We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend to young people but maybe my grandparents!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Good hotel if your over the age of 65 and german. Staff were rude. We had to pay twenty euros each in deposits on iron, towels, safe which ate into our spending money! Food was okay but nothing special. Rooms were dated and plain.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,921 - 2,927 of 4,169 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

It was clean and always tidy. Good variety of food offered just not much to snack on in-between meals. Entertainment was more for the older generation. Rooms bit dated and plain. I found the staff very rude towards us and I think that was because we were young. Wouldn't recommend to my friends but would to my grandparents!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

After reading many mixed reviews about this hotel I wasn't sure what to expect. We were a family of 6 people, mixed ages from 65 to 14.
The staff were fantastic!! Always smiling and ready to help. They work very long hours and never seemed grumpy.
Rooms were a little dated but very clean. If you need extra pillows just ask reception.
Food, well between 6 of us, not one complaint. There was something for everyone. My son's girlfriend has a wheat and gluten intolerance and had no problem finding plenty to eat. There was a vegetarian section, plenty of healthy foods as well as your roast dinners, pasta's, burgers etc and local dishes.
Location, 5 mins drive from Malaga airport, not noisy though. Across the road from the beach. Approx 3 km from Torremolinos town. 6 euro by taxi each way or 30-40 minute walk... quite hilly though and lots of steps to get to the town.
I would say the hotel is not really suited for teenagers.. not enough for them to do. Most of the guests are older 50+. There are younger people ofcoarse with young children.
As previous reviews stated this hotel is popular with the Germans.
Nice pool area with enough sunbeds. Drinks plentiful and good selection. Found the trip good value for money, would stay there again.
There is a Spa and gym which we never used. Wi-fi only in reception which you had to pay for 1 euro for 30 mins

Room Tip: Just speak to reception, most rooms have seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bluebluebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Hotel very clean and the rooms are spacious. That's about as good as it gets!
Having stayed at various Riu's on mainland Spain, The Canaries and Cape Verde islands, this hotel is no where near ready to be classed 4 star all inclusive.
We have always been greeted by friendly staff and great entertainments teams.
The food is not good and as for all inclusive the snacks are made up of breakfast leftovers of dry rolls with a bit of ham and cheese thrown in.
There is no entertainment for kids, we had 2, eleven year old boys with us and they were just bored, bored, bored! There is only 1 man entertaining all day and night for the sole pleasure of GERMAN OAPS!!!!!!!!! He did his cabaret act while we were there and we felt sorry for him and also wondered why he would need to lower himself that much to do the job he had been given, it was cringe worthy to say the least.
During the day he seemed to do a good job with the limited activities on offer but in the evening I think he must have gone out and got drunk all afternoon to be able to get up on stage and offer his poor performance. He deserves a better job in a more lively resort.
The hotel was run by a bunch of Fawlty Towers type Manuels, only this lot were grumpy!
We almost had to beg to get a courtesy room, all other RIU'S offer a shower room with clean towels.
This is another RIU that has been ruined by the 2 dinner settings, one at 7:30 and one at 8:45. Poeple queue at the door and then queue for food, in all the other RIUs that don't have this system there is never a problem with getting food. We queue in the supermarket at home, we come on holiday to relax, WE DON'T WANT TO QUEUE.All in all the food was not good, the service was really poor and the clientele were all waiting to die.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Melchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Hotel & surroundings are lovely, staff are very friendly, beds very hard, our maid put pillows from top to bottom on my bed totally bliss, Food excellent, very fresh, Very clean rooms etc.
Pool area: very clean, nice to sit under the trees for natural shading.
Entertainment: Not very good last night was the best very good singer, you are so close the town so if you want entertainment go there, if you want to sit and chat then you can go onto the patio and relax and chat away.
An excellent hotel, excellent staff, excellent food will go back ASAP.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside, if you want to tan privately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jlidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Arrived at the hotel and as we were retrieving our cases from the side of the coach a man approached purporting to help us, but when I got inside the hotel found my purse had been stolen from my handbag, which was on my shoulder. The staff on reception were very concerrned and helped me report to the police, and from my description the police asked me to identify the man from photos they had, and it was the culprit who apparently works with a woman - she steals your purse while he prentends to help you, so be warned! After that bad start we decided not to let it spoil our week's holiday. We loved the hotel and spent most of our time at the pool, as my little grandson loved it. Our Thomson rep Christina was the best rep I have ever come across, she was so kind and helpful, she deserves a promotion! In all we were very pleased with the hotel, the safes are provided free, just a deposit which is returned (unfortunately didnt get a chance to get in the hotel before the robbery), and had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Codge41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Stayed here for 1 week in May. Most of the staff were very friendly. The rooms were extremely clean and fairly spacious, but a little bit dated. We booked through Thomson's and paid extra for a limited sea view room - it was certainly very limited so don't think it was worth the extra money. We found the food to be of a decent standard, but it was never very warm, particularly at breakfast time. There was quite a variety of choice each day, but some days the queues were quite lengthy and some people became very imaptient (not the hotel's fault, however).
The all inclusive drinks were of a very poor quality. The local beer they offered was quite gassy, the wine was the worst that I have ever tasted in my life, and the spirits were of an inferior quality. However, the soft drinks were very nice and the coffee was good. Bottles of water were readily available in the pool bar area.
The hotel location was good, across the road from the beach. Easy access to public transport, taxi rank outside of the hotel.
Overall it was quite a pleasant and relaxing week's holiday, but it is not an area, or hotel, that I would want to return to.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snowy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,539 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#25 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £120 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive recently completely refurbished ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol, situated in a quiet area of Torremolinos surrounded by shops, restaurants at the seaside promenade. The facilities and services of the RIU ClubHotels are also popular with families with children. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Malaga Airport (10 km) and downtown Torremolinos (2 km), and invites you to explore the area as there are many attractions nearby. The hotel has 621 comfortably furnished rooms and offers updated amenities. Relax with a massage or get in shape at our gym. 3 outdoor pools, 1 baby and 1 indoor pool. For the youngest guests there is the RiuLand Kids Club (for children from 4 to 7 years & 8 to 12 years old) and for adults, day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet as well as Italian and Andalusian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing