We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Nearby Hotels
Sol Principe by Melia(Torremolinos)(Great Value!)
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Tropicana(Torremolinos)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Melia Costa del Sol(Torremolinos)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Natursun(Torremolinos)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,376)
Filter reviews
1,376 results
Traveller rating
539
567
193
55
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
567
193
55
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrankies barclub roomgarden viewfrank sinatramed playathomson repgala nightjunior suitesdining roomreception stafflong trousersbenalmadena marinasea frontrestaurant staffevening mealeither directionshow cooking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
743 - 748 of 1,376 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just returned after spending Christmas week at the Pez Espada. I find this review rather difficult to write as it is a shame to condemn the hotel due to the dire room we were allocated.
Our room on the fifth floor was one of Sixty on the this side of the main block, the balcony had hardly any room to sit side by side (no room for a table) and is the smallest we have EVER experienced. The carpet was badly stained and as a previous reviewer mentioned, not advisable to walk on without adequate footwear! the beds were quite hard as were the pillows, the drawer space was ridiculous, one small bedside drawer each plus ONE drawer to share which was normal size! The lighting was difficult to read by and the wardrobe was too small, we felt sorry for the cleaning staff as they did their best under the trying circumstances
The rooms are described as Standard,....they are NOT by any means standard for a 4* hotel,
therefore, be advised our room was one of SIXTY such rooms!!
The Reception area is large and functional but rather bare and cold, the lounge is quite good though insufficient seating in bad weather. Frankies Bar is good but not cheap.
The entertainment area is in the main bar that for some reason was shut with a PADLOCK during the day until 8pm!! saying that the entertainment was very good with good quality acts.
The Dining room was very good and quite spacious with very efficient and friendly staff, we thought the variety and quality of the food was very good indeed and the chefs are to be congratulated
If we were to be allocated a better room, we would stay here again though would never consider paying the full brochure price.
All the guests (some 300) had an exceptional evening meal on Christmas Day, seven
courses with free wine and spirits, for this meal we were waited on very efficiently indeed
and the Hotel deserves a commendation for this excellent Christmas Day gesture.
I don`t think the hotel is suitable for young couples or children other than for beach access

Room Tip: Avoid the main block if not having a garden view room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dabroChesterEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada for your recent stay in Torremolinos. We are sorry to hear that there were some aspects of the hotel which did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that your and other traveler's comments are forwarded to hotel management in order to make improvements and satisfy customer needs.

We thank you again for sharing your comment and we hope you will give us a chance to welcome and serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed with a group of friends who have stayed here before, it was on their recommendation that we decided to join them to celebrate Christmas here.
Very disappointed, we knew the hotel would be dated, I accept that, but the food has been really poor, definitely not 4 star standard, poor choice, poor quality & tepid. Staff very pleasant & helpful.
Rooms OK a bit dated, beds clean & comfortable, pillows diabolical, carpet on floor very grubby & stained, I wouldn't walk about in my bare feet as normal, BUT room was far too hot, you couldn't turn down the aircon, Central control. We complained to be told in winter it was hot, summer cold. We slept with our balcony door fully open, fortunately from a security point of view, we were on the 5th floor.
We took our swimming costumes to use the indoor pool, but no changing rooms, not clean around the pool, artificial grass which was rather dirty, I hate to think what was lurking there!!!
Location is good, on the paseo at the Benalmadena end of Torremolinos.
I will most definitely NOT be staying here again until someone has spent a couple of million Euros refurbishing it.

Room Tip: Avoid until it's been refurbished!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DorothyMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear DorothyMG,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada. We are sorry to hear that we did not succeed in meeting your expectations. We very much value your opinion and of course this will be forwarded to the hotel management.

Once again, thanks for reviewing us and we hope you will give us a chance to welcome you here in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

No coffee / tea making facilities in the room.
Food in the restaurant was not hot. After having reported this, it still was not resolved the next day and the days after that.
The hospitality for a 4* hotel is not good. The quality of the food for a 4* hotel, is not good. For me, absolutely not worth 4*, more a 3*
Too bad, I had expected more from this hotel.
The location is in a quiet area of ​​Torremolinos.
The room is little but it is oké! Bed is hard what is oke for me.
At the back of the hotel you can walk in to the beach promenade

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erikk1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Erikk1964,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Pez Espada and for choosing the hotel for your recent holiday in Torremolinos. It saddens us that we did not meet your expectations. We take note your comments and will bring them to attention of our management.

Thanks once again for sharing your feedback and we hope we will be able to welcome you and serve you better in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week stay at this hotel to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary .We originally came for our honeymoon and whilst the hotel is looking a little tired nowadays we still had a lovely visit .

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a lovely room on the 3rd floor annex.It was very quiet and comfy and kept in excellent condition .

We enjoyed excellent food ,especially the breakfast which was the best buffet style we had ever had .Every evening there was a live show and again ,in the main very good .The price of drinks was also very good value .

All in all great value for money and we will certainly return next year .

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank harveyheights8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We last visited this hotel in November 2011 and returned in November 2013. Everything was exactly the same, nothing had changed at all. l requested a room on the sunny side of the hotel which also have a side sea view and garden view - once again the management obliged. The hotel had famous guests during the 60s and 70s, whose pictures are displayed in the lounge, and the hotel still retains a certain charm from those days. The food is still good, the dining room is run very efficiently by the same maitre'd and his senior team, and the staff in general are helpful and friendly. The position of this hotel on the promenade is excellent, turn right to Benalmadena marina and left to Torremolinos. Once again at this time of year, the guests were mainly mature people (this includes us of course), Although l can't really fault the hotel, l think it might be time for some refurbishment without the loss of elegance and charm. Hopefully, we will return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Maxibird,

Thank you for revisiting Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to share your opinion on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the elegance setting of the hotel along with the excellent service of our staff.

Once again thank you for staying at the Hotel Pez Espada and we look forward to welcoming you here, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews