We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Puente Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puente Real
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

After reading some of the reviews after we booked it at the start of the year, we were actually beginning to wonder whether we had done the right thing. As a result we were very nervous about our 1st holiday abroad with our very young family right up until we got off the coach at the hotel - especially with a young child and infant.

Accomodation - in the annex facing the pool. Air conditioned. 2 double beds and a cot for the littleun. We all just ended up sleeping in the beds together. Not as comfy as our own beds obviously but we never had an uncomfortable night's sleep. Television was a little bit temperamental (wouldn't always accept our euros for the pay channels - 1euro for an hours worth of SKY news, ITV channles and CBeebies - there are some channels for each country that are free e.g. BBC news worldwide, CNN) but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Bathroom was clean and powershower was lovely. Safety deposit was 35 euros with 20 euros back at the end.

Pool area - Pool areas are very well maintained. My little uns are now much more confident in water as the pools were designed for all ages. I expected the loungers to be hard to come by but I had never experienced situations like this - people start putting chairs and towels out under the shelters at 7am in the morning which are all taken by about 7:30am. Come 9am when the chains are released on the loungers, it's like a feeding frenzy for lions feasting on an antelope. No queues for the loungers, just a case of whoever is the biggest and has the most presence gets what they want first (all gone within 20 seconds of being released). We didn't bother going through this process. For a hotel this size, they need more loungers (when we went four our after breakfast walk along the promenade to the shops, the other hotels seemed to have many loungers that hadn't been occupied yet and so it seems like a charcteristic of Puente Real).

Food
Breakfast - A good range from fruit to cereals to cooked breakfast.
Evening - I enjoyed my evening meal every night with a good range each night. Some nights the hot foods were a bit cold but my experience wasn't spoiled. Some nights are country specific for the hot meals e.g. the 'Inglesa' night was a choice sunday roast foods.
We were told by our holiday rep that it was a mostly European hotel i.e. mostly central europeans and Spanish with a few brits and irish. This probably explains the differences in how some of the foods are prepared/cooked to cater for the more dominant Europeans.
The staff in the dining areas are very friendly and helpful. The dining area does get pretty full half an hour after the doors open but I never once saw anybody struggling to find a table or queuing.

Evening entertainment - can't really comment on this as after long days on trips and shopping, we wanted to get the kids to bed earlyish but we weren't disturbed by any noises from the entertainment from Puente Real or Beach Club Torremelinos which was very close to our room.

Staff - most spoke good english but at times you got the feeling that reception staff and the pool side bar staff just wanted to serve you then move you along. They did a lot of frowning if they didn't understand you.

Location - it is virtually the last hotel along from Torremelinos and so isn't that close to the shops. However, if you want to walk to Torremelinos - it would take you about 30-35 minutes if you didn't visit the shops on the way (the walk is very pleasant too - our 4 year old didn't really have a problem with the distance as she enjoyed popping into the jewellery and souvenir shops with mummy on the way) but don't walk it mid afternoon as the temperatures (35 to 40 degress) make it unbareable. There is a bus stop at the end of the drive with buses running every 40 minutes to Torremolinos. You can also ask the reception staff to book you a taxi - we did this 4 times and the taxi never took more than 5 minutes to arrive at the hotel steps.

Beach - there are many cafes with loungers and shelters along the beach front. The beach is literally across the road from the hotel. Very clean. The kids loved it.

Excursions and tickets for parks - we went to Fuengirola Zoo, Selwo Marina (Dolphins) and went on a trip to Gibraltar. The park tickets and trip to Gibraltar were all booked through the Holiday reps. All 3 were great for our family.

We don't regret staying at Puente Real one bit as it gave us everything we wanted for our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viking39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    942
    541
    244
    164
See reviews for
1,079
834
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hull
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

this hotel was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in the food was appauling and the resturant was very unclean . the choice of food was very limited ie chicken/ pork/pasta and plenty of water melon. the staff were very unfreindley would never revisit torremelinos or this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynieHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

I have just returned from a 1 week,all-inclusine stay at this hotel with my wife and our 8yr old son.The staff were mostly helpful although some of them had very little english and struggled to understand us.We had breakfast,lunch and dinner at the hotel most days.All meals were buffet style with a large selection of salads,fruits,breads,pastries and desserts as well as the usual hot food.The food was excellent although it was often difficult to find a table at busy times.The pool was a a good size and well maintained but we never managed to get a lounger as we weren't prepared to join the daily stampede at 9.00 when thet were unlocked.The entertainment was pretty poor-most nights began with a kids disco at 8.30 followed an adult game (musical chairs,etc.).There was a reptile show one night and a birds of prey show another,each lasting only about 15mins followed by photographs at a charge of €10 each.Overall the entertainment was only suitable for young children.ACCOMODATION- we were in an appartment situated in a seperate building at the back of the hotel.It was dated,in need of repair and DID NOT have air conditioning. It was virually impossible to sleep at night because of the heat.Opening the windows did not help matters as the pool bar was just outside and was very noisy until the early hours.(it wasn't much cooler with windows open anyway).We managed to hire a fan from a local company which improved the situation a little.Overall it was a good holiday but the accomodation seems to be far superior in the main hotel building.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kilkennyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

I stayed there for 2 weeks with my girlfriend 3 yrs ago and really enjoyed my stay, we had a free breakfast every morning in the hotel even though we were only self catering, a couple told us just to walk in every morning and help yourself which we did and we were never turned away, lunch and dinner was different we had to pay if we ate at those times, also thought the pool area was very well laid out, we also did the trip to gibtratar and africa which breaks the time up also, overall I have fond memories of my stay there.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takemygoodadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

loved location cross road to beach,rail station 5 mins to other towns + family parks, town centre near, our son was 7 we stayed here loved it learned to swim in pool with friend ryce love to go back @ do alinclusive

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilo66Balmoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Myself, my Wife and my 16yr old Son spent the first 2 weeks of June. First week was half board and second was all inclusive. These are our own personal opinions.
Apartment. Beds rock hard (apartments). Wife and Son had to use the cushions from the spare bed settee on top of original mattresses in orderto get less discomfort. Had to move after first night as couldn't sleep opposite pool bar, noisy drinkers and revellers till 4am. Viewed 3 other apartments before finding one in reasonable condition. Pretty run down in general, in serious need of a revamp.
Food and drink. Food. Plenty to choose from and mostly excellent. Some days not so. After meals you can snack and drink at the pool bar till next mealtime Dining room clean and airy except in the morning when its a bit warm as no air con. Drink. If you're all inclusive then no shortage and well worth it but if not then you have to buy it at lunch, dinner, during the day and evenings.
Staff. Mostly friendly and helpful apart from the cleaners who leave a lot to be desired.
Complex. 2 pools and kiddies pool. Very well kept with lifeguard at main pool. Typical, never enough sun loungers. Get that towel down at 9am or else.
Activities and entertainment. Very good. Plenty to do during the day. Evenings mini disco, shows and audience participation events.
Beach. Right across the road from the complex. Unfortunately we found it dirty, stoney and quite windy at times. Worst beach we've ever been to.
Locale. 2km to town centre. Bus every 20 minutes for 1.10euro each. Taxi 5-6euro. Walk 30minutes. Prices reasonable in shops though they won't haggle.
Overall. We enjoyed our stay. Apart from the little nigglies it did not deter us from having fun and plenty to do there was. We would recommend it but its only worth it if you can go all inclusive.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavanMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

Just back from a wonderfull 6 night break at this hotel. After reading some of the reports I was a little worried about what we would find. I was thrilled to find everything ok.

We arrived at the hotel just in time for the evening meal. The receptionist was most helpful and let us put out bags into his office so that we could have our evening meal. The hotel is spotlessly clean with bedrooms cleaned and towels changed daily. Bedding was changed twice during our 6 night stay. Our room was large with a double and two single beds, the bathroom was in good order and clean. Our balcony had a sea view. We did stay in the main part of the hotel and not the annex or appartment blocks.

There was a good selection of food available at meal times but it did seem to be very much the same at each sitting. You could serve yourself with drinks including wine and larger inside the restaurant. The bar inside the hotel was only open during meal times.

The pool snack bar was good, the young man in charge of this (Juan) was very cheerful, with burgers, hot dogs, toasties and chips available. Pizzas were available from the bar area and available untill 11pm. The pool snack bar opened at 10.30 am and closed during the afternoon lunch sitting, reopened at 3pm when this sitting closed, and shut for the day at 7pm when the restaurant opened for the evening meal.

The pool bar was open daily from 11am untill 11pm. Only two drinks per person was allowed but all drinks were available on the all inclusive offer including tea, coffee and water. At busy times a self service section was opened and you could get wine, larger, soft drinks, tea and coffes for yourself. You still had to stand in line and wait for shorts and cocktails etc.

The pool area was very clean and well maintained. A life guard was on duty at all times and no inflatables were allowed into the pool. The pool area is gated and closes at 7pm. The sun beds are stacked away for the area to be cleaned. The pool gate is then unlocked at 9am the next morning with people waiting to get the best position for the sun beds.

We did spend a day on the beach with the sun beds costing 4 euros each for the day and the peadle boat costing 15 euros for the hour. With the beach being straight across the road from the hotel it was easily accessible.

The entertainment was terrible. Day time activities were not to bad with the usual keep fit in the pool, snooker and archery competitions etc. The mini club was open for a couple of hours some days. The entertainment on an evening was very poor with an eagle, parrot and reptile show being the highlight on 3 consecutive evenings. These shows were very short with photographs being taken afterwards at a charge of £10 euros each. There was a mini disco at 8.30pm for half an hour before each show. When the show finished that was it for the night. No music or anything. Even the main outdoor stage lighting was turned off. So from 10pm we just sat having a drink and chatting.

The hotel is close to the airport, it cost us 15 euros from the airport and 12 euros to the airport. However it is a long way from the main area of the town. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and for 1.10euros we went into the centre of Torremolinos. From there you can catch connections to other areas.

All in all for the price we paid it was a good bargain, the hotel was clean and well maintained. We found Spain to be so expensive now that the all inclusive option was a good choice for our family. The kids had a great time, made friends, and enjoyed being able to help themselves to ice cream, lollys, soft drinks and snacks.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familymum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puente Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puente Real

Property: Hotel Puente Real
Address: Paseo Maritimo 79 | Playa del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Puente Real 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puente Real 4 **** is ideally located on the beach front in Torremolinos and is awarded with the Q for Quality Tourism. It offers you the posibility to take a rest and enjoy the fabulous climate of the "sunny coast" as well as the Andalousian customs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puente Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Real Hotel Torremolinos
Puente Real Torremolinos
Hotel Puente Real Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing