We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel you keep going back to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great location ,go through gardens and you are on the sea front ,and a lovely walk into torremolinos center.the rooms are spacious and bright just a tad dated but spotlessly clean .food is very nice and a good selection every day for breakfast and dinner couldn't fault any member of staff .

Room Tip: A garden view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank princessmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We liked this hotel better than the Riu Monica in Nerja and the Mac Puerto Marina in Benalmadena – where we stayed in the past two years - principally because of the dining experience. The food was better and the ambience is more like a restaurant, rather than a dining room as there are no timed sittings for dinner, and you can choose a different table each night. The breakfast is excellent, with good, strong coffee and food varying from the full English breakfast to the full European with different fresh fruit each day.
The hotel is in an ideal position to stroll along the promenade either to Benalmadena with its Marina, or to Torremolinos and its shops and restaurants. There are plenty of excellent, and therefore busy, beachside bars/restaurants serving local dishes at competitive prices within very easy reach.
The bedroom/bathroom fittings and furnishings are undeniably “tired” yet still perfectly acceptable and spotlessly clean. We understand that the hotel is due for a refurbishment early in 2015 which will make it an even more attractive proposition.
Whilst we were there (mid July) the majority of guests were, like us, past the first flush of youth which makes it all the more difficult to understand why the hotel doesn’t routinely provide cushions for the sunbeds, or chairs as well as sunbeds, in the poolside/garden area which the Riu hotels both did. We had to seek out the poolside maintenance man each day and ask for a chair which he went off and produced from a storage facility.
The majority of guests take their own beach towels and, despite warnings that they cannot be used to reserve sunbeds and management will remove them, it is the familiar story of staking out a claim before breakfast!
Whilst there we met a number of couples who have been returning to the hotel over many years and we would certainly be happy to return if we were to holiday on the Costa del Sol again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Richard G,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Pez Espada and for commenting on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with our hotel and that you would be happy to return to Pez Espada on your next trip to Costa del Sol. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you're reading Trip Advisor you're looking for advice on the hotel and resort.

In a nutshell ;

Hotel - ideal for quiet , peaceful couples and families of all ages , not loudmouth cockneys with uncontrollable children. ( not that there was any in the Pez , but Benalmedena harbour , jeez there is plenty) Lots of space to sunbathe , play in the pool , read a book , eat and sleep.

Resort - Location of Pez is great for Torremolinos and Benalmedena. Its not the place for large groups of singletons , its more for having a few drinks and a nice meal , rather than bouncy music and falling into a hedge walking from pub to pub.

Great paved walkway for a safe evening stroll , dressed in your best , or a nice seat in a bar or coffee shop just people watching.

Myself and the Mrs. ( ages 52 and nearly 48) have just returned from a ten day stay at the Pez Espada Hotel. It is our second visit to the hotel and it didn't disappoint as nothing much has changed since our previous visit in 2012. The hotel is clean and tidy , has good facilities and the fellow guests tend to buy into the peace and tranquility of the place.
Ideally situated you can relax around the pools ( two pools plus a small kiddies and a seasonal indoor ) , sunbathe on the grassed areas looking out on the beach , or sit on the patio for snacks and drinks.

You can exit via the rear gate and you're straight onto a wide paved area which takes you along into the main part of Torremolinos if you turn left and Benalmedena harbour if you turn right.

The beach is literally ten yard from the rear gate .

There are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars to enjoy in the area but we also made a few trips out an about including a 14 euro ferry trip to Fuengirola , a 19 euro Thomson bus trip to Gibraltar and a 1 euro public bus trip ( 122 or 112) to Arrayo Del Miel.

All lovely places to visit and spend your hard earned cash. If you're a smoker cigarettes are very cheap in Gibraltar ( a third of the price of the UK) but you can only bring out 200, and you can pay in English pounds. Try Roys fish and chips too , in the main square , very nice.

The food at the Pez is nice , only the very fussiest of tastes would complain Its all self service although you do need to buy drinks on an evening and gentleman must wear long trousers for the evening meal. It is a lovely idea that gives the hotel an air of respectability. However this is diminished by the fact that some of the females turn up for dinner in skimpy shorts , and it does seem that they have not checked in the mirror that their bottoms are not contained, and in some cases bottoms and tops are wildly escaping at the same time. Puts you right off the pork fillets.

There are a few vegetarian options in the restaurant too , not all of them based on cheese and mushrooms.

If you're looking for a meal during the day the Dark Side of the Moon is the place to go. Its two hundred yards from the Pez and the food is beautiful. I particularly liked the lasagne and the sweet chili chicken on skewers.


If you do visit the Pez ( and I'd recommend it unless you're wanting a booze filled dance party) , please look out for our little friend the stripy cat. She hangs about the grassed area during the day and is partial to a bit of tuna or some left overs.

Top tip - There is a fridge in your room go to the supermarket at the top of the hill , drinks and snacks are good prices , I got Fanta Lemon Zero for about 35p a tin , and a giant 5 litre bottle of water for a Euro.

Room Tip: I was in room 323 , it worked for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank S15eet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear S15eet,

Thanks for booking Hotel Pez Espada for your recent holiday in Torremolinos and for reviewing the hotel. It's a pleasure to read your comment, to hear that we succeeded in meeting your expectation. Once again, thanks for choosing our hotel and we hope to welcome you again to Pez Espada.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just got back from a week at the Pez Espada 15/07/14. We spent a week there last year and wasn't disappointed the standard of the hotel and staff were as high as expected yes it is a little tired in places but this outweighed by the excellent staff especially Angel the Restaurant Manager who keeps the restaurant running to a high level of efficency . The food was good it catered for all tastes , lovely crisp cotton tablecloths made the Dinning experience enjoyable ,may i say i like the long trouser policy it keeps up the standards that we like but it should also apply to ladies who at times looked as though they had just come from the beach.Lastly a big thankyou to the ladies who keep the rooms prestine and the hardworking Bar Staff who never seem to have a minute look forward to coming back in the near future .

Room Tip: High garden views are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Sue W,

Thanks for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to share your comment on your July's holiday at the hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience at the Pez Espada, especially appreciating excellent service in the restaurant, friendliness and professionalism of our housekeeping staff and hotel's location.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to express your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you again on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned on friday from an excellent break at Pez Espada,if you want a chilled out holiday with very little noise ie screaming kids and drunk brits shouting at all hours of the nite this is the hotel for you. Food great big selection each nite ,staff very attentive ,beach on your doorstep very clean and well maintained rooms look a little tired and in need of some modernisation but otherwise great. Benalmadena 20 min stoll,id say no more than 40mins to Torromolinos.I too was caught out on the long trousers front no biggie plenty shops to go buy a pair. Free wifi in hotel reception and we paid 15 euros for the week for elsewhere in and around the hotel. Access to the beach at the rear of the hotel through the gardens using your keycard to get back in, daytime entertainment kept the kids aged 16 and 10 amused for a few hours. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

this title refers to men. the hotel has a long trouser policy of an evening in the dinning room. this is applied with rigour. it is not mentioned any where in the hotel description, Thomson's, it is however buried in terms and conditions referring to all hotels and states you 'may' be required to wear long trousers.
the hotel is past its best and is in need of serious renovation. it is not a 4 star by any measure.
the saving grace of this hotel is its staff. they are well turned out and very attentive.
the hotel is about a 20 min walk from benalmadena and about one hour from torromolinos. it is on the beach with access from the grounds. there are plenty of sun beds around the grounds. the hotel do not enforce their no towels on sunbed policy. if you prefer to use the beach then two sunbeds and a brolly costs 10 euros. can work out expensive over the holiday.
FOOD this has two aspects in order to be fair to the hotel.
my wife,a meat eater, thought the food was great, well cooked and with lots of choice.
I as a vegetarian, thought the choice was very very poor and I felt like a rabbit (salad) by the time the holiday was over. the Spanish do not seem to understand that some people do not eat meat or fish.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grumpyoldmanWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Having stayed in four other hotels in this area this was the best.
Good location.
Reception staff very good.
Room was very clean.
Food for breakfast & dinner was not as big a selection as other hotels I have stayed but this was compensated by very good quality.
which is better than a large selection and rubbish.
It states in the brochore buffet, not gourmet restaurant, which some people expect.
waiters work hard are polite and very proffessinal.
swimming pools and garden areas all keep very clean.
Happy hour drinks very poor.
Will Return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DAZ756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear DAZ756,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your dinners in the restaurant and our friendliness of our staff. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,045 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,470 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £69 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing