We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas and New Year break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was the first time we had been away for Christmas but we were not disappointed. The hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport and we were made very welcome. Our room was ready on arrival on the second floor overlooking the garden and main entrance but with views of the sea to the left and the picturesque mountains to the right - lovely!
The food is excellent with lots of choice. Breakfasts are to die for including pancakes and doughnuts - yummy.
Both the Christmas and New Year's Eve banquets and New Year's Day breakfast were excellent with Cava flowing when ever you fancied it. We took a bottle up to our balcony at midnight to watch the town's fireworks on New Year's Eve.
Ok, so what if the hotel needs a few repairs here and there and the lounge bar is not big enough to accommodate a full hotel? You make the most of what is available and enjoy yourself.
We visited Malaga to see the town's Christmas Lights and Nativity which is very impressive and also took the service bus up the hills to the beautiful village of Mejas - well worth a visit for the pretty white cottages, little cobbled streets, bars, restaurants and leather shops. You can also have a ride in a horse drawn carriage or donkey cart.
The weather was mixed but still loads better than England reaching 27 degrees at some points and the walk along the front is most enjoyable. We made it to the marina one day at Belamadena, so pretty.
The only thing that spoilt our holiday is that we both caught the sickness bug and felt Steve, the Thompson rep, was not really interested. He just said it was all over the resort and happened every year - not something they publicise or would want to. After the sickness bug came the chest infection - but with the chemist just across the road selling antibiotics at just over 4 Euros everyone seemed to make it a daily visit.
Met some really nice people whilst there and the staff, particularly the chamber maids and all the restaurant staff were very friendly. The manager is a very polite and sociable person who speaks good English and should be proud of his hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool for the most sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikerbabe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,014 - 2,020 of 4,154 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Checked in on 29 December 2013 checked out 5/Jan/ 2014 the entertainment in the hotel was not very good people paid good money to stay at this hotel for the new year and I stayed on the same dates last year but the quality of the gala diner was not as good and the food in general was the same day after day, our room was very spacious and clean maid came and changed towels every day no complaints about that, but on the Friday my wallet was taken by pickpockets who were operating from around the hotel area they would watch and pick their prey this time it was myself they done me on the bus stop out side the hotel two people created a disturbance to distract me and the rest is history I'm now £400 pounds down the hotel did not seem to be concerned when I reported it at reception, there is no security or cameras that i could see so be warned I did not think it could happen to me they opened the buttons on my pocket and took my wallet I did not feel a thing apart from my ordeal I still enjoyed but wont be going back to this hotel
I paid a lot of money to spend new years eve in a tent

Room Tip: choose a family room on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenny087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

First time we (2 couples)had been away for New year only booked 2 days before departure stayed on Fully Inclusive basis. On arrival our room wasnt ready but we were allowed to go for lunch and then have the room after. We didnt like the view so were offered another room on the other side of the hotel 2nd floor - didnt fancy 9th floor - but had to pay 200e for 4 people extra - was worth it as these rooms got the sun all day long. Lovely large rooms but a little big noisy from neighbours, carpets in hallways and bedrooms were looking very tired and could do with replacing would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Found the staff friendly especially in the dining room. Allocated first sitting for dinner but asked to change to later and this wasnt a problem. Food was good did get a bit repitative by the end of the week especially the salad bar. New Year's Eve gala food was amazing - good choice - prawns to die for - then we went into the marquee for drink and entertainment - found it was very spanish not much english music played. The overall entertainment seemed to focus on the spanish guest even though there was lots of different nationalities there. Through the holiday there was always drink available on tap and didnt queue much. Was very disappointed to fall very ill on New years day with sickness bug then another member of our party got the same the following day - we later found out that it was a virus going through the hotel - the manager said the whole resort was affected and they got it every year - not very reassuring!! But he said they were very keen on cleaning and food hygiene and the bug only lasted 24hrs - i still dont feel right and its now 5 days since and now back home., the hotel was a long way out from the centre of resort and not much to see as most of shops/restuarants were shut. Think wi-fi should have been free and not chargable seen as it part of a large hotel chain. Also found that the outside seating area mainly focused on smokers only 6 tables in the corner for non-smoking but over 20 for smokers which were rarely used the whole night. As non-smokers but people that like to sit outside this was offputting as most of the smokers stood on the edge of the area and the smoke still came near our tables. Would have been better to have the smoking area just down the steps at the bottom. Not sure we would go back if they get the sickness bug every year. But havng said that we did enjoy the break and the new year celebrations were very good also had nice weather even able to sunbathe during the day which was a bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ryedalerover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just spent a week over new year here, although there may be a few small problems, overall the food is very good ,staff efficient, could do with toilets nearer the bar area , this is a hotel with a more mature clientele.

Room Tip: high floors on the hotel entrance side may get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paul123k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, arriving on New Years Eve, 2 families with 6, 9 and 11 year olds. We were able to check in early to our room and start our all inclusive straight away. We had an absolutely fabulous New Years Eve party night, the manager of the hotel was on hand and celebrated with the guests. Not realising we needed to reserve a table for the evening in the bar lounge I was a little worried our group would be left standing but the manager and the bar manager both took the trouble to make sure we were seated and the night was brilliant, with 3 different party rooms to dance in. The party bags were a nice, fun touch. Previous reviews of the hotel being dated are inaccurate, we found this hotel to be of an excellent standard, the rooms were perfectly adequate and very clean and the beds comfortable, we stayed on the left side on the 3rd floor and had the sun all day. Yes the food can be repetitive but that is the same in any AI hotel- its up to you to pick a different dish each time! The fish dishes were good and the New Years Eve gala dinner was excellent. The majority of guests were older and only a few children were staying but Juan deserves a special mention for keeping ours entertained, they loved him- thanks Juan. The weather was sunny and warm and the terrace is a sun trap for relaxing. The resort is nice and quiet and the beach 2 minutes away. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a New Year break.

Room Tip: All seemed to have a pool view but the left side (as you sit on the terrace) had the sun all day in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We would agree with some of the comments made about this hotel.The staff were very good,food was good with plenty of choice.The hotel was clean as was our room.I personally found the beds ok but my wife felt they were not very comfortable.
On the downside the entertainment was not very good apart from the flamenco show (why not have a resident singer/guitarist this is Andulucia ?)Toilets were badly situated (not fair to the elderly or disabled)Also there was no tourist information at reception.We also feel the restaurant could be laid out better.Finally,an area laid out with books/mags which visitors could swap would be useful.Overall a few adjustments and additions would make this a very good hotel.A final tip to Riu deal firmly with the odd idiot guest !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It was my partner and I's first holiday and for a young couple there wasn't much to do. There was entertainment by the poolside for the kids and the entertainment (if you could call it that) was more geared up to the older generation in the evening. We had never planned on staying in the hotel through the day anyway but at night we would get drinks and head up to the room as it was a very poor atmosphere.

The location of the hotel was excellent. Its a 2 minute walk to the beach which has various restaurant's and bars, it's about a 45minute to an hour walk to the next town and if you really wanted about 4/5 mile walk from Malaga. Taxi was about 20 Euro's. The hotel also offered a few trips, would recommend the day trip to Gibraltar it was about 3 hours on the bus but once there it was really interesting.

The room at the hotel was good, apart from the ants!!!!! Every night without fail we were avoiding ant's on the floor, walls and even in the toilet. The beds were extremely hard as were the pillows, the couch was comfier. rooms are a bit dated and the only thing that we really missed in the room was a Fridge. I know they offer a bar and restaurant service but this included giving bottled water to the rooms and it would have been nice to be able to put this in the fridge of a night.

The food at the hotel was good for the first few days and then it was very repetitive. Every night they would have soup, sea food, meat, chips, salad and many desert's to choose from but the seafood seemed to prevail most nights as it is right next to the sea. The pool bar was meant to be open until 6 but most days was closing at 4 and with the bar inside opening at 6 there was no drinks available in between these times. The 'snacks' were laughable. They had a continental breakfast from about 10-12 and after these snacks were put out...which consisted of juice (from the bar) and a slice of cake or a biscuit. My partner and I were out most day's and took money with us as I am very picky with food but there were a few families there that looked like they were spending their holiday in the hotel and many had young children. This is the first all inclusive hotel I have stayed in that does not offer hot food throughout the day...or food for that matter.

We enjoyed our holiday but I probably wouldn't stay here again unless they get their entertainment and beds sorted out. As I said excellent location but not the best service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xshivy89x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#28 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,231 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £96 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing