We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Will Return!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We Will Return!!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Pez Espada is a wonderful hotel with a fascinating history. The staff are friendly, the food delicious; our room was basic but with a gorgeous view. Love how easy it is to access the beach and prom via the garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenos08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Helenos08,

Thanks for for taking the time to share your comment on your recent stay at the Hotel Pez Espada. We are happy to hear that you find our hotel to your liking, especially hotel location, its history and excellent service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    484
    154
    48
    19
See reviews for
278
683
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a good relaxed friendly holiday in June this year, many staff were multi linquil , this hotel is ideally located for most services including local bus services.Taxis are close by too. The food is first class and large selection to suit all tastes. Rooms are serviced every day, all areas are clean and tidy. Rooms do need updating, but there's no extra charge for the beautiful views. All areas are serviced by lifts plus ramps in some areas too. Lots of info is available at reception, it is also near to Malaga airport making getting there easy. We were made aware a refurbishment is due in the new year which can only mean the hotel will be even better. We propose to return in the near future and would recommend it to other holiday makers.

Room Tip: We had garden facing rooms which were apparently quieter than beach facing rooms ours overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katieoxo094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Katieoxo094,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Pez Espada and for sharing your comment on your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and recommend our hotel other holidaymakers. We hope to be able to welcome and serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The staff is Outstanding ! We have been staying here for 22 years and love it more each year. The food has changed as well... It is Spain and my husband being Spanish wishes they offered the selection they once did... I know they have to cater to the guests but it would be nice to offer tapas and other Spanish dishes. I suggested the sauces be put on the side and not soaking in the food... Luis, Angel and the others in the dining room are all wonderful !! Reception staff is outstanding. Juanita who services the rooms is OUTSTANDNG and should receive a GOLD STAR !!! I have been told they are closing for a few months to update the hotel which it has needed for sometime. We are treated like family and I would never stay in another hotel. Most of the guests are elderly and wish they would have the same requirement as the Hotel Riviara - NO CHILDREN UNDER 18 !!!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool and ocean are BEAUTIFUL !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Christine N,

Thanks a lot for choosing Hotel Pez Espada and for sharing your comment with TripAdvisor community. We are very pleased to hear that once again our hotel met your expectations. Regarding the suggestions about our restaurant, we very much appreciate it and of course all of them will be forwarded to our management.

Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we spent 2 glorious weeks in feb2013,the hotel was in need of updating,but the rooms,food and staff fabulous.the hotel gardens ledon to the beach,from a gate,with a number you will be given,on arrival,the path you can walk on ether left or right is flat with the sea on one side,birds singing in the trees.good cafes both ways.the marina,is on the path if you turn right as you leave by the gate.night life is good something for everyone,happy hours also two for one,brandy very good,as is the whisky.the pool out side in winter is out of the sun and icy,but the inside ok,as is the one on the front of hotel out side.if you go out of the entrance past reception,you walk across the road up a little hill,easy..you can get busses to most of the towns and villages.ask first the cost of a taxi if you wish to go else were.as some prices can be very different,from one to another.you can have boat trips,from the marina.a lovely park a bus ride to Belamadina,also a water park show but we didnt get to see as its closed in feb.the weather in feb was very warm,just got cold at 4 oclock needed a cardigan.dont forget your camera.lots to see and do,walking shoes,is a must.but if you cant walk back.dont worry you have got a choice of taxi or bus.

Room Tip: facing the pool,can also see the sea.looking towards the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just had 7 nights HB at the Pez Espada. This was our 5th visit.
The rooms and the hotel in general need a re-furb. This is happening during Jan/Mar 2015.
We have been to this hotel 5 times. The public areas, pool areas are spotless. The food in the restaurant is of a very high standard and varied. Bar staff, restaurant staff, cleaners are so helpful and polite, shame about Reception staff, they should be sent on a course on how to SMILE.
We cannot fault this hotel (reception not included).
Even though needing a re-furb, rooms are comfortable. They are cleaned every day and clean towels available on request.
Just be careful when travelling back to UK with THOMSON, tried to charge us 32 Euros for being 2 kilos over, even though we had nothing in our hand luggage. Had to move 2 kilos from a case and place it in hand luggage to TO GO ON THE SAME PLANE ! Our total baggage was 47 kilos in THREE CASES. We should still had 13 kilos allowance for our hand luggage. (There were three of us travelling).
I was very disappointed with the Thomson Rep at Malaga. Shame, we used to like travelling with Thomson. Will consider a more sympathetic airline in future.

Room Tip: The hotel should be top notch after re-furb. We will return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cled D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Cled D,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking few minutes to review our hotel. We appreciate you comment and take note of your comments. As you said, the hotel will be closed for refurbishment during January and February 2015. We hope you will give us the chance to welcome and serve you the next time you will be in Torremolinos.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We always enjoy Pez Espada , yes we know it needs a little TLC in the rooms ,but we believe it's closing for a couple of months while a little work is being done , the bedding is changed every day , it's very clean and I love the restaurant and the choice of food , which I think is very good and the staff is very helpful, so no complaints but I really don't understand why we have to pay for renting the fridge and the safe in the room , never had to pay for a fridge before only at MedPlaya hotels , also now that the satellite has been changed they are not making any attempt to get any English channels there is only Sky news , a lot of English people visit the hotel and yes I know they are on holiday but still like to watch a bit of television ,you can go into bars and watch it so I know it can be done even if we have to pay for it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have just come back from the Pez Espada. We have been there a couple of times now and have always found the staff on all levels were very helpful and friendly. The only critism I have is that they are letting in couples with very young children. It spoilt our holiday in respect of the screaming children all day, the Thomson book tells us it was a hotel for the older person which obviously is not the case. We did find the young girl Yusimi on entertainments was brilliant, she is an asset to the company. Always friendly and smile for everyone, we absolutely loved her, she has such a lot of talent. Well done Yusimi and I do hope we will see you again.
The hotel does need an uplift but it was always spotless, rooms very good and also food very good.

Room Tip: always ask for garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen19442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 71 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing