We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this is a good quality all in hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
runcorn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this is a good quality all in hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

i never write about my holidays but i feel this place has been given a bit of a rough ride on here so far and i feel its a little uncalled for
i have to admit i paniced at first reading the revues before our visit, and although there is a few minor problems here this place is still a quality all inclusive hotel, i feel the food was of a great standard with plenty of choice. rooms are clean and well kept.
entertainment was poor here tho if you wanted to be involved with any of the day times games where in the past you are encouraged to join in this is not the case infact we didnt even no they had an animation team till day 3, evening entertainment was also not the best a man and a keyboard on one night wasnt the most thrilling and i have to admit it really does get busy, if you are second sitting at dinner your not gonna get a seat.
germans are germans we all no how they behave so why be suprised when you meet a few rude ones, the hotel wasnt full of them and be firm but fair they soon stay away and leave you alone.
the staff where fantastic they couldnt do enough for you so the talk of rude staff again is just a persons bad experience.
my overall veiw is this place is a great all inclusive hotel, and i can see the worry of the people who visited the half board hotel, standards will be different but that isnt just here that is across the board. enjoy you holiday if you have booked here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank white2wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    1,429
    638
    198
    129
See reviews for
1,113
1,626
79
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Our party of five have just returned from the Belplaya and have had a great time.
Our ages ranged from the thirties to the sixties and all of us thought the food, drinks,staff and rooms were brilliant. All the negative reviews must have been going to a different hotel as this hotel had almost everything you could wish for.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English, the food was very varied and of excellent quality with the chefs cooking in front of you, drinks were of good quality and large measures, the rooms were cleaned everyday with a great touch of the towels left in various shapes of animals etc.
I was worried by the previous comments on this site before going on holiday but thank goodness they were totally wrong.
Even the entertainment was far better than expected with various acts including Spanish dancers and a magician etc.
Also take the the reviews about the Germans and being over 65 as not correct. The age range was very broad and all were catered for and seemed to enjoying it like ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GJackson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

just returned from a family holiday at the Belplaya. All 7 of us thought the hotel was excellent value for money. Could not asked for anything more food was fantastic,rooms really clean, all staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We would reccommend this hotel, its right across from the beach you can eat and drink all day if u wish with no need to take much money even the safety deposit box was free just a 20euro deposit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qegs169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Have just got back from staying in the hotel and like others after reading other reviews wasn't sure what sort of holiday we was going to get, but we thought the hotel and staff were great. The food on offer was lovely , and there was so much ,too. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the staff worked very hard on making everyone.s holiday a good one. Close to the beach , and the bus stop, used the local taxi's to get into town and they wasn't very much at all. A great holiday had by us .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 12345den1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rushden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We had two weeks at the Belplaya in June and had a fantastic time. We were fortunate in getting one of the best rooms in the Hotel on the front with two balconies. Staff very friendly and helpful and were always happy at anytime of the day. Josh the entertainment guy was very good, worked very hard but we feel they could do with a proper sort of "disco" after the entertainment as it seems to go flat! Have tried "all inclusive" before and this is the best one so far. Food really good with choice choice and the andelucian nights in the pool bar were brilliant. As it is the first year they have done all inclusive it worked very well. Well done Belplaya.

Room Tip: Very quiet rooms at the back overlooking garden all other rooms have seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bellaRushden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Returned from costa Lago on 5th July, can t really fault it food great, plenty of choice at breakfast, lunch, dinner plus afternoon tea was laid out on pateo at 4 30, snacks at 10 30. Wine , beer, soft and hot drinks on tap in pool bar, and restaurant. Just help your self, spirits served at the bars, soft drinks and hot drinks on terrace to help yourself all day. Lovelly beach 2 minutes walk, bus stop opposite hotel to take you any where , small cost or taxi s next to beach Entertainment not up to much good singere 2 nights other nights bingo or quiz (not to my taste) but it was just nice to chill on the terrace with a drink or have an evening stroll to the beach front bars. Jenny from Grimsby

Room Tip: we overlooked the road and pool bar but we did get the sun in the evening on our balcony. would requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jenny503975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I was VERY concerned before visiting as I had read the recent reviews and they had got increasingly worse. DO NOT PANIC - people are complaining and over exaggerating.
Here's a little account of our holiday.
My boyfriend and I were collected from the airport and it took only 10 minutes to arrive at Belplaya, being the first drop off is brilliant! We arrived at around 11:30pm and we were greated kindly by the check in staff, along with a cold glass of orange juice in a champagne flute. There was also a light dinner layed on for us,which we had not expected.
Drinks were ample - everything you could want and the slush puppies were a life saver at the hottest point of the day! Many guests asked for vodka to be added to their slush too! The bar staff are fun and willing to serve whatever you wish for. Their alcohol measures are ALOT bigger than here in the UK. I work in a bar and their singles in Belplaya are well over double! So, for those complaining about the lack of drinks, I really do not see a problem! There are cocktails, beers, wines, spirits and soft drinks.
Food, wow, so much of it! Breakfast 8-1030, Continental 1030-12ish, Lunch 1-245, Late lunch 2-330, Snack 4-530. Dinner is a bit strange at this hotel, as it is split into sittings but so what? you pick a sitting that suits you and they are happy to accomodate if you want to change your time. We chose the sitting between 7 & 730. The second one is 845-915. There is a vast selection at every meal time. Ignore what others say about there not being enough cake, they always bring out fresh cakes. Fruit is gorgeous there, fresh pineapple and cherries. Always melon and oranges at breakfast. The pizza bar at lunchtime is yummy too - all freshly made there!
The only downside was having to vacate at 12noon as we had a late night flight home so found ourselves just pondering around, but that is no fault of the staff who were helpful all week (apart from the last day when it was a struggle to have a room to shower before our flight and ended up showering in the indoor pool showers).
Beach towels can be hired, which is useful to save on packing space. They are 10Euros for the duration of your stay and you get the 10Euros back when returned. They are happy to give you a fresh towel everyday for no extra charge.
There are a lot of sunbeds around the pool and some end up being reserved (by the large amount of Germans) but we could always get 2 beds next to each other.
The aircon, that many mentioned is pretty poor but if you're crafty and wedge some paper in the slot (whilst the keycard is in the slot then slowly remove the keycard...) that puts the rooms electric on then you can leave the ceiling fan and air con running all day and return to a nice cold room!! (my boyfriend is a genuis for figuring this out on the first day!)
The hotels entertainment is pretty average, it wasn't really our thing but we didn't go there to spend our evenings inside. There is alot to look around down the streets and a fabulous bar called 'One' just a 2 minute walk as you go along the beach from the hotel.
All in all, we had a good, relaxing holiday. We probably wouldn't return only because our next few years of holidays are planned to further afield around the world but for families,couples and the older generation I would really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Tallest building, over looking the pool/sea would have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Helena151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,996 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Property: ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing