We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Value”
Review of La Barracuda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Barracuda Hotel
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 28 November 2011

You are paying for the Location as I am coming for the beach and it is important for me. Room is clean and Service is good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdullah78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

Me and my wife have just spent a week at the la barracuda from the 11th to the 19th of november 2011.The hotel has a excellent location,you walk out of the pool area onto the promenade between torremolinos and benalmadena.we paid for a superior room at the time of booking which gives you aa pool and sea view this is worth the extra money as the rooms on the other side just look at another complex,people at the hotel called this the DARK SIDE,the superior rooms even get a fridge included in the price.Staff we found to be very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel,but the entertainment was very poor in the bar,the bar itself was a letdown as it was underground with no windows and no atmosphere,but there are hundreds of bars nearby,we found browns bar which was friendly and close by.The rooms are dated,i expect they are the original fixtures from the 1970's,but were clean and comfortable and we both slept well.The restaurant was very good,the breakfast was typical costa spanish offering of eggs,bacon,frankfurters,pastries and cold meats.The evening meals were also very nice but a limited choice,usually a pork chop.chicken dish or paella,but we have no complaints about the quality.We have stayed in a few hotels in the area over the last few years and depending on the price would stay here again for our next visit.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room it may cost a bit more but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianshona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Myself and my better half in our late 20s are just back from 1 week of winter sun and stayed here in the la Barracuda, the hotel, staff and location where all excellent and the rooms where nice and clean and always tidied also beds and towels changed every day, the hotel is a stone through away from Benalmadena port and a 10 minute walk from torremelinos centre, the hotel is smack bang on the beach in an excellent location, the staff where helpfull when needed, the only criticism i have of the hotel is the food and the lack of choice myself and my girlfriend where halfboard and very glad of this as the food and choice is not something that we could have put up with for a whole week a better choice of different foods and more fruit and veg would certainly give this hotel the wow factor for any1 staying, the hotel entertainment was also occupying we had a reptile night which was good got photos and that with a python, also the dj night and the disco nights gave us something to sit in and relax in the hotel for, all that said i would definately stay here again with the gr8 location and cleanliness of the hotel, although i would definately go self catering or bed and breakfast but nothing more unless the food choice was widened.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have just come back from a week at the Barracuda. We have stayed twice before. Last year we were given a pool view which was lovely. This year we got road side room but had requested pool view. We heard about the extra cost to move. We did not have the option to pay extra to have pool view when we booked and that was the same last year. So what has changed with this hotel. Food was okay for what we paid but was mostly the same every day.
Staff were okay but could have been a bit nicer. There was an awful smell in the bathroom every morning that appeared to be coming up the pipes. Smell was like brussel sprouts. Yuk.
We poured their shampoo down sink and bidet to try and get rid of it.

Room Tip: Pool view is best. Road side not very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolemidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was about the 4th time we'd stayed at the Barracuda and, unfortunately, it will be our last. Very disappointed with our room; have previously had a standard room overlooking the pool and we requested this again. However, we were given a room overlooking the road and when we asked to be moved (the hotel was by no means full), we were asked to pay an extra 20 euros per night as, apparently, all standard rooms overlook the road! We were already paying an extra 2 euros per day for the hire of the fridge so we weren't prepared to pay an extra 20 euros per night in a 3 star hotel when we could've stayed for less in a 4 star hotel with better views and rooms with separate bedroom and living area.
The quality of the breakfast had also gone downhill; the fried eggs were swimming in oil, the scrambled egg was watery too. The chef thought it was a good idea to put ham in with the scrambled egg on a few mornings (not great when you're a vegetarian) and mushrooms in on other mornings. The orange juice was far too concentrated and the tea tasted bland.
As for the staff, there were one or two familiar faces who would smile and be courteous but, on the whole, a miserable bunch!
Sun loungers around the pool were scarce and more than a handful were broken making them either uncomfortable or unusable and to secure one for the day you definitely had to have your towel out on it before 9.30am. The "bald patches" of mud under the parasols really need some attention also. The pool rarely seemed to be cleaned of grass and one day a worm had to be retrieved from the bottom of the pool by another guest!
Daily room cleaning is possibly the only positive remark about this hotel now. The maids cleaned the bathroom very well and replaced the towels, even though we'd re-hung them (as requested if we didn't want them replaced). My small complaint would be that the balcony rarely seemed to be swept or washed over and, after a few days, the floor became splattered with pigeon poo so you had to watch where you walked.
Only the two bedside lamps worked in the room; one plug was basically falling apart and certainly wouldn't pass any UK safety standards! As for the "selection of English speaking tv channels", there are two! BBC World News and a finance channel. Good job we didn't want to watch tv on the evening!
So, disappointingly, we've seen this hotel go downhill over the last few years. My motto had always been "you get what you pay for" - unfortunately, they seem to have increased their rates but not updated anything. Such a shame because the actual hotel's location is brilliant.

Location/Area: Plenty of places to eat along the prom and also just as you turn left out of the main entrance is Champi's Bar, which is very popular and serves good food. The tapas bar, just 150 metres from the hotel entrance, also serves good food and will do a take away service that comes in handy if you don't feel like going out one night! Chinese Restaurant/Take away, again just 150 metres from the hotel entrance, serves lovely food. Our favourite was the home cooking found at The Half Moon (turn left outside of hotel and cross to the other side of the road, go around to the right and the Half Moon is on the opposite side) - Lesley will always give a great East End welcome and the dishes are more than ample.
There are a number of other good places to eat and drink if you turn left and left again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are best as these usually get the sun on them throughout the day and earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have just returned from a 7 day break at this hotel and overall we were really pleased with the hotel, but it has to be said it is far from luxurious and is in need of some modernisation. Its selling point is the location – you are just metres from the beach and within walking distance from the marina at Benalmadena and the shops at Torremelinos.
The hotel itself is based on 10 floors and accessed by 3 lifts. All rooms have a balcony and have either a partial view or full view of the sea. We had a double bed in our room and it was very comfy.
There was an air conditioning unit that worked, and was also free, but it did not have any controls on the front so it was either on or off, which did get a bit too cold! It also leaked out on the balcony into a bucket, which we had to empty on a daily basis.
There was a walk in wardrobe, which had plenty of room to hang things but only had 4 coat hangers. I used a chair in the room to hang my clothes over the back, but there was plenty of drawer space. There was no kettle in the room, and no option to hire one – but you could hire a fridge and a safe. The room and bathroom was kept really clean with a daily maid service, and the shower was excellent with plenty of hot water no matter what time of day.
The dining room was spacious, and again very clean. Food was varied and had a good choice at both breakfast and evening meal. Breakfast had choice of cereal, fruit, bread/pasties, cheese/meat, and also hot option of bacon and egg etc. Evening meal offered soup, salad then choice of main course. There was always choice of fish, meat and vege option...followed by a selection if ice creams and desserts.
The pool at the hotel got very busy every day, and unless you were up at the crack of dawn to put your towels on your bed you would struggle to get one - we went to the beach instead but this was at a cost of 9euros for 2 beds. But it has to be said the beaches themselves are kept immaculately clean every day.
There is a bar outside and entertainment every night of the week. We personally did not enjoy the entertainment as felt it was aimed at an older audience but the bar was busy every night so some seemed to enjoy it.
Overall the hotel was basic but provided a good base for our week in Spain. I would not tell anyone not to go here, but I would say I have stayed in better !

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andiWestMid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel location is what really makes it fantastic. 15 mints walk to the Marina and in the opposite direction 15 mints to the lovely shops. If you walk further 30 mints you will find yourself right in the torrimolinos shopping main area. You can get to that by bus which you can take from the main road which is 7 mints walk.

The hotel itself is out of date. I would recommend room 914 as it has double balcony and amazing sea views. Next best would be 814.

The room doesn't have a kettle. We got our own.

They charge you extra for the fridge and the Safe.

The rooms are cleaned on daily bases. However the rooms feel out of date. The condition of the fridge and surrounding areas are poor.

The night entertainment was bad. And the age group of the hotel visitors 50plus.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seorocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropicana
Hotel Tropicana
#53 of 71 in Torremolinos
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Buensol
Apartments Buensol
#50 of 71 in Torremolinos
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,263 reviews
0.3 mi away
SENTIDO Amaragua
SENTIDO Amaragua
#22 of 71 in Torremolinos
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barracuda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barracuda Hotel

Address: Avenida Espana 5, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £32 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barracuda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated on the beach, very well located, close to major points of interest in the area of ​​leisure, and in the amusement park, water parks, thematic parks, dolphinarium, an area of ​​shops, bars, clubs and restaurants . has the larger garden area with lawn and large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Barracuda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barracuda Torremolinos
Barracuda Hotel
La Barracuda Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing