We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff are excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“staff are excellent.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

positives: rooms clean
food excellent and not repetative like some reviews say, there is just plenty of everything so its hard to choose.
everything is fresh i.e salad bar.
Entertainment is good but it is nice to get out of the hotel and go into the town.
Joshua the entertainments rep is very good and if you want to meet new people its worth joining in with the games as they pass the time on and is funny.
NEGATIVES: the pool area, the sunbeds were dirty and so was the area around the pool.
broken tiles in the pool and surrounding area.
indoor pool not open.
overall for a 4* hotel its needs alot of work doing to it, we had a lovely stay and would go back.

Room Tip: go for a higher floor the veiws are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,294
    1,451
    671
    214
    137
See reviews for
1,148
1,693
79
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,017)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had an excellent time at this hotel. Very good value for money as all inclusive.

Arrival: Cava or orange juice for the kids on arrival. Made very welcome right from the start. Parcel of baby nappies and food waiting for us at reception thanks to Jowsa.com - I'd emailed the hotel in advance to warn them and their emails were very prompt and nice too.

Room: Average Spanish room in need of some renovation to make it more modern (I think some of the rooms are already renovated), but apart from that I had no complaints. They were a good size and very clean. Air conditioning was perfect, in fact we had to turn it down a little! We were situated over the pool on the third floor which seemed a good position - near the evening bars would probably be a bit noisy until midnight.

Location: What a fantastic location and place! Torremolinos is SO clean it puts the UK to shame! Nice water features dotted around. Even the back streets were clean and nice. Just up the road from the beach, and a pharmacy (with lots of baby stuff) and supermarket type shops. Bus stop outside which takes you into Torremolinos - we got the bus there and walked back which was a long walk but doable. Kids play park just outside the hotel on an avenue. Nice bars and restaurants near the beach - can recommend Las Brasas down the road for steaks and huge kebabs!

Pool: A bit on the small side. Sun beds have the usual early morning start to get a spot reserved like most Spanish hotels. You didn't need to be up early though, 8am and there were still beds. Even later on you could usually find one.

Entertainment: Not something we were interested in, and it looked a bit poor compared to the usual kind of thing you'd find in a Thomson run hotel kids club - was a poor imitation.

Food: Lovely range of food from the Buffet. It would be nice to have a second restaurant to provide a change - we went out a couple of nights instead. Breakfast is as you'd expect with a mix of continental and hot food. Lunch has an excellent salad bar that changed each day, hot meals, and burgers. 4pm was "cake o'clock" where you could go and get a small piece of cake (like carrot cake) and a coffee! You're not supposed to take this down to the pool for hygiene reasons but everyone did and it was a nice treat snack. Dinner again had an excellent varied salad bar, and different mains each night - though they were a bit samey. There was also a carvery type station. There only seemed to be one feature night during our 10 night stay and that was a Mediterranean evening which seemed no different to normal nights! One day they had a guy serving fresh slices of fruit, and another day fresh blended fruit juices - these were both great but didn't happen again which seemed odd - maybe they had a lot of fruit to get rid of? They should do those more often they were very popular. As others have said the location of foods needs to be more thought out! Butter at the other side of the buffet to toast, and milk other side to coffee!

Service: Excellent - I've never been in a better hotel for Service - even MUCH more expensive ones from the likes of Sandals! Everyone was so friendly - especially Yolander and Pablo in the restaurant. Really refreshing to experience this, and the hotel really shines above others in this regards. Congratulations to the Management for this.

Bar areas: Very quick, not much waiting around, decent beer, small selection of cocktails, plenty of trays if you don't have enough hands. Nuts and olives available - as are bottles of water! Just ask for a bottle of water on an evening before you go to bed. Would be great if they had ice creams available at the pool bar like other all-inclusives I've been to.

WiFi: Only available in a specific small area, and you have to pay for this. The hotel are losing out to others that offer free WiFi throughout the hotel and rooms here, and they need to change this urgently! Let your happy customers advertise what a great holiday they are having at your hotel on Facebook! :-) That said it was nice to just switch off from social media and emails for a while!

Overall a great hotel, and I'd gladly go back. At the price point it is at you can't go wrong, and I think they have priced it just right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Garrrrrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Two minor points have stopped this hotel from getting a 5/5. Well, one minor and one not so minor.
We chose this hotel because of the reviews on trip advisor and I have to say, it is everything we expected. Anyone giving this hotel negative reviews has not been to the same hotel. It's all true about the staff being excellent and dedicated to customer service. I am convinced they are given extra training on customer service. It is true that you are given a welcome drink upon arrival. They even greeted us by name before we got to the reception desk. It is true that the cleaners model the towels into little swans and elephants. More than that, the restaurant staff all line up each evening to welcome you into the dining room, the glass collectors are non stop and friendly, the bar staff are speedy, knowledgeable and remember you each time you visit the bar. Customer service is certainly well up in the top of this hotel's priorities. 5/5 from me.

Facilities
Pretty good, I guess. The pool is a little small when busy but is clean and well maintained. There are plenty of sunbeds for everybody but there definitely seems to be a culture there of reserving sunbeds with towels and not coming back for ages. This isn't the hotel's fault of course and I'm not sure they could do much about it, but they might want to have a look at it because it can be quite annoying.
There is a poolside bar, spacious, shady and relaxing. The theme is self service for beer, wine, soft drinks, water, tea and coffee and bar service for anything stronger. You can ask for little nibbles like nuts or olives here whilst it's open.
Around the pool there is table tennis and ping pong. There is also a tots paddling pool.
Onsite hairdresser, onsite spa centre and a gym. The terrace bar has a similar set up to the poolside bar... self service with additional bar service for stronger drinks and cocktails. We visited at the busiest time of year but there were still plenty of seats / tables inside and out.
There is a computer room and the hotel also has Wi-Fi but, be warned the Wi-Fi is not free. In fact it is 2E per hour. This service needs to be free if the hotel wants to be up to it's competitors and is the one (minor) reason why my review does not give 5/5.

Rooms
Certainly our room lived up to it's reviews. Spacious and cleaned daily, fridge, air conditioning and TV. Our room for 3 had an en-suite bedroom and a separate room with a single bed and a sofa. Considering the hotel is 150 yards from the beach, we got a bit of a sea view, which was a pleasant surprise. Sweets were left on the pillows every day and the cleaning staff were efficient and friendly.

Food
I have read the reviews about the food and, for me, the food is very good.. not excellent. We've had better. It was a bit samey. But still very good. We ordered a picnic on the day we went to the aqua park but were only given a bottle of water and three pieces of fruit. We were allowed to top it up at the breakfast counter, which I guess is a good thing but we didn't have time to do that as our bus was due. We felt disappointed that we ordered a packed lunch but no effort was put into making one.
The restaurant experience was not altogether great. The layout was such that your visit did not flow (ie coffee and bread on one side of the room but milk and soup on the far opposite). There is the option to eat outdoors though and this was very pleasant. Desserts were awesome if you like mousses and ice creams and a good selection of cakes, but the mains tended to be repeated each day. So, food for me, in general was a 4/5

Entertainment
The team work very hard during the day and night. There is a mini club for tots and pool games during the day. We didn't see much of the evening entertainment as it's not really our scene but it looked to be very popular. The terrace bar was a lot quieter and better for chatting.

Location
The end of the street (150m) is the beach. The sunbeds are only 3E per day and that includes a shade. Plenty of bars along the beach to choose from. The opposite way is a ten minute walk to la colina train station with trains to Malaga or fuengirola.

I would give this hotel 5/5 if free wifi and if the dining room layout was thought out a little better. We also weren't keen on the idea of the make your own packed luch but we could see why it was done.

All in all though, we would recommend this hotel to anybody... couples, families or groups

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the bar as this will be very noisy in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

At first we were quite negative about the hotel because:

- it is not allowed to take beach toys etc. in the pool (but it is probably because the pool is very
small)
- you have 75 minutes to eat dinner, which is not much when you also have to stand in line at the
buffet
- they write that it is not allowed to reserve sunbeds, but at 8:00, almost all beds are reserved
with towels, and nobody does anything about it.

But there are also good things:

- the food is very good and the bufet are continuously being rearranged, so it looks delicious
- it is very clean and especially Carmen Sanchez, works hard - our room was cleaner than our
home

We would not chooese this hotel if we are going to Torremolinos again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisbeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I just want to say before I start my review that we all had a wonderful time in the Costa Lago. We were a party of 9 in three rooms on the second floor.

This is a hotel where you have many nationalities staying which I really like. There were Brits, Germans, French and Spanish staying in this hotel. The food was very nice, but as is usual in all inclusive hotels it did get a bit repetitive and there are two sittings which you are allocated on arrival.

The pool area was spotless and there are plenty of places to sunbathe with a veranda by the bar, the pool area and a lovely shaded grass area between the restaurant and pool. You do have to get up early to get a prime position as is always the same at the height of season.

The room we stayed in faced the pool and can be a bit noisy when you're going to sleep and people are still up but the good thing is the bar closes at 12.30 so people aren't up much later than that. If you close the internal door to the living/sleeping room area then the noise was muted further. That was where our children slept. There is a pull out sofa bed and single bed in there. The beds were a bit hard, but I don't mind that and slept well. Again the rooms and corridors by the bedrooms are spotless.

The entertainment was one if the reasons I only gave this hotel 4 and not 5 stars as even though Brian was excellent as other people have said, there wasn't really much on the entertainment front. There was water aerobics and water polo most days I was told there was football, but didn't see that and there was a board type game (not sure what it was). There was a pool table and table tennis table that you paid for and a little mini club that the kids could dip into when they wanted, but this wasn't open all the time. The evening entertainment was inside the bar which could be a little cramped, but if you didn't want to watch the entertainment you could sit outside on the veranda. The entertainment consisted of a juggling act, a singer, a magician, a flamenco show and a quiz.

The staff in the hotel were excellent from the Reception to the cleaners. They were so welcoming and friendly. The only small issue was with one of the barmen who got quite irate with my sister in law when she didn't order all our drinks in one go (there was 6 of us drinking alcohol) and she didn't order them all at once and he also was quite rude when my husband thought someone should be served before him so told him but he had already been served which my husband did not know so we told the head barman. All of the other barmen were great. The waitresses were also fantastic and friendly and you won't believe how many glasses they could balance on their trays. They were always collecting glasses and wiping tables.

The location of the hotel is fabulous. It's about a 5 minute walk to the front where there are loads of shops and the beach which had lots of restaurants and play areas. We took a bus into Torremolinos (which was about 1 euro 30 and stopped right outside the hotel) where there are more shops that sell jewellery, pottery, football kits (though shop around as some of them are very expensive). We also had a day out in Aqualand which is about 7 euros in a taxi, but it is quite expensive to get in and eat in there, but the rides are fab. We also ate out one night in Las Paellas to break up the holiday and would thoroughly recommend it. It was quite expensive, but the fish was cooked fresh and was gorgeous and I had the steak which was to die for. Well worth a visit.

We stayed for ten days and had a fantastic holiday and didn't want to leave. If you have booked this hotel, I'm sure you'll have a great time.

Room Tip: Room around the pool can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Made welcome from moment of arrival . Great choice of food and good daily entertainment. Hotel was clean and in a great position. The rooms were spacious and made up daily. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff at this hotel - they were all so friendly and nice. Brian from the entertainment team put maximum effort into all of the daytime activities and varied them to make it great fun for everyone. We have only just arrived home and are looking to go again in October as we enjoyed it so much. Well done to everyone at the Riu Costa Lago. A great holiday !!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week mid July, we're very apprehensive given previous reviews and we were taking a 6 year old. Have to say though we had a fantastic time and we didn't leave the hotel hardly at all! Josh was brilliant at the entertainment he certainly kept us smiling and the staff were all very friendly!
I would say though (like every all inclusive) the food gets really repetitive but there are a couple of good restaurants just over the street. Another thing that you should be wary of is if you book into the spa and get the mud wrap the girl will ask you to leave the spa (naked,covered in mud) and go outside (where the gym Is and other people can see from their sunbeds) and hav a shower! Was mortified but enjoyed the treatment itself nonetheless!!
They should definetly start removing towels from the beds people had put them on in the morning and didn't return for hours which wasn't very fair.
Met some fantastic people there and all in all had a fantastic time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank luscious2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,646 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,036 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Property: ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing