We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel, we will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel, we will be back!”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

First let me agree with Jonesy 568, this is not a 4 Star hotel, he is wrong it is nearer a 5. The hotel is superb with an absolutely ideal location right on the main promenade and beach.
My wife and I stayed for nine glorious nights from 23 May to the 1st June and wished we had booked for longer. We arrived at around 4PM after an excellent flight from EMA with bmibaby, the flight was dead on time. My wife is disabled so we booked a private transfer and were met and escorted to a Mercedes limo and swiftly transported to the hotel,( the return pick up was also dead on time in a similar car).
Our check in at reception was swiftly handled by an extremely efficient and friendly staff who were right on top of their job and we were in our room by 4.15. We had booked a suite and it was everything anyone could desire. It was located on the 7th (top) floor and had magnificent views across the hotel gardens and pools and the promenade and pristine beach.
The suite was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean (kept so for our entire stay)the bathroom was huge with a corner curved bath, separate walk in shower, twin sinks, bidet and toilet bathrobes and slippers.. The bedroom had an enormous bed,( I needed a satnav at night to find my wife in it), ample wardrobe space and a flat screen TV. The lounge was large and well furnished with a comfortable settee and armchair and sundry other tables and chairs and dressing tableand a second TV. The large balcony was well furnished with Teak chairs and sun lounger with cushions supplied. All in all a magnificent suite and on a par with any hotel I have ever stayed in and I have travelled and stayed at many top hotels around the world.
The hotel everywhere was pristine clean with a high standard of maintenance.
The food in the hotel was some of the best I have ever had and was of cruise ship standard with lots of choice to satisfy any taste. All guests were met on entry to the restaraunt and escorted to a table by the friendly and welcoming staff in an area you chose and indicated yourself we were never dragooned into an area we did not want to sit. There were no bad areas anyway as the whole restaraunt was beautiful with crisp white linen and napkins on the tables. Drinks order were taken at the table and promptly served, the bottles were labelled with the room number and unconsumed wine was taken away brought to the table the next night to be finished off or not as you wished, a nice touch.
We thought the evening entertainment was excellent with live performances each night, the magic show was one of the best i have ever seen and all the dancers, flamenco and modern and the singers top class There was also a pianist who played most nights outside Frankies bar in the reception, very relaxing.
We were welcomed in our room with a bottle of champagne and a basket of fruit and the mini bar was stocked with soft drinks and bottled water. Another plus was the range of channels on the TV we had BBC1 and 2, ITV 1and 2 and Sky as well as loads of other language channels.
The moaners on some of the reviews must have stayed at some out of this world places if they can find fault with the Pez Espada. It is a wonderful hotel and a credit to the management and a highly motivated staff at all levels. We shall certainly be staying again, hopefully in September, it is the first time my wife has ever expressed the desire to return to a hotel so quickly.
Thank you all at the Pez Espada for a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Book direct not travel agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeicestershireMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    499
    158
    52
    20
See reviews for
299
707
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This hotel is not a 4 star hotel and is using past glories to hang onto this status. I know that it is a well loved hotel that people return to but I can compare it to many 4 star hotels that I have stayed in Spain and it is seriously lacking. Families seem to be treated as second class citizens and are all put together in the shabbiest rooms in the hotel and the least pleasant part of the restaurant [at the back !] because god forbid that they should disturb anyone ! During our stay there was no day activity program and the night was very samey. The food was average with a limited choice. The gala night comprised of a carnation and a glassof bubbly ,and was not well advertised. The staff need to improve their PR skills ! Despite this, the hotel has an excellent location and we could see how fab it could be if only it could join the 21st century !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesy5681385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Public Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Pez Espada.

We are extremely sorry to hear that there were some aspects of the hotel which did not meet with your expectations. The Hotel Pez Espada is a very popular hotel in Torremolinos, with many of our guests returning year after year as you quite rightly point out in your review.

Our evening entertainment normally features Flamenco, Organist, Musical Duets etc, and due to its location right on the beach, the majority of our guests have no requirement for entertainment during the day, and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere.

Med Playa aim to ensure that our guests holiday experience is enjoyable throughout, offering good food and service, comfortable accommodation and value for money. All of our hotels are included in an ongoing refurbishment plan in order to ensure that we can maintain our standards and continue to offer the very best holidays.

We would like to thank you again for your comments, we consider all constructive feedback from our guests to be positive and take it into consideration in our future planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Not a 4 star hotel this is living on its past reputation of the 1960 era with its corridor of signed personality photos ,look beyond these and you see the problems this hotel has
I was allocated on arrival for a two week stay room 520 in the main building on the fifth floor the following morning the smell from the bathroom drains was overpowering it took two telephone calls to get someone from reception to come to the room to investigate immediately both myself and my wife were given a key to room 501 to shower in these standard rooms which have bathroom windows which were open as opposed to garden view rooms which have no windows in the bathroom
I complained to both the thompson rep and reception about the vile smelling room and was then allocated room 1204 facing the sea in the new block this was ok other than walls are thin and noisy from adjacent rooms
The maid i spoke to in the main building plus other guests also confirmed smelling drains on the fifth floor plus the maid also said it was a fault round the hotel
Should you walk down the stairs from the seventh floor all the window frames in the glass tower which are wooden are in bad need of replacement plus the handrails all need repainting
Basic rules as supplied by the hotel are non existant such as sunloungers having towels on most of the day with no one in attendance in spite of the hotel stating towels left on loungers will be removed by our staff,fire alarms were never tested every week as stated, dress code in the restaurant not observed the roof terrace from bar closed for our two week stay with no sign of any work being done
The indoor swimming pool needs a lot of work doing should you venture there take a look at the state of the roof

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miner286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Public Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel Pez Espada.

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay in this popular hotel.

The hotel Manager and his staff always do their utmost to ensure our customers satisfaction by attempting ro resolve any problems they might experience immediately. We are sorry that you felt that this was not the case in your experience.

Med Playa work very closely with the Tour Operators to ensure our guests safety and together follow very stringent Health and Safety procedures which are both visible to our guests as well as working behind the scenes.

We are constantly maintaining and updating all of our hotels, in order to offer the very best holiday experiences - once again we apologise for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Hotel is in an excellent location and public transport easily accessible. Some refurbishement taking place whilst we were there which did marr the holiday in some respects.
Hotel has a high standard of cleanliness due to the happy band of cleaners. (carpets in rooms definatley need replacing). Must compliment the chefs and the restaurant staff. food of good quality and very pleasing on the eye.
Reception staff unfortunatley need a course on customer relations. Not even a smile, or any acknowledgement e.g. No good morning, afternoon, or evening.
We were dissappointed with the amount of refurbishment going on and feel that the hotel management should have apologised.
Torremolinos itself is a lovely hoiday destination with clean beaches and lovely displays
of beach gardens.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sixtyoneBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Public Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Pez Espada.

We are pleased that you were generally happy with the standards at the hotel and that you were particularly happy with the food and restaurant service.

The Hotel Pez Espada is a popular hotel in the Costa del Sol, with many of our customers returning year after year due to the service offered and its excellent location right on the beach and just a stroll away from the famous Carihuela.

At Med Playa we are constantly striving to improve our customers enjoyment, and this involves ongoing refurbishement. We are very sorry to hear that the upgrading of our terrace area impacted on your overall enjoyment of your holiday. We hope that in spite of this we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Pez Espada on future ocassions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The staff are so friendly and the service here is very efficient.The location is right on the beach near La Carihuela with lots of bars,shops and restaurants nearby.Local transport is not far away too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonSpainlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

When we arrived we were concerned by the outward appearance of the hotel and rightfully so when we were given our room (518), definitely on the wrong side of the "tracks" or the hotel, as the case may be. We complained and were "upgraded" to another room, which was acceptable and very basic. We had to call housekeeping right away to clean the balcony which was littered with pigeon poo...lovely. The reception staff was beyond indifferent, ineffective and remote. I'm not sure if it was because we are Americans, but, my sixth sense tells me that I am correct as I believe we were the only Americans staying in the hotel. On the other hand, the restaurant staff is exceptional and beyond friendly, kind and charming! It was the highlight of every morning and evening while at the hotel.
The location of the hotel is truly perfect if one chooses to be away from the hubbub of the main strip. We were able to walk the promenade in either direction, the local bus is located right up the street, as is an ATM and a grocery.
Would we stay at this hotel again based on this experience, NO. Would we return to Torremolinos: YES YES YES

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellesor826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRESTON
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We have just returned from the Pez Espada, having had yet another fabulous holiday. We have visited the hotel many times, the staff as always are very friendly and happy to please, especially on Reception and in the Restaurant. The Hotel is in a ideal position with lovely views of the beach/promenade. English TV channels available, which are an added bonus. Food very good, plenty of choice, crispy bacon at breakfast !! Will definately be back next January, if not before.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JONESPRESTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,818 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,836 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,634 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing