We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Good hotel.food good safes and pool towels free.not enough seats.don't know why they don't open the bar near pool as was open 3year ago and was much better.have to pay for WiFi which is not right for a four star hotel.had it free in 3 star hotels.

Stayed: February 2014
8  Thank irene j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,959 - 1,965 of 4,164 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

We have just returned from another excellent week (third visit in as many years) at the marvellous hotel, and all i can say is that the exceptional standards have not slipped or wavered in any way shape or form.

From the moment you arrive to the time your of your leaving, you are made to feel special, their attentiveness to detail is second to none and i would like to thank all the staff at the Costa Lago for make our third visit as pleaseurable as the other two. Well Done All!

I would also add that we would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to anybody and hope that their experience, should they choose to visit this Hotel, is as pleasurable as ours.

Room Tip: High floor Rooms overlooking the pool are the most popular and tend to be snapped up quickly. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anothersunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at the Riu Costa Lago during the first week of February and thought it was excellent value. The hotel is situated on the very edge of Torremolinos in a pleasant location, with easy access to the railway station - about 10 minutes walk, and the buses - bus stops opposite the hotel and goes to Torremolinos bus terminal, from where you can catch a bus to lots of other places. A word of advice though, if you go for the popular bus times ie 9.20 and 9.50am, walk to the stop before the hotel, otherwise you face the scrum of having to fight your way onto the bus, even if you were first in the queue! The buses do get very crowded. The trains are very good - frequent service to Malaga and to the airport. We travelled from the airport to La Colina, which is the nearest station to the hotel, takes only about 10 minutes, and is really cheap - about 3.60 euros for the two of us.However, there are no taxis at La Colina, so only do this if you have just hand luggage. A taxi from the airport is about 18 - 20 euros. All the staff are extremely pleasant, especially the bar staff, who work very hard and manage to serve the drinks quickly and cheerfully, even when the bar is busy, which it is, especially after dinner. Choice of drinks on the all inclusive deal is very good, and we were more than happy with the quality too ( sometimes the wine is undrinkable on these deals!)
The quality and choice of food is good at all mealtimes - for breakfast there was all the makings of a full English, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, a range of breads and pastries, and some more, well, unusual choices, such as courgettes or peas and sweetcorn, and the usual continental choices of cold meats and cheeses. The orange juice actually is juice, and not the horrible squash that passes for juice in so many hotels. The only thing we weren't keen on was the coffee, which is very strong, although you can make your own if you want to. Lunches and dinners have a good range of salads and hot dishes, and plenty of choice of dessert, including fresh fruit and ice cream. You help yourself to wine, beer soft drinks etc. At breakfast and lunch you can eat when you want to, within restaurant opening times, but you choose which sitting you want for dinner, either 6pm or 7.45pm, and are allocated a table for the duration of your stay. The tables are close together, so it helps if you get on with your fellow diners. We didn't see any of the entertainment, preferring instead to sit in the conservatory next to the bar. I celebrated a birthday during our stay, and there was a bottle of cava on our table at dinner time, which I thought was a nice touch. The restaurant manager also came over to wish me a happy birthday. In our room we had a small sitting area, with a sofa and coffee table, a bedroom with two three quarter size beds pushed together to make one large bed, and a bathroom. Maybe it was slightly dated and could do with a bit of a refurbish, but it was comfortable and always kept very clean, so we were happy with that. The TVs could do with an update too, but we could get a couple of English channels, including, bizarrely, Tyne Tees ITV.
The hotel is a good base for visiting other places. We went to Malaga a couple of times by train, and it's a nice city to wander round. We also caught a bus from Torremolinos bus terminal to Mijas, a pretty village in the hills, with some good souvenir shops. However, beware - as a couple of others have mentioned, it is all too easy to get lost in the warren of back streets, which all look the same. It helps if you know where you have arranged to meet up, so you can ask for directions (if you can find anyone who understands English), instead of having to resort to the English thing of saying loudly and slowly," I am lost" to random foreign people, and then realising that you don't actually know where you want to be anyway.
The one quibble we did have was having to pay for Wi-Fi - we both have tablets and wanted to download the papers each morning, and had to pay 1 euro for each device. Free Wi-Fi in the rooms would be good.
We were pretty lucky with the weather - it was warm enough to sit out on the terrace on several days. The day we flew back was pretty wet - just acclimatising us to what we were to find when we arrived back home!
So - would we go back? Yes, I think so - as value for money it was hard to beat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 51JES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Our stay was in the last week of January. On the day we arrived we had a clear blue sky and the temperature was 22 degrees C. The transfer was painless and we arrived at the hotel in 20 minutes. The reception staff were excellent and we were in our room 10 minutes later. Room 414 had a lovely sea view. Our evening meal was 2nd. sitting (7.45- 9.30) on the first evening,if you wished, you could change this to 1st. sitting (6.00- 7.30) from the next evening.For the most part the buffet was very good, but later in the week, there was less choice. The evening entertainment varied in quality e.g. the magician (Chaplin ) was excellent but the " Sketch " show performed by the animation team was at the other end of the scale. Daytime activities were good fun, and we met some great friends.The walk to Torremolinos centre is well worthwhile and good exercise.It goes without saying that at this time of year, the majority of guests were " older " couples.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GILLANDJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Booked 1 week before going and got this Hotel at an excellent price.
Weather was a mixed bag but definitely better than home
Good choice at every meal, I was a bit worried when the soup on offer (Cream of Asparagus) appeared on the Menu 3 days running???. But other choices of starter were available.
Decent quality of wine, spirits etc.
All staff very pleasant and efficient.
Hotel is getting ready for a refurb, but is kept very clean and It seemed to be full all week, so it must be hard if the hotel is open all year round.
Nothing much open nearby and a long walk to any life but hey its AI so you except to be further out.
Customers are of an older age group which is the norm at any hotel I've been to at this time of year. A good mixture of different countries English, German, Dutch, French & Belgians. all the people we spoke to were very friendly and yes it was a bit busy in the lounge but sit with strangers and they'll soon become friends no matter what country they come from.
Wish we had been told beach towels were available foc. I would have been able to pack more clothes.
A lot of people where on revisits and some like ourselves quick in and outers.
Would I go back? probably Not, only because I like life outside the confines of the Hotel, but if the holiday came up that cheap again for a week never say never.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a week in this hotel and found it perfect for my needs.Its staff is very friendly.Food was good with several varieties and there was good selection for vegetarians like me who struggles in Europe.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank averi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Visited this hotel January 26th to February 9th 2014

Level 1 – reception all very helpful, there are some comfy sofa’s in this area as well as the Reps desks, with a few books, wifi is only available here1E for 30 mins ( computers on level 2 – 1E for 13mins)
Bar/lounge area open 10am – midnight – not really big enough as hotel was full & too cold to sit on terrace at night – we were AI but some guests were HB – there is a good selection of drinks including cocktails (which were vg) on the AI bar list, there is also a good selection of drinks to pay for on the other bar list(ask if need info)
Bottled water 1.5 ltr available at evening time
Conservatory is opposite the Bar/lounge (not very big) continental b/fast served here 10 – 11 30am, afternoon tea 4 – 5pm, outside there is a good size terrace where you are allowed to smoke (hotel inside areas are all no smoking) there are steps down from terrace to pool area which is Level -1 (minus 1)
Level minus1, there is a hairdresser, toilets, spa & restaurant – pool bar not open during winter months

Rooms in the main building –are in the shape of a U - if you stand on the terrace & face the pool area the left arm of the hotel on all levels face the pool & get sun all day from 10am - room no’s top floor 401 – 421 (401 is furthest & quietist) on the short part of the U (ie behind you) 422 – 433 all pool view but the higher the number the less sun you get as the day goes on (our 1st room was 433 & only got the sun till noon, moved to room 403) rooms on the right arm 434 – 455 even no’s face pool & get no sun odd no’s face road (not busy) & get sun most of day
I presume that room numbers are the same on levels 1, 2, 3 & 4

Rooms – main building - level minus 1 numbers begin with a 0 avoid at all costs as the numbers 34 – 72 get no sun at all (pool view) and the higher no’s are semi underground – ie lower than pool area so no outlook at all and people going past rooms 01 – 015 aren’t quite so bad as they do get some sun & are not quite as low down, they also have a pool view

Some rooms will be noisy if they are above the terrace ie 121 & 122 & a few either side, a high floor is better

There is an annexe attached to the left arm of the hotel only 3 levels – odd no’s face pool & bowling green – sun 10am onwards - even no’s face hospital – no sun at all – rooms are in 80’s & 90’s

Room types – most rooms in main building are classed as suites/family rooms with a separate sitting room, when a family room is requested the furniture is moved around & a bed is moved in, as far as I can tell the only rooms which do not have a sitting room are all the rooms in the annexe & rooms on level minus 1

Meals – breakfast & lunch are open sitting (you can sit anywhere) Dinner is 2 sittings – your table will be allocated by the maitre’d when you go in & you must sit at that table for dinner every night (otherwise it’s mayhem) – if you don’t like the allocated table ask to be moved as the tables are quite close together – gentlemen long trousers only & no vests, there is a good variety of food at all times, although there will always be some guests who complain, I must admit in some Riu hotels we have visited there has been a little bit more choice but it’s been a higher quality hotel, there was always a roast meat on the carvery every night
Breakfast 7.30am – 10.00
Lunch 13.00 – 15.00
Dinner 18.00 & 19.45

Lifts – 2 in reception down to toilets, restaurant, hairdresser & spa
2 more past the bar area & 1 lift at end of corridors beyond 401

overall comments – some parts of the hotel were a bit shabby but everywhere was very clean, the staff can’t do enough for you, we had no problems at all with any of them, after all you get what you pay for, we only paid £500 pp for 2 weeks AI where else can you get a 2 week holiday especially in UK for that sort of money?
If you add up all your coffee’s, soft drink’s & alcoholic drink’s over 14 days how much would they cost, plus flight & a room - I don’t know how Riu can sell this holiday for these prices
To those who complain I would say pay a lot more & go to a better rated hotel & see how much that would cost you
Safety deposit boxes 10E returnable deposit
Pool towels at reception – foc - if hotel is full there is definitely will not enough sunbeds when the weather is good, our second week there were quite a lot on sunbeds but only 2 or 3 during our 1st week
An extra room key is available – foc
Hairdryer in room
Rooms to be vacated by noon & wristband is removed & replaced with a red one
AI ends at 3pm unless you get a late checkout 30E (as we are diamond card holders we get it free so were AI until we left hotel at 17 45)
Bus & train timetables from reception – bus stop opposite hotel, train station 12 min walk
Entertainment- usually what you get in spain, it might entertain some but not our cup of tea at all, unfortunately it had to be endured – sit at back of bar/lounge out of the way, take MP3 player & headphones

Went on a free ‘blanket trip’ to Nerja – unless you like being in a factory for 2.5 hours regarding bedding don’t go, we cancelled another trip, we only had 2 hrs in Nerja & 30mins was spent on a noddy train

There is a bigger library at the Riu Belplaya next door , through the lounge area in the card room

If bowling green in use there is a gate in bottom left corner

Cigarettes in Tobac shop 200 for 47.5E , airport 400 for 110E (Marlborough gold)

Weather – we had a few hot & sunny days, some cloud am & warm sun pm, last day rain all day

Would we go again to this hotel?
Yes we would during the winter months as an interim holiday but definitely not in the summer time – too many children I would imagine, this is one of the reasons we don’t go on holiday during the summer months & school holidays

This was our 16th visit to a Riu hotel all over the world with different ratings and one of the reasons we will continue to use them is that the quality of food is always very good in this chain of hotels which is more than can be said for other hotel chains we have stayed in and as the saying goes!!!!!!!

‘YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR’

contact me if more info is needed

Room Tip: top floor main building 401 - 421 sun from 10am till sunset with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Baz2baz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#27 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,256 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £102 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing