We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Xmas Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Vila Nova de Cacela, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Xmas Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Spent Christmas at the Pez Espada. The food was excellent, particularly breakfast. The staff were charming and attentive. The Gala Xmas was dinner was great. We had a lovely view from our balcony and the room was spotlessly clean. Yes, the hotel is a little dated and could with some refurbishment but overall it was great value for money. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Portygal,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada for your Christmas break in Torremolinos. We are happy to hear that the hotel met your expectations and that you had a great time here. It would be a pleasure for us to serve you again on another occasion.
Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    465
    148
    48
    18
See reviews for
269
660
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our usual Christmas break at Hotel Pez Espada. This is our ninth year and found it to be still as friendly with all the same staff and as clean as it's always been.The food in our opinion is very good especially the breakfasts and the evening meals have a very good selection to choose from. Sadly, the Christmas Gala night was a disappointment as the main course was not to our liking, but the rest of the meal on the whole was good with plenty of wine &spirits flowing.The room and tables looked lovely and a lot of hard work had gone into making it a special night for us all by the staff. The hotel is now looking a bit tired in places and we are looking forward to seeing it after it has had it's refurbishment and put back to its full glory after all she is 52 years old and is a lovely Hotel right on the front with easy walking along the Prom.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Glenys R,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada for your winter holiday in Torremolinos. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Christmas menu and that the hotel met your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with efficient service and so make of their stay an unforgettable experience.

Thanks again for reviewing us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just returned after spending Christmas week at the Pez Espada. I find this review rather difficult to write as it is a shame to condemn the hotel due to the dire room we were allocated.
Our room on the fifth floor was one of Sixty on the this side of the main block, the balcony had hardly any room to sit side by side (no room for a table) and is the smallest we have EVER experienced. The carpet was badly stained and as a previous reviewer mentioned, not advisable to walk on without adequate footwear! the beds were quite hard as were the pillows, the drawer space was ridiculous, one small bedside drawer each plus ONE drawer to share which was normal size! The lighting was difficult to read by and the wardrobe was too small, we felt sorry for the cleaning staff as they did their best under the trying circumstances
The rooms are described as Standard,....they are NOT by any means standard for a 4* hotel,
therefore, be advised our room was one of SIXTY such rooms!!
The Reception area is large and functional but rather bare and cold, the lounge is quite good though insufficient seating in bad weather. Frankies Bar is good but not cheap.
The entertainment area is in the main bar that for some reason was shut with a PADLOCK during the day until 8pm!! saying that the entertainment was very good with good quality acts.
The Dining room was very good and quite spacious with very efficient and friendly staff, we thought the variety and quality of the food was very good indeed and the chefs are to be congratulated
If we were to be allocated a better room, we would stay here again though would never consider paying the full brochure price.
All the guests (some 300) had an exceptional evening meal on Christmas Day, seven
courses with free wine and spirits, for this meal we were waited on very efficiently indeed
and the Hotel deserves a commendation for this excellent Christmas Day gesture.
I don`t think the hotel is suitable for young couples or children other than for beach access

Room Tip: Avoid the main block if not having a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dabroChesterEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada for your recent stay in Torremolinos. We are sorry to hear that there were some aspects of the hotel which did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that your and other traveler's comments are forwarded to hotel management in order to make improvements and satisfy customer needs.

We thank you again for sharing your comment and we hope you will give us a chance to welcome and serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed with a group of friends who have stayed here before, it was on their recommendation that we decided to join them to celebrate Christmas here.
Very disappointed, we knew the hotel would be dated, I accept that, but the food has been really poor, definitely not 4 star standard, poor choice, poor quality & tepid. Staff very pleasant & helpful.
Rooms OK a bit dated, beds clean & comfortable, pillows diabolical, carpet on floor very grubby & stained, I wouldn't walk about in my bare feet as normal, BUT room was far too hot, you couldn't turn down the aircon, Central control. We complained to be told in winter it was hot, summer cold. We slept with our balcony door fully open, fortunately from a security point of view, we were on the 5th floor.
We took our swimming costumes to use the indoor pool, but no changing rooms, not clean around the pool, artificial grass which was rather dirty, I hate to think what was lurking there!!!
Location is good, on the paseo at the Benalmadena end of Torremolinos.
I will most definitely NOT be staying here again until someone has spent a couple of million Euros refurbishing it.

Room Tip: Avoid until it's been refurbished!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DorothyMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear DorothyMG,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada. We are sorry to hear that we did not succeed in meeting your expectations. We very much value your opinion and of course this will be forwarded to the hotel management.

Once again, thanks for reviewing us and we hope you will give us a chance to welcome you here in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittard, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

No coffee / tea making facilities in the room.
Food in the restaurant was not hot. After having reported this, it still was not resolved the next day and the days after that.
The hospitality for a 4* hotel is not good. The quality of the food for a 4* hotel, is not good. For me, absolutely not worth 4*, more a 3*
Too bad, I had expected more from this hotel.
The location is in a quiet area of ​​Torremolinos.
The room is little but it is oké! Bed is hard what is oke for me.
At the back of the hotel you can walk in to the beach promenade

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erikk1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Erikk1964,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Pez Espada and for choosing the hotel for your recent holiday in Torremolinos. It saddens us that we did not meet your expectations. We take note your comments and will bring them to attention of our management.

Thanks once again for sharing your feedback and we hope we will be able to welcome you and serve you better in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a week stay at this hotel to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary .We originally came for our honeymoon and whilst the hotel is looking a little tired nowadays we still had a lovely visit .

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a lovely room on the 3rd floor annex.It was very quiet and comfy and kept in excellent condition .

We enjoyed excellent food ,especially the breakfast which was the best buffet style we had ever had .Every evening there was a live show and again ,in the main very good .The price of drinks was also very good value .

All in all great value for money and we will certainly return next year .

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank harveyheights8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We last visited this hotel in November 2011 and returned in November 2013. Everything was exactly the same, nothing had changed at all. l requested a room on the sunny side of the hotel which also have a side sea view and garden view - once again the management obliged. The hotel had famous guests during the 60s and 70s, whose pictures are displayed in the lounge, and the hotel still retains a certain charm from those days. The food is still good, the dining room is run very efficiently by the same maitre'd and his senior team, and the staff in general are helpful and friendly. The position of this hotel on the promenade is excellent, turn right to Benalmadena marina and left to Torremolinos. Once again at this time of year, the guests were mainly mature people (this includes us of course), Although l can't really fault the hotel, l think it might be time for some refurbishment without the loss of elegance and charm. Hopefully, we will return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Maxibird,

Thank you for revisiting Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to share your opinion on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the elegance setting of the hotel along with the excellent service of our staff.

Once again thank you for staying at the Hotel Pez Espada and we look forward to welcoming you here, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing