner- you had to order it & it was charged to your room. The cocktails in the bar were also the weakest I have ever tasted in a Riu Hotel. I'm just been picky I suppose as overall we enjoyed our stay & will continue to use Riu Hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rodzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Nautilus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in November. Hotel is classed as Torremolinos but closer to Benalmadena being only 5 minute walk to marina. Highlight of the hotel is the food, buffet style but far superior to usual type of buffet found in many Spanish hotels, with many items cooked as you wait. Downside is not many dedicated tables for two so good chance you will be sat on a table with someone else. Excellant location with lovely promenade at front with stretches right up to Torremolinos and beyond. Good local transport, with buses and boats nearby but quite a distance to railway station. Must see is Paloma Park I have visited many parks in the world including Central Park in New York which is a favourite but this whilst only small ranks as one of the best with all sorts of wildlife roaming freely a perfect oasis in the centre of town. Mijas is worth a visit (half day) with a very small but atmospheric bull ring worth a visit (not when there is a bull fight on)! At rear of Hotel there are numerous small friendly bars with lager at 1 euro a pint. Would definately stay again probably not at height of season but ideal at this time with weather still in the mid 70"s.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulukRishton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The hotel has absolutely nothing for children of any age, but the staff are good with them and freindly in general. Pool is cold and very, very standard. Beach is on the doorstep and a good standard. Great food (by Spain's standard) and we are very fussy eaters. Dated decor and furnishings but very, very clean. The beds are the hardest i have ever tried to sleep on! A four star hotel but i would not say it lives up to the Thompson Platinum standard. Would i go back? Only if they got decent beds and lowered the price. We booked direct with the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

First impression was friendly helpful staff. This continued throughout our short stay. Special mention for Xaviour in dining room who was brilliant craic & we really missed him when he took a few days holiday.Hotel has a fantastic location right beside the beach & close to both Marina & Carrihuela. Hotel room was a bit cramped for 3 adults with one bed attached on to end of twin beds. As we were only there for 5 days it was no big problem.Food was good, sufficient variety for our stay. Staff in dining room were top class. Customer Service is obviously a priority in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Fantastic 10 night stay.
We were lucky with a room overlooking the pool which also gave a sea view. Room was large, comfortable, spotlessly clean and had air-con that worked quietly and efficiently.
Also lucky to be allocated one of the few tables for two for dinner. Food was fantastic.
All the staff, but especially in the dining room, were exceptional.
Pool area cleaned daily, gardens kept immaculate, didn't see one bit of rubbish anywhere.
We prefer to use the beach, so just out of the back gate over the prom and straight on to the sand. The weather was perfect too!
Didn't go to any of the entertainment ( which I have to admit didn't look brilliant) but enjoyed drinks on the upstairs veranda looking out to sea most evenings.
Have stayed at the Riu Belplaya a few times but the Nautilus has the edge. It seemed the majority of guests were middle aged, with a nice mix of nationalities.
A most enjoyable experience, well done Riu, we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gregory9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Arrived on the 16 September staying for one week, the weather was very mixed had 2 days of rain but the temp was a constant 27 degrees day and night so did not need a cardi/jacket in the evening. The Hotel is spotless, the rooms are huge and nicely furnished. If you like a quiet hotel I would recommend it, if you like it a bit more lively then this is not for you. We stayed in a room (No. 144) on the first floor overlooking the side road and the Sol Timus, had a side sea view which was fine, we enjoyed watching people coming and going when sitting on our balcony, yes the bin men did come once a day (they were only there for a few ,minutes they were so quick) but the bins were not on view, they were in a building underneath the Tinsol and we didn't notice any smells. Also, if you have your patio doors open when sleeping you will hear the noise outside, so close your doors and put the air con on, we slept like a log for 7 nights. Yes the sun beds do get snapped up very early in the morning, so if you can't beat em join em, I was up at 08.00 to put our towels out, you have to do this unfortunately, not our scene really but a necessity in this case. Pool could do with updating but functional. Food very good we always something we liked, entertainment a bit hit and miss, some good acts some poor. We found the hotel rather too quiet for our liking, but this may suit some. Would we go back, probably in ten years time when we are a bit older.
Unusually for Thomsons no holiday rep visits this hotel for English guests .....although guests of other nationalities who booked via the same TUI group did have a visiting rep ..... would you call that discrimination against us English???

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsTigra_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Stayed for one week in August. Stayed in many RIU's including the Bel Playa and Puerto Marina in the same resort (both far superior to this). Bedroom was ground floor facing the Sol Timor right at the end of the hotel near the beach. Less than 10 yards from our balcony huge litter bins on the road outside which late evening certainly gave off a very unpleasant aroma. This road is the access for delivery vehicles to the beach bars in the vacinity and 5am - 5.30am each morning some delivery or other would roll up - banging and clattering their goods. Two mornings we were awoken at 4.30am with people getting back into their cars who had been to local nightclubs. We are in no way spoilsports - but when pay for a four star hotel, you expect to get at least one full nights sleep - it is supposed to be a holiday. (one out of the seven nights would have done!). Asking for an alternative room (on two occasions) we were told by a very abrupt receptionist that the occupation was full. End of story. Manic around the swimming pool with some rickety old sun loungers and finally a Head waiter who really took himself far to seriously. Shabby and certainly not to the standard of a great many other RIU's who have continuity of quality throughout their entire hotel. Staff on the whole polite with the exception of reception. Rundown and looking tired and jaded not what we had expected. To those who say this is a good hotel I would recommend you go through the RIU brochure and visit some others - it would open your eyes to what quality and comfort should be.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazerLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,893 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,938 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,238 reviews
2.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
#13 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £102 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing