We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right for what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Puente Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puente Real
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Bath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just right for what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I recently visited Hotel Puente Real (3rd-10th July), staying all inclusive and it was exactly what i wanted. I went with a friend (2 girls at 18!!) and we had a great time! We didn't pay for the transfers to and from the airport and it ended up being about 5euros cheaper each way by taxi. Some other people we talked to said they had to wait for an hour for the transfer bus to fill up before they even left the airport. We arrived within 15 minutes of collecting our bags.
We had a very clean, spacious twin room. Lovely bathroom and a balcony over looking the pool. Although our shower head was broken and we had to hold it by hand but that was fine. We did hire the safe for the week just for our own piece of mind. It was about 20 euros plus a 20 euro deposit that is returned when the safe key is given back to reception.
As 18 year olds we definitely made good use of the bar! The staff we always friendly and got to know our drink order by the end of the holiday (2 San Franscisos with Vodka)! The pizzas at the bar left a lot to be desired BUT the snacks at the little hut were delicious (especially the chicken kebabs). The ice creams at the bar also go down very well!
The children's entertainers definitely earned their money with activities on all day. The pool activities (volleyball and aerobics) were very popular. The night time entertain was fine but we ended up going out to local clubs (just 5 mins walk along the beach).
The food was fine. I'm a fussy eater and i never went hungry. If in doubt hit the kid's buffet! Breakfast is a bit busy the later you go but lunch time is much quieter. They always provided a nice salad bar and a variety of desserts. The staff were happy to help and liked to practice their English.
There is a huge pool that never felt over crowded. The whole pool area is very clean with music playing most of the day (the kid's club songs will get stuck in your head!!)
The sunbeds. We rarely rose before half 9 so we lost out to those who queued up by the pool area from 8 o'clock. If you were lucky you might be able to grab one or two throughout the day but most of the time they were either taken or being reserved (which isn't actually allowed). On our second to last day we were fed up. We had seen from our balcony that some of the seats had been reserved since 9 but were still not being used at 1. Fair enough if you are going to use a sunbed all day then by all means go down there at 8. We asked the lifeguard nicely if we could throw the towels in the pool, he said no but he did move the towels and moved the sunbeds to a different area of the pool for us to use.
If this fails, the beach sunbeds are lovely. If you use the ones on the left hand side as you look out of the hotel, they are cheaper. There is more breeze on the beach which is much better during the summer as there is very little shade by the pool area.
Overall, we wanted somewhere were we could tan, drink, sleep and eat happily and that's exactly what we found. Its not classy but its a good hotel where you can get a good deal.

Room Tip: The deluxe suits are just rooms with a tiny complimentary bottle of wine (not worth the extra money)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for this excellent review. We will take note of the negative aspects of your trip to mejroar neustros weaknesses. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed magnificent days of relaxation and fun in Hotel Puente Real. Hope to see you soon at our facilities. Meanwhile you can follow us on our Facebook page or on Twitter.

Greetings from the Costa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    943
    542
    244
    164
See reviews for
1,079
835
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel is only 10 minutes from the airport so the transfer is good. We arrived at 1pm and the first afternoon of our holiday was quite stressful. We checked in ok but were not able to get a safety deposit box as a spare key was missing and we were told to go back later. We were given a room in the annex block. It was on the ground floor facing the pool next to the main entrance to the block. Although the hotel was advertised as 4*, this was only a 3* room. The bathroom window was next to the main entrance to the block and it didn't lock and could be opened from the outside by anyone passing by. When we reported this to reception we were told we couldn't have another room but that a handy man would come and repair it so we were left hanging around in our room as we had to wait for the repair man and it was not safe to go out and leave our things. After waiting a while, we found a member of house keeping who we told about the window, she radioed for someone and they came quite quickly after that. The window was fixed so we went to go around the pool, but had to take all money, passports and valuables with us as we still couldn't get a safety deposit box. There were no free sunbeds around any of the pools during the afternoon which was frustrating as we were left just wandering around or sitting on chairs, whilst many of the sunbeds were unused (but covered in towels) for 2/3 hours. At 6pm we went back to reception and were told we still couldn't have a safety deposit box as there was no spare key and it would have to be sent from Madrid, therefore we were told we would have to move rooms. This receptionist was more helpful and friendly than the first person we had seen though. He said he would move us to the main hotel block into a superior room with a sea view. So we had to pack up and move our things over, but it was definitely worth it.

The rooms in the main hotel block are much better - bigger, more modern, clean and had large balconies. These rooms could be considered 4* and were of a much higher standard than those in the annex or the apartment blocks. One family we met were staying in one of the apartment blocks, even though they had booked to stay in the hotel, and said their walls were mouldy, looked out onto the back of the complex which was a building site and had 2 poor campbeds (they had paid more than some people we talked to who were staying in the main hotel but they had a much poorer standard of accomodation).

After this first afternoon the only major downside of the holiday was the situation with sunbeds around the pool. There are simply not enough for the number of people staying at the hotel. On the first morning we got up early, as previous reviews on this website had advised. There are only about 20 umbrellas so if you wanted one of these you had to get up at 7 (or earlier as the holiday went on) to put out plastic chairs where you would like a sunbed and cover them with towels. The sunbeds are stacked and chained together and are unlocked at 9am, so at about 8am people started to gather around the stacks to 'hold on' to them and stake their claim. Although we didn't agree with doing this, we joined in too as if you didn't there was no way you would get a sunbed. People who came down later at 9am ready for when they were unlocked often didn't get a sunbed, as people had already gathered around stacks much earlier and decided amongst eachother who was having them, so they were all allocated before they were even unlocked. Some people carried 6 or 8 beds away at once or even pushed away whole stacks at once when the chains were removed. Luckily as we got up early and joined in the madness, and met some considerate people in the area where we stood, we managed to get sunbeds everyday, but it was a routine that took up 2 hours each morning (from 7 until 9). Anyone who arrived after 9am would not get sunbeds that day. People started to take things even further later in the week - we saw one man lie on top of a stack of loungers whilst his sons laid on top of the next stack until they were undone to stake their claim (he thought it was funny but it angered a lot of people around the pool) and one woman put a chair with her towel on next to a stack of sunbeds to reserve the space where she would later stand to wait to get hers from. The next day the hotel must have recieved complaints about things getting out of hand because they sent security guards down to the pool area from 7 to 9. They stopped people using chairs to reserve spaces, so people just put towels on the floor to reserve their space instead, and people continued to hold on to loungers until they were undone, so not much changed.

If you got a sunbed the rest of the day was good. The pool area was very clean (scrubbed at least twice a day) and there was entertainment around the pool (aquafit, zumba, water polo etc). The AI snack bar was very good (burgers, chips, toasties etc all cooked to order) and run by only 2 people who worked very hard and were friendly. There were queues at times but they went quickly and all food cooked fresh for you. You could also order whole pizzas from the pool bar until 11pm. Drinks (soft drinks, water, beer, wine) were self service unless you wanted spirits from the bar. There was a wide choice of icecream and slush on AI too. You could only get 2 drinks at a time and there were queues at times, but the staff worked quickly and you didn't have to queue too long.

The restaurant food was ok like in other 3* hotels we have stayed in (not 4*). Plenty of salad and fruit. The layout could have been better organised (eg desserts in the middle of 2 salad bars). You had to queue for food and drinks sometimes, but it depended what time you went in. There were very long queues for breakfast from 9-9.30 as when people had got their sunbeds everyone went for breakfast at once. If you went earlier or later there wasn't a problem. The restaurant served hot food from 8am for breakfast but the restaurant was open for drinks/croissants etc from about 7am which was good if you were up early. There was a separate kids section for food and vegetarian food was labelled.

In the evening the entertainment was outside (there was only a very small indoor area with a few plastic seats near a small bar). Again there weren't enough tables/chairs outside in the entertainment area for the number of guests. When the area is unlocked (after sunbeds are stacked, floor cleaned, and tables/chairs put out during dinner) at about 8.30pm there is a mad dash for seats again. People were left to sit on walls or stand if they came out later. AI drinks finished at 11pm so after that a lot of people left and that's when some tables/chairs became available. The entertainment for children went on until after 10 then there was some kind of show/kareoke. The staff tried hard but it wasn't great quality entertainment really.

The resort itself is lovely. Although quite a walk from the centre of torremolinos, there are shops and bars close by and it is a nice walk along the promenade. The hotel is 1 minute from the beach across the road. There are plenty of sunbeds there to hire.

This hotel could be a good place for a holiday if you stay in the main hotel block (not the annex or apartments) and if the hotel bought more sunbeds, tables and chairs to cater for the number of guests it has.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms in the main hotel block (not the annex or apartments). Ask for a superior room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tredegar, Gwent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is that it is clean.
The sunbeds were chained up at night and only unlocked at 9.00 am. As we had a pool view we could see that guests started queuing at 7,45 in the morning. You would get a few men who would always be there first who would, when the sunbeds were unlocked, walk off with full stacks of beds leaving the other people who had also queued high and dry and without a sun bed. One Scottish gut tried asking a Dutch man who had 12 sunbeds for one for his wife. The Dutch guy said no and a heated argument followed. Unless the management does something qbout the sunbed situation at some stage things will get nasty.
The evening entertainment was awful, the drinks like water. If you like queuing make sure you book this hotel because that is what you will be doing. Queuing for everything!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and have spit views of the pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynneprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

not a good hotel too stop inservice was bad,grumpy waiters,small drinks,lack of imagination with food .could have much better entertainment,cos wot was on was not very good.location was far too much away from torremolinas town centre.go too the beach if you want too sunbathe cos u will find it hard too get a sunbed.

Room Tip: dont stop in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcolm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Just got back after 6 days and can't complain,hotel clean,food lovely but got a bit bored so ate out one'the snack bar food is all freshley cooked and really nice.our room was above the pool area and once entertainment stops at 11 everything goes quiet'you can order a pizza up to 11pm from the coctail bar, you have to pay for your drinks after 11.the disco isn't up fo much but that's not the end of the world,entertainment ok'if you don't want to watch it just sit in the bar area'its like a little mini village and very busy.take. no notice of bad reviews' these are from fusspots.the one problem is the sun loungers,the management need to stop people from waiting for them to be unlocked and reserving them all day even tho they are not using them'apart from that I would def go back

Room Tip: Above the pool is ideal if you have small children that you want to put to bed but you still want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianeduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear customer,

We appreciate your feedback and trust in Hotel Puente Real. Thank you very much for spending your holidays with us. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your vacation. We will take note to prevent the incident from the sun in the future. We hope to return soon averle and invite you to follow us on Facebook or Twitter :)

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Hotel was clean but meal times were chaos, we had three kids under 7 and found dining very stressful not what you want on a holiday, queues were lengthy and after giving kids dinner we then had to queue again for ourselves by which time the kids had finished and Impatient to leave. Another downside were the sunbeds chained up at night holidaymakers were standing from earlier than 8am waiting on the beds some sitting on top of them (no kidding) when chains opened it was mayhem with some taking as many as 10 at once . On a plus entertainment for kids in the evening very good. Although hotel ok and advertised as 4 star would only rate this as 3 star at best.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I had a lovely stay at this hotel Really clean I thought the dining room was run very well Always cleaning the tables. The only gripe ive got is the sunbeds. Nightmair. Im an early riser and I expect to be able to go and get a sunbed. You have to start queuing at 8 in the morning as they are chained up till 9. Hated doing that. I defo would not want to go back to any hotel with this system

Room Tip: I had a room at the very back. Really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissyScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#8 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puente Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puente Real

Property: Hotel Puente Real
Address: Paseo Maritimo 79 | Playa del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Puente Real 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puente Real 4 **** is ideally located on the beach front in Torremolinos and is awarded with the Q for Quality Tourism. It offers you the posibility to take a rest and enjoy the fabulous climate of the "sunny coast" as well as the Andalousian customs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Onthebeach, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puente Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Real Hotel Torremolinos
Puente Real Torremolinos
Hotel Puente Real Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing