We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good experience”
Review of Hotel Puente Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Puente Real
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in Puente Real from Monday 14th to 21st October and my mum and dad met us there on the Thursday so we had a few days together. We had an apartment and room was fine, no pool view but we didn't mind and we were just a 20 second walk to the pool anyway. Room was very clean so no complaints there and it was cleaned every day we were there and new towels provided each day also. We arrived about 11pm on our 1st night and the hotel and left us a cold meal and bottle of red wine which we weren't expecting so was a lovely surprise!

The hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from the beach which is great and there are plenty of bars and restaurants beside the hotel but it is a little bit away from the main bars but we really didn't mind because it's a nice walk up the strip. The pool is nice but was very cold, you need to be brave to get in and the pool bar area is nice with plenty of seats and bar staff friendly.

We stayed on a half board basis which includes breakfast and evening meal. The dining room is very large but it normally quite easy to get a table although we did occasionally have to queue but not for long. It is a free for all at meals times and can be very busy. Food was great, not sure how anyone can complain about it, there is loads of choice and all very tasty, salad bar is very good and you will certainly not leave hungry! The only bad experience we had was on our last night the four us were having dinner in dining room and were sharing a bottle of red and bottle of white wine which we had bought in the hotel bar. At the end of our meal we has only drank half the wine and decided to bring the rest of it to sit on my mum and dads balcony (they had an amazing sea view) and finish our wine there and chat. As were leaving an arrogant jumped up waiter came and made a big scene and insisted we could not leave with the wine. We tried explaining we had BOUGHT this wine at the hotel bar and of course we were allowed to leave with it. Alot of people were staring at this stage and the waiter called the manager over and we explained to him. He then apologised and let us leave but we were fuming. We are all very laid back but this did put a dampener on our last night. The next day we were still fuming at how unreasonable and unnecessary the whole scene was and we went to reception to complain. The male receptionist was very nice and said that he's not sure why the waiter tried to stop us and of course we were within our rights to finish our wine on the balcony if that was what we wanted and said he would have a word with dining room manager. We were happy with that and didn't take it any further.

So other that one thing we had a good experience and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,439 - 1,445 of 3,119 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed half board at the Puente Real in Sept. 2013. We found the hotel clean and airy. Although we arrived at 11.00am the hotel was not full yet we had to wait almost three hours for our room. The rooms are box standard but clean and bright. The restaurant is clean but a little cramped. However the food is not what you expect from a hotel that rates itself as 4*. Breakfast not bad but evening meals barely average. This is the first Hotel where I was told if I wanted a glass of water with my evening meal I would have to buy it from the bar.
We found all the staff friendly and helpful except that is for those in the bar down at the swiming pool. Two more unsmiling cheerless senors I have yet to meet. This on three occasions so in the evenings we went to the numerous friendly and cheaper bars that are close by.
We would stay at this hotel again but it would not be our first choice.
If you stay at this hotel expect to find a good standard 3* but it is certainly not 4*.

Room Tip: Read Trip Advisor and Holidaywatchdog and remember no one size fits all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 303MaureenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

where to start -
I travelled to this hotel with my sons, my sister her partner and 2 year old and our parent's for their 40th wedding anniversary. It was not a cheap holiday and we where so dissapointed with the staff, food and quality of entertainment!

On arrival we where impressed the location is great, the rooms we had where also great - amazing sea views.

We went for lunch as we had arrived at lunch time and it was utter chaos - nobody on the door to arrange a table for 7 plus high chair so we assumed you could just sit down - we did we, pulled 2 tables together so we could eat together and a member of staff came over and just pulled the table back. This happened about 3 times until eventually we decided to eat at seperate tables. Food was awful - I am not fussy at all and can always find something to eat however this was not the case. That evening we went for dinner and the lady on the door was downright rude when we asked to sit together she pointed us in the direction of the other end of the room and said "goodluck" I find it unreal that a hotel of this size cannot accomodate a family of 8 to eat together. Complained to the reception and honestly they did not care a jot!! Just told us that sitting all these people together would be difficult!!! every other hotel I have stayed in with a party of 8 have had our table set at meals times without any problems. Food was beyond awful - turkey chops?? dog fish curry?? spam as bacon ?? I could go on and on...........

Entertainment -
This to me was the worst - they have a lovely bar area in the main hotel that they rent out for private functions from 1st October onwards - while the guests who stay here have to make do with a marque erected outside with a make shift bar and one bar man it is outragous for the 4 star they advertise and the queue goes right outside the marque certainly not the relaxing atmosphere you hope for whilst on your holiday.

Kids playpark should be closed down - nails coming out of the climbing frame the seat on the rocker was snapped and my niece cut her leg - my brother in law took photo's and showed them to reception - again no interest!

This was only some of the problems we encountered and it became so bad that my parents checked out 2 days early and got flights home.

The only positive I can mention are the staff at the pool bar, Pepe and the girl at the bar where the only staff who knew how to speak to people and Pepe deserves a wage rise as he does not stop!!!

Loved the location and the beach but would never stay in this hotel again -

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luka03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Customer,

We deeply regret not meeting your expectations. We will take note of all your comments so that our customers enjoy a pleasant stay. We hope that despite the incidents mentioned you enjoyed your holiday in Torremolinos. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel was clean and very welcoming. The room was very spacious.The air con wasn't very good. Food was pretty average and always a little on the cold side.The staff were friendly and helpful unlike some of the guests from France who seemed to think the amenities were for their sole use to the point of being quite rude when you sat in "their" space.
Overall for what it cost it was a pleasant stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view to experience some amazing sun rises
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Customer,

Thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your holiday in Torremolinos. We will take note of your comments about our restaurant. In Hotel Puente Real. We try to offer our guests a variety of hot and cold dishes and salads. It's a shame you will not find anything to your liking. We hope to have you with us at your next visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We arrived at 9.45 local time transfer taxi took 10minutes so no long transfers problem was rooms not available till 2 .Eventually in rooms my husband and me and son and fiance ,first impressions clean and tidy ,no tea and coffee or water in room.Towels changed every day floors mopped twice a day domestic staff an assest to hotel.Beds hard and low to floor .Bar and restaurant very busy foods lots of choice but got monotonus,seemed like food concocted into something else next day lots of pork and beef hard to cut.Breakfast bacon and sausages disgusting,tea and coffee horrible and not enough machines which kept breaking down.Go all inclusive as drinks expensive .Considering all inclusive had to pay extra for wifi,safe deposit box and for parking as we hired a car,park in waste ground next door free.Pool lots of sunbeds but not much sun as hotel shades the sun.lovely beach accross the road .Pool bar and Pepe excellent great food well cooked and nice ,Pepe deserves pay rise as works very hard . Reception staff rather abrupt apart from 1 person.Would we stay again probably not (not our sort of hotel.

Room Tip: High floor ask for sea view go all inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRISTINE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Christine,

Thank you for your communication. Knowing the degree of satisfaction of our guests is paramount to us. Unfortunately some inconvenience and we hope you have enjoyed knowing Torremolinos. We hope to have you with us on your next visit to the Costa del Sol

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

we got back from our holiday at the puente real on saturday the 12th of october , hotel was ok , food was ok , but on an evening we had to sit in a marquee at the side of the hotel , NOT IN THE ROOM AS ADVERTISED IN THE BROCHURE , because there was a sixties party there which got the use of the entertainment room , we paid quite a lot of money for this holiday it wasnt cheap , and to be put in that situation was quite frustrating , there was a make shift bar put in the marquee and wasnt fun when you had to stand in a queue outside for your drinks as there was only one waiter on , it was a disgrace .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Yvonne,

In the month of October we transfer the animation to the marquee as we enjoyed an event at the Concert Hall as you know. We're sorry you enjoyed everything you expect during your stay and we will take note of your feedback to avoid such incidents. We hope to have you with us.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Ok.. So, we arrived at the hotel Wednesday 09th October 2013 at approx. 2.30pm local time. In our party there was myself, my partner and my 15 month old little boy. We also travelled with our 2 best friends who were at the same hotel on a separate booking. Upon arrival we all loved the location of the hotel and first impressions were good. Hotel seemed very modern clean and in a great area. We had booked 2 superior rooms with sea view as the price difference seemed very reasonable and the pictures looked great. We were greeted by a lady at the reception who told us that there were no superior rooms next to each other today and they had put us in a family suite with adjoining doors, they made it sound huge and amazing with the perfect sea view so we thought we would check it out. Going up to the room we found it was one large room with a door in the middle one side had 2 single beds either side of the room and the other side had a double and a bathroom and there was no cot for my little boy (its actually the room on their display pic at the moment). It had 2 balcony's one with an amazing view and the other obstructed by the fire exit stairs that ran all the way down the front of the hotel, there were no gates securing the way onto the stairs meaning anyone could fall down them! Unhappy we had paid for 2 rooms and were given one we went to reception. We tried to explain that we were 2 separate bookings and even though there were no superior rooms right next to each other, we have booked and paid separately so why are we not even in 2 rooms at all. At this point we got the usual 'we do not understand' response and they could not see why we were unhappy. We travelled with our best friends and we are close but not close enough to be hopping in and out of their bedroom to use the toilet! After expressing our dissatisfaction we were given 2 separate room keys. One room (2612) was for our friends and was exactly what we expected. Great sea views with double bed. The other room we were given was a family room with double bed 2 singles and a decent size bathroom however, no sea view in site! Our view was the people sat on their balcony's on the hotel next door, you could see everything, literally! Off we went again to reception who told us that we all needed to go back into the first room over night together If we wanted 2 superior rooms, as we were happy with our friends room on 2612 they didn't change it was just us. We were told to stay in the second family room we were given over night (the one with the rubbish view.) Eventually the next day we were given a key for 2711 which was what we expected although none of the rooms we went into had the complementary wine and water as advertised on a superior room booking. It did seem though that everyone that came to check in had to move as they kept telling people how the hotel was full and their rooms would be ready in the morning. Nice and pleasant staff but no organisation at all between any of them! The first night (09/10/13) we were quite late for tea as we went to venture out to find where everything was and we were shocked at how bad the food was so it set us up for the week thinking what will we do! The snack bar is great but I couldn't of eaten it all day everyday. The food did pick up a little but only a little! Breakfast was fine there was always something to take your fancy there, I wouldn't rate lunch much was always the same especially the kids buffet, that never changed! There were a few 'themed' nights in the week but there were only a few bowls of food relating to that 'theme' the rest was the same as every other night. There is one thing that is really annoying though! Outside the restaurant there is a bar which does have a little bit inside the restaurant where you can be served however, if you are all inclusive you are not allowed to be served at this bar as you are only allowed to have the self serve drinks which are beer, wine, water and fizzy pop. Seen as I don't drink beer or wine I wasn't allowed to be served with any other alcoholic drinks to enjoy with my meal. The pool bar was great in the day though, very friendly staff (as are the staff on the snack bar) The pool was shaded most of the time we were there so was ice cold, we didn't go in it much due to this! There didn't seem to be much of a fight for sunbeds when we did go around the pool area, we always got 4 when we did want to sun bathe. It was always really hot by the pool bar though so its a nice place to sit, chill, tan and drink! Ok so everything seemed to be going alright until check out on 16/10/13. As we had upgraded to superior rooms upon booking, it does say that you get a late 3pm check out subject to availability. You can only find out if you are allowed late check out on the morning of your departure. We went to reception and was greeted by the same lady who dealt with our problems on the first day so she was familiar to us. She told us that even though we were down for late check out we were only allowed one of the two rooms. We weren't happy about this as it did show on the paper that our names were still down and rooms allocated to us until 3pm however they did not allow this. We were only allocated on room unless we paid for another which was ridiculous considering we had already paid for late check out as a 'perk' of a superior room. When questioning that staff that we had no complementary drinks in our room on arrival, not cot as requested we had to wait, they wanted to charge me for a kettle to warm my little boys bottle and that we were not allowed late check out on both rooms, what had we actually paid the extra for?! Even though the rooms in the actual hotel are mostly classed as superior with sea view, I don't believe that 'superior' rooms even exist! Its a shame really as the hotel is so clean modern and in a great location not far from town and across the road from the beach the lack of organisation lets it down totally and that fact that you can't have any other drinks with your meal other than the self serve drinks. The entertainment was hit and miss but to be fair, we mostly went for walks into town every night. All inclusive stops at 11pm so if your back any later than that and want a drink you have to pay so its always worth getting a few per person. We thought we may be limited to how many drinks you got but you seemed to be able to order a few at a time for yourself or friends/family who are with you. Well, sorry for the wordy review but needed to get everything in! Overall, wouldn't stay at the hotel again mainly due to food and lack of organisation but would stay on the same strip due to the fact that we liked the location so much! Beware though, its so close to the airport that planes are flying over constantly but that didn't bother us. We got ripped off on taxis from the airport as they said we needed 2 even though we could of easily fitted in the one with luggage too! We found the train station that is about a 10 min walk from the hotel, if your standing facing the hotel go right and walk until you are at a round about with an anchor in the middle, turn left and go straight on you cant miss it on the left. It goes into Malaga one end and through to the main town and then onto fuengerola the other so great for days out and is cheap! It runs to and from the airport and when our taxis cost us 40Euros all together, the train was 6.80 for us all. The stop from the airport is called Los Alamos which is where you would need to get off for this hotel. It also stops off at a place called Plaza Mayor which is a little shopping centre, its got plenty of shops and places to eat, would definitely visit there again. Hope this has been useful for somebody!!! Forgot to add, the lifts in the hotel are ridiculous. You wait for about 10/15 mins for a lift to arrive then they seem to like stopping on every floor even if people aren't there waiting for it! A little frustrating as we had a pram and were on the 7th floor so we didn't fancy carrying our little boy and the pram down so many stairs! :) Thanks for reading x

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LisaColley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#28 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
3 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
2.9 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puente Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puente Real

Address: Paseo Maritimo 79 | Playa del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £54 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Puente Real 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puente Real 4 **** is ideally located on the beach front in Torremolinos and is awarded with the Q for Quality Tourism. It offers you the posibility to take a rest and enjoy the fabulous climate of the "sunny coast" as well as the Andalousian customs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Puente Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Real Hotel Torremolinos
Puente Real Torremolinos
Hotel Puente Real Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing