We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Barracuda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Barracuda Hotel
Ranked #39 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

wonderful location across the road from a lovely beach and the sunbeds on the beach are really comfortable. Food was ok but not a lot of choice. Our room was fine and my partner said the beds were the best he had slept on when on holiday. Staff were friendly and efficient.entertainment in the evening was all Spanish as the hotel was mostly Spanish guests, but there are plenty of good bars within a two minute walk as you walk out of the front door turn left and walk to the end of the road and turn left,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anntravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    225
    231
    75
    78
See reviews for
211
282
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here from 5th - 7th August 2013 ( 2 nights ).
Pleasant enough. Could do with a bit of brightening up.
Staff friendly and efficient and food was good. Didn't try breakfast though as
dining hall was packed (well, it is August.)
Guests were [mainly] spanish but then again, this is Spain!
After business trip in inland Spain this was once again, a nice winding down and can't really fault it for the money.
One thing I didn't like though (but not a fault of the hotel) is the lack of parking. I had to park 500 metres away. This hotel though, does have [limted] parking - for about 30 cars and it's a first come first served (i.e. can't book in advance at the time of writing this review.)
To conclude - this would be ideal for couple or for families. Excellent pool area (large pool) and nice outside bar and entertainment held every night.
All in all, you wouldn't go far wrong staying here; either for holiday or if you are in the area on business.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We found La Barracuda by accident. We were driving from Madrid to Tarifa and got a bit tired and decided to stop for the night just outside of Malaga. Our GPS took us to a hotel that was no longer open, but La Barracuda was just down the street and had a double room available. The lobby was quite nice and the front desk staff very personable.

The elevators are worn and slow and the long walk to our room revealed a dark and dingy hallway. The room was run-down, with shabby carpeting, which seems to be typical with beach hotels. We were fine with all this, as we were just spending one night and were grateful to have found a hotel, especially on that was reasonably priced.

Once we opened the drapes and got a glimpse of our view, we were in shock. The room overlooked the ocean and the boardwalk below. Our balcony had chairs and a table and we immediately took a seat and scoped out our dinner location. A cute boardwalk is just outside the hotel and we walked a good length of it, stopping at one restaurant for sangria and going to another for seafood.

La Barracuda seems to be the kind of hotel where families go for a week or more as it has that wear-and-tear quality and it is a bargain as far as what you get. I wouldn't recommend it for any length of time, but for a night, it was wonderful.

Can't comment on the restaurant, as the hours didn't coincide with our hunger, but there are many restaurants in the area. We found a "Welsh" pub just up the street that served a wonderful English breakfast to my husband and fish and chips for me.

The Wi-Fi is spotty; we were told that too many people were on it and we would have to wait. Eventually, later in the evening, we were able to log on. No problem, we just hung out on the balcony and enjoyed the sea view instead.

Our room had no AC, which we were initially concerned about. However, we left the sliding window open which let in a nice sea breeze and we slept quite nicely.

Room Tip: Take a sea view room, really the only thing to recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed her 5 years ago and thought it was great but it need upgrading, the furniture and carpets are gone shabby and the breakfast was not great. There was no fresh fruit for breakfast only tinned fruit cocktail. The location and pool area was good but I wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philomena186612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brazil, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Average mid class hotel with good size room and a balcony in front of the ocean. Great location.
The beach is a few steps away. There is a shopping mall next to the building, with restaurants and bars by the marina.
The breakfast was very good, but the coffee was the awful. Do they really drink that?! I had to buy my coffee at the mall...

Room Tip: Ocean view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSU77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We chose this hotel because of its premium location. That's the only good thing about it.
We were promised a big family room and instead were given a small room with no room to move about. The bathroom door was stiff and almost impossible to open and close. the room was not cleaned properly and in a 10 day stay, our sheets were changed once ( the last night!). the balcony was always filthy and we noticed clipped toe nails and they weren't ours! Disgusting!!
The pool area was really lovely. Lots of room and direct access to the beach. After we were there for 5 days, the lifeguard came to talk to us, saying we now had to pay 3€ per day for 2 sunbeds and one umbrella. WHAT? I have never stayed at a hotel that charged me for the sunbeds! Apparently from the beginning of July there is a charge. I would expect to pay at the beach but not at the actually hotel that I'm already paying for!
The food was plentiful but bland. There was little choice. However there was normally plenty of it to go round.
Service at the reception desk was mixed. The miserable woman who checked us in and out didn't smile once or even said thank you and please.
This is a hotel I will not come back to.

Room Tip: The rooms with pool view were nice but that means you have music and noise until 12 o'clock ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmins84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartments Buensol
Apartments Buensol
#40 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropicana
Hotel Tropicana
#50 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carmen Teresa
Hotel Carmen Teresa
#11 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barracuda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barracuda Hotel

Property: La Barracuda Hotel
Address: Avenida Espana 5, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barracuda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated on the beach, very well located, close to major points of interest in the area of ​​leisure, and in the amusement park, water parks, thematic parks, dolphinarium, an area of ​​shops, bars, clubs and restaurants . has the larger garden area with lawn and large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your La Barracuda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barracuda Torremolinos
Barracuda Hotel
La Barracuda Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing