We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
Ranked #61 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just got back from a 3 night break. Booked through lowcostholidays.com including flights it cost about £140. I didnt bother with transfer as it took 10 min on train 1.40 euros, you get the train from the airport and get off next to the hotel. Plenty of food to eat but not a great selection. Would say the hotel is more Full Board with drink, as the snacks were just crisps and nuts.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mf79mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    269
    246
    118
    97
See reviews for
286
301
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Having read the other reviews we took the train from the airport to the hotel and we were very pleased that we did! It really couldn't have been simpler or cheaper. We also used the trains to get to Malaga and Torremelinos which were equally easy and I'd certainly recommend Malaga as a city.

The hotel itself is basic but very clean and a good pool and patio area - seemed really good for families. Indoors there was ample seating for relaxing with a drink etc. The staff were all friendly and spoke good english, humoring me with my very basic spanish!

The food was average although given the price I really shouldn't complain. There was always a good selection however, don't expect much traditional spanish cuisine. It was also lukewarm, made appearances at lunch and tea and was cooked in too much oil for my tastes however, there was always a good selection of salad. As I said, average but very good value given the price which included drinks and snacks.

The rooms were again basic but clean and ours had a good view of the pool. The walls between rooms were a bit thin and there was some noise but given the season the hotel wasn't particularly busy and it didn't cause us any problems.

WiFi was available in the reception area.

Overall great value for money and a very accessible, relaxed hotel. For a short sunshine break I would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maidment R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

As mentioned in previous reviews this hotel is excellently positioned only 2 stops on the train from Malaga airport. Within easy walking distance to the beach and the promenade into Torremolinos. Booked a bargain break through lowcostholidays.com and overall my expectations were exceeded. Rooms clean, food basic but edible, staff friendly, nice pool and gardens. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayne_Warman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel is very nice thought the rooms are a bit small. The location is good as it is next to the train station which can take you into Malaga in 20 minutes or the center of Torremolinas in 2 minutes for 1 euro each way. The beach is a short walk away and we had an excellent view from our balcony. The food is buffet style and is very good. You can have as much as you want and the choices are abundant. Excellent service in the dining room. Beautiful pools and cabana area too. We stayed in Rm 510 which had a lovely and huge balcony with a view to the sea. Most other rooms have a small balcony. This is a good choice for a visit to the Costa Del Sol.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travel1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel is only two train stops from Malaga airport so don't book transfers! The train fare was just over 1 euro and the trains are very modern and air conditioned. Trains run every 25 mins in both directions and last train from airport is around 10:30pm. See photo of how close station is to the hotel. When coming out the station head up the road straight ahead and then turn right at the junction, 5 min walk at most.

When we arrived we were greeted by an englishman and all staff understood and spoke good english throughout. Not the most polite staff at reception but all the other staff would always say hello and be really helpful.

The hotel itself is quite small in comparison to some of the larger resorts but big enough pool etc when high season.

Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels etc and the whole hotel was kept exceptionally clean throughout.

We booked all inclusive and this was well worth the money. The bar is open 11am-11pm and serves local wines and beer as well as soft drinks on tap and outside meal times there was always muffins, crisps and nuts available. As for meal times there was always a good selection of hot and cold foods available. It's not Michelin standard by any means but certainly good enough to enjoy. For hot food you would always have soup, usually a risotto/paella dish, chips/potatoes, chicken/fish, chicken/beef burgers and sufficient food for kids.

We were here in early April and wouldn't hesitate going back. Some reviews mention being close the flight path of Malaga airport. Whilst this is true it is in no way distracting or noisy as the planes do not actually fly directly over the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisWright82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Ok for a short break. Station over the wall. Big multiplex one stop down rail to malaga. Met loads of lovely people and made our own ents. Good bar up the hill behind the torremolinos camp site.would def go again for a 6 day break.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lurkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This holiday was something we booked on a shoestring budget, we spent £560.00 for 3 of us to go all inclusive for 5 days.
Because it cost so little we really didn't expect much, and decided before we went that the quality time was more important than being in the lap of luxury.

When we arrived at the hotel we really were very pleasantly surprised by what we saw.

THe hotel is small compared to what you would expect on the costa del sol, but was really great.
It really is one of the cleanest hotels I've ever been in. It is spotless.
The rooms were very nice too. Tastefully decorated and plenty of space, with a nice bathroom.
We had a view over the mountains which was also nice.
The hotel is right next to the train station, and we did our own transfers from Malaga airport to the hotel , as the train was only 1.50 Euro , so it worked out really cheap.
There isn't much around the hotel in the way of night life, HOWEVER, you can get the train to Torremolinos or Benalmadena for about 2 Euro & we did this everynight after dinner and had walks around their bustling town centres and promenades and had coffee on the side walk, or visited a bar for a little drink. You really can get about on those trains.

Meal times were good, and I'm a vegetarian, with a toddler. There seemed to be a theme to each day (either mexicana, or spanish or italian etc) and was always plenty of salads on offer & a vege option every meal time. Plenty of lovely cakes & fresh fruit for dessert, breakfast was good too.

All inclusive was definitely a great deal at this place.


I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is great for a break away.It was mid October & the weather was scorching!!!!
I'm looking for a similar deal to get back there next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank wendy-shine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#57 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#46 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#43 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#27 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roc Costa Park
Hotel Roc Costa Park
#23 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Property: Royal Costa Hotel
Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing