We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bajondillo Apartments
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I visited Torremolinos last month for a short break with a friend.
Booked the flights and hotel through lastminute.com, a complete bargain. Read that the Bajondillo Apartments offer free airport transfers. I would recommend you track down the contact details on the hotel's own website (not hard to find) and contact them requesting the transfer, as this isn't automatically included if you book with an outside agent. I did this and there was no problem at all. We arrived in Malaga airport and were promptly greeted by the hotel rep. Transfer from airport to hotel took about 20 mins, very convenient.

Torremolinos is a fairly quiet place, with mainly tourists inhabiting the seafront. Ideal for a nice chilled few days at the beach. Plenty of restaurants serving gorgeous cocktails and fresh seafood (at many of them you can see the food being cooked in front of you) and we would particularly recommend the restaurant directly opposite the hotel Bajondillo, called El Velero, which served lovely fresh fish and paella, top notch cocktails and sangria, and had a lovely atmosphere. The manager recognised us when we came back a second time and was very helpful and smiley.
Plenty of supermarkets and little delis to get your food from, lovely town too, bit touristy, but worth a walk round in the evening.
We also took a trip to Aqualand whilst in Torremolinos, a good fun filled day out, just what you'd expect from a waterpark. Look out at the airport and in the hotel for leaflets offering money off, as it is an expensive day out!

The Hotel itself is right on the beach, in a lovely location. Our room was basic, but clean and just what we needed really. A studio apartment with kitchenette, spacious bathroom and small balcony overlooking beach on a slant. We could actually see a Burger King from our balcony (LOL!) but there was no drifting smell or noise, so it was not an issue.
The room was cleaned wach day with fresh towels.
There were various other facilities thaat we didn't take advantage of, including a large restaurant (that didn't appear very busy the time we were there) and some leisure rooms. The pool was large and at the front of the hotel, with grassy gardens surrounding it. There is a small charge for beds and brollys, but we were happy to lie on our towels on the grass. On the beach (a 10 seconds walk from the hotel entrance!) the sand was crazily hot so we needed to hire beds and a parasol, which we got for 4.50 euros each- I would recommend having a wander up the beach to find the best price!.
The hotel staff were helpful, but not very cheerful. To be fair to them, they were able to grant all our requests easily and all spoke perfect English.

Overall recommendation: Definitely a lovely hotel, affordable yet ideally located. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to get away for a few days for chilling at the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mooshaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    574
    224
    61
    41
See reviews for
218
658
57
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed for a long weekend and there are positive and negatives:

Not really suitable for a 'real' self catering holiday as there is a sink, 2 gas hobs and thats it. No work surface, no kettle, no room for a bin near the kitchen area. Bathroom is a little dated and whilst the shower was powerful, the spray went everywhere and the shower curtain smelt very musty.

We stayed 3 nights and the room was only cleaned once so when on our 2nd night we did as was requested and put our dirty towels in the bath for replacement, the room was not cleaned and hence, the towels not replaced.

Some may say a postive, others a negative, but there were very few english at this hotel which did not bother us the slightest. If you want one of the higher, comfier white sunbeds then I think you would have to put your towels out the night before as we are early risers and by 6am these were all reserved. If you have a room that faces the pool and the beach then be prepared for late night noise and there is a singer on the terrace each night which carries on well past mid-night.

Having said all that it is in a great location right across the road from the beach and adj to a fantastic restaurant 'Bistro Europa'

Would we return, Yes, probably but next time with our eyes wide open!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojouk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The Hotel (Apartments) are very much dated and could do with modernising.
Insufficient sun beds - there were plenty of towels sunbathing for hours at a time without owners.
The room cleaning could be a lot better (or maybe we just had someone who couldn't be bothered). Our fridge was on the lowest setting (number 1) but the milk and water froze - it took 3 trips to the reception on 3 seperate days to have the problem rectified.
The balcony was never swept or mopped and contained remnants of nut shells from (I guess) the previous room occupants. The balcony rail was never cleaned of Bird droppings from Saturday on our arrival until the Saturday we left.
Entertainment at night was very repetative with the singer singing the same songs every night (must say though that Torremolinos in general is very short on entertainment at night)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4fromAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Hotel was very dated,staff was helpful when they wanted to be. Not the English resort it used to be,more a Spanish holiday resort now.Didn't seem to be much going on at night, very few entertainment venues,for the English anyway. The only saving grace was the Bistro Europa Restaurant,Staff were very friendly there and meals were superb.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed here mid-June for 9 nights. We are a family of 4 with 2 young kids under 6 years old. Our stay here was fantastic and we cant fault it. The staff are excellent and the pool is the cleanest and family friendly we ever had. We all stayed in the one studio apartment with an extra bed put in. We had loads of room and it was cleaned every day. The rooms have a little kitchen in it with delph and cutlery with a small fridge. There is loads of little shops around so ye can buy your bread, milk(the blue one),ham and cheese etc etc there. I would recommend the small shop at the back of the hotel on your way to the steps to go up to the main square(use the elevator only 50c each way, kids were free). There is a very good and cheap supermarket about 10 mins walk away, go out the front by the beach(only accross the road by the way) turn left, keep walking straight, passed round about, go as far as Irish Pub Shennigans (would not recommend, ignorant owner, went in to watch match, Tipperary were playing Clare, he told me to "read sign on door not open till one" bad business man) anyway go under arch there and supermarket is on other side of road-bottle of v.nice wine 95c :-).
I would highly recommend Torremolinos as a place to visit. Its very close to airport and is clean and friendly with the best value restaurant and quality food for us being "La Carcelola" up in the main part of town. Lowrys around corner from hotel is also good.
The hotel can not be faulted for value, location, staff, rooms with A/C, pool, families, peace and quiet, relaxation and overall great holiday.
We had our room foe 59 euro a night this can get more expensive as the season goes on or cheaper to 49 euro a night with no extra bed.
Best of luck hope this helps you.

Room Tip: just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishrovertipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

just returned from the bajondillo with a group of friends for a 3 day short break would not contemplate ever returning to the bajondillo or torremelinos for that matter the place is stuck in a time warp(late 70s)ok if your dutch i suppose.staff quite rude especially the receptionist with long black hair and glasses,she should be working on her own somewhere with no contact with public.on the few positives breakfast is ok for 8 euros and the pool is nice and clean .the rooms are ok if you never want to be in them.overall not a good experience

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher_wright3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Well firstly the staff need to be more friendly as they guy at reception seemed quite rude. Apaart from that the hotel was lovely for the price you pay. It literally is right by the beach and we had a lovely view of the sea on our balacony. It's not a far walk to the main centre although you can use the lift which onlcy cost 50 cnt to save your poor feet the hassle of walking up loads of steps. The room was spacious and the bathroom decent with a lovely power shower. All round quality hotel for the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bally28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.8 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bajondillo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bajondillo Apartments

Property: Bajondillo Apartments
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bajondillo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bajondillo is in the heart of the Costa del Sol and right in front of the beach. All our Apartments have an excellent distribution and orientation as they all face the sea. The atmosphere is peaceful and inviting.Big garden with swimming pool with sun beds, hairdresser, PC with internet access, free WiFi in whole complex, a la carte restaurant “La Brasería”, cafeteria, self service laundry, external medical service (24h) and free Airport Shuttle-Bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bajondillo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bajondillo Apartments Hotel Torremolinos
Torremolinos Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Apartments Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing