We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days at the end of April. It was only by chance as we were booked into the nearby Amaragua hotel where we had stayed a number of times previously, but due to a problem we were moved to the Pez, and we were glad they did move us there. While our room was quite dated, we found everything else about the hotel to be perfect. The breakfast buffet was excellent, staff were very friendly. The pool area was nice and clean and peaceful - no problems getting a sunbed. The location is excellent, right on the promenade and just a short walk to numerous bars and restaurants.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martygil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from a week at Pez Espada. Staff so helpful especially reception. Thomson rep vee really helpful and full of information and nothing was too much trouble. We will certainly return to this hotel for its friendliness and location. Thank you to all the staff

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cornishdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Cornishdream,

Thank you for choosing hotel Pez Espada and for your review. We are pleased to hear that the hotel met your expectations in every aspect and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just back from spending 4 nights at the Pez Espada. This is our 3rd short break in this hotel which is in a fabulous location - right on the beach and just a short stroll to the port in Benalmadena. I agree that the rooms are looking a bit tired but the hotel is apparently due a refurbishment early next year. The staff are excellent and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel which has a lovely atmosphere.

Room Tip: A pool view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Susan,

Thank you returning to hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to share your lovely comment with TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that you had another great stay at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just returned from 5 days at Pez Espada...Cant fault this Hotel at all. Room was really spacious and modern..bathroom quite small but so what....Hotel was really clean and fairly modern...Swimming pool was lovely and again really clean..Plenty of sun loungers which appeared to be quite new and lovely grassy area to sunbathe. The food,,even though not a great choice was really tasty....and fresh strawberries/blackberries for tea....what a treat...Would def recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for choosing hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to share your comment on your recent stay. We are pleased to learn that the hotel met your expectations and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just returned from this hotel which we have stayed on 3 previous occasions.
We love the location of this hotel and I agree it is looking very tired and drastically needs updating to maintain its 4 star rating. We felt the choice of the evening meal some nights were disappointing lots of pork dishes on several evenings not quite as good as previous years.
The beds were very uncomfortable and had no sleep, asked at reception if mattress could be changed and was told to put blanket under sheet which made no difference. Hopefully when they upgrade they will have new beds. We stayed in garden rooms before and had no problem with beds. Reception staff are quite serious compared with other hotels we have stayed in.
Carpets need replacing very badly stained but rooms cleaned to good standard daily.
We would like to stay again but lots of issues to be resolved to entice clients to return and reccomend to family and friends.

Room Tip: We had room 110 which overlooked beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

After reading all the fantastic reviews we ended up feeling extremely disappointed with this supposedly 4* hotel

Good points: Rooms very clean but rather basic for 4* no tea/coffee making facilities, bathroom ftoiletires left just once, bathroom towels need replacing very thin. Pool towels can be obtained for deposit of 20 Euros per person, we paid, could not find the attendant, wasted time and got the money back and brought some towels up the road

Looked forward to the Gala night to find it had happened on route! We landed on Friday- coach transfer slow, flight late, has 10 minutes of the dinner service left, realised it was gala night only when we tried ordering Shandy to be told no just wine, beer or soft drink - we could have made our own but why!!! We got 1/2 glass of some bubbly and thats how we realised the Gala was over. SO if you dont drink wine, beer or a soft drink forget having a nice cocktail with Dinner.

Food on the whole was average, - I have had better in many 3+* hotels in spain, some good nights plenty of choice to some dire nights, curry and chilli very bland ,sardines only once; carvery two nights beef once, pork once, one evening bones - chicken bits and pork so overall not 4* restruarant. The restruarant is accessed via a circular marbal staircase of lift, so leave the high heels at home.

Entertainment in the hotel is dire we travelled with an 80 year old who was bored rigid - in fact the one evening we did sit in there the singer was just mumbling and we gave up. Did not see any daytime entertainment, no quizzes etc

Rep Thomson was pretty useless unless you were returning and booking !!

We had to move room on Friday morning, again we had 3 in a room were given a room with 2 beds even though purpose of booking late checkout was to rest! We did not get a call until 9ish in the morning as we were going to breakfast, so had to go back and pack and move floors not impressed

Hotel has one fab thing going for it and thats the location - location, location, location over looking the med with lovely gardens and within minutes of Benamadena Harbour and The old town of Torromilinos.

The pool is very clean although in the summer it would be too crowded for the number of guests, we did see people reserving sun beds but that ths norm.

We did not sleep well because the window could be blocked out with curtains but there was a blind over the door to the small balcony which shone light in all night

Overall I do not see how this hotel gets repeat guests.!

Room Tip: We had room 506 which was halfway down the side of the building overlooking the little golf culb and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Lorraine P,

Firstly thank you for staying at Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to share your comment in your recent stay at this place. We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We are disappointed to hear that you felt the food were not to your liking and that you did not enjoy our gala dinner. Regarding the stairs leading to the restaurant, there is a lift at the end of the lobby which makes the access to restaurant less stressful. I must point out that the stairs with a unique chandelier makes the entrance special and our guests admire it. Regarding the entertainment, the daily one is programmed on July and August. The rest of the year there is only evening entertainment.

Again, thank you for sharing the review on our property and we hope you enjoyed your holiday in Torremolinos.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

just returned from a weeks stay at the Pez Espada, this was our second visit . The hotel is in a great location, good for walking. The food at hotel was great, very well presented, and very tasty, having been to other hotels food looks good but has no flavour. The salads are always good and varied and the carvery meats were succulent. The breakfasts were very good everything you could wish for, even Yorshire teabags. Overall an excellent hotel , and after its refurb you might struggle to make a booking there. We hope to return with friends later this year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolvesApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,045 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,469 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £69 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing