We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We are a couple mid 30’s with 18 month baby. Hotel very clean throughout, service very good, food very good. They don’t cater much for babies/children as only the swimming pools, even though there are things for them to do on the promenade. The rooms were dated and could do with an up lift but overall I was pleased with the hotel & would recommend it.

Room Tip: 5th or 6th floor so you can see the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Blakey721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and boyfriend booked this hotel through Thomson as a last minute holiday. We didn't quite know what to expect as we had never been to this area before, we definitely weren't disappointed!
On arrival we were very quickly checked in and given our room, twin room on the top floor with balcony over looking the sea (room 602 perfect!). The room was spacious and spotless! Fresh bedding and towels everyday. Although a bit dated, it served its purpose. Bathroom was great, large and again very clean. The pressure in the shower played up in the evening time a bit, but nothing major.
The dining experience in the hotel was great! Buffet style breakfast and dinner. Great variety of food served everyday. If you couldn't find something you liked then it was your own fault. Waiters very professional, Friday night all ladies got a flower and some bubbly, nice touch! They couldn't have been more helpful.
Lovely pool area, kids pool and 2 large adult pools. Pool side activities arranged most days by a lovely lady. Very friendly and arranged activities for all ages. The one and only issue was the sunbeds. My boyfriend had to get up at 8am every morning to get us two beds and even at that time they were hard to come by. But that's an issue usually wherever you go on holiday.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday at the pez Espada. Great hotel for couples and families, quiet and relaxing. The perfect beachfront location (secured by key card entry) friendly staff and great value for money. Will hopefully return in the near future after the planned refurbishment early spring 2015 :-)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have just returned from our 4th visit to the Pez Espada, and it continues to live up to expectations. This year we took some family members for the first time and they were also most impressed and want to return.
From efficient and courteous check in, through to excellent service in the restaurant were the quality of food remains to be of an excellent standard. (As others have said it is a restaurant - not a typical hotel dining room).
In the pool area Juan the attendant was most helpful finding sun loungers, and many an enjoyable evening was spent on the terrace outside Frankies bar - with most staff being cheerful and friendly, particularly Nevis. (One word of caution however we were locked out in the garden one evening by the security guard, along with some other guests and had to form an escape committee to get back into the hotel via a fire escape!).
The Pez is ideally situated right on the beach and convenient to Benalmadina marina, Torremolinos town. Also convenient to local buses into Malaga.
We have no hesitation in recommending the Pez Espada.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Roy S,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Pez Espada and for sharing your comment on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that your experience was positive and that you enjoyed your time here at the Pez Espada.

Thanks for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is living on its past reputation of hosting stars and European royalty !!!
It is in DESPERATE NEED of a good make over !!!!
ESPECIALLY THE OUTSIDE !!!!!
Paint is peeling off especially the side faces of the hotel where they think nobody see's
I feel sorry for the private appartement so next door who have to look at the awful peeling paintwork on walls and windows .
Also the garden and enter acne need attention , the rear garden especially it certainly dies not deserve 4stars !!!
GET THE DECORATORS AND INTERIOR DESIGNERS IN !!!
The Rui Nautilas up the road have done this and it is FAB !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AnneWestLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked this holiday with Thomson's at the last minute after saying that I didn't fancy staying in Torremolinos. What a wise decision to make, - and how wrong my previous perception had been of Torremolinos. Everything about our stay at La Pez Espada was perfect! Beautifully clean and cared for, delicious food, on the seafront, excellent service, near to public transport.The staff were so friendly, helpful and courteous. It was impossible to criticise any part of our holiday. We shall be making a return visit here when we are in need of a week's relaxation in the knowledge that every aspect of the Pez Espada is just what we need.

Room Tip: Our first floor room 112 was ideal with a good side sea view and overlooking the pool area. It was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Josie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Josie F,

Thanks for sharing your comment on your recent stay at the Hotel Pez Espada and for your high rating of the hotel and its services. We hope to welcome you again in the future and we are looking forward to it.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for a week in early springtime, and hired a car to tour Andalucia. It was definitely in need of an update, but apart from that everything was fine. We found the reception staff most welcoming and helpful. The dining area was clean and the staff were on hand should you need anything not on display. It was all self-service the week we were there, but I must say there was plenty of choices and the food was well prepared. The bedroom was typically spanish and had good views over the beach area. Pool and sunbathing area was well kept and clean. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel to both adult parties and families with children. It was not noisy, and in fact we had a lovely time there and found the shole experience both relaxing and restful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have the sunshine, higher floors have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just returned from our holiday here - 4 adults and 2 kids (14 and 11) - the hotel is fab - prime location for the beach and bars and resteraunts,, secure access in and out from the hustle and bustle of the strip, the food is excellent - very varied, pasta salads, hor deurves, meat, fish, local and international dishes, puddings are gorgeous too - the staff are fantastic - big shout out to "pool man" who was attentive and helpful and would open locked doors for ease of access for one of our party in and out the hotel and he did the same for other guests who needed a bit of extra help - also the lifeguards who were attentive and observant - they stopped riotous kids with balls etc in a polite but fair way - also the bar staff - hurray for Geronimo!! and the two lovely ladies in Frankie's bar -they were friendly and patient and constantly on the go! All in all we have really enjoyed our stay here - 3rd time for us but over a 14 yea period! Very clean and well maintained but agree it s ready for an update.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Anne r,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Pez Espada and for sharing your comment on your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that the hotel met your expectations and that you enjoyed your holiday.
As you say, the hotel is ready for a refurbishment which will take place beginning of the next year.
Thanks for sharing your comment and we look forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,497 reviews
2 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £57 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing